We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for two nights here recently.
Staff were efficient and friendly on check in, as mentioned in other reviews, parking is limited but as we were here on a weekend there are plenty of options that the reception told us about so no issues there.
The room was a good size and bed was really comfortable.
This hotel is well placed in the centre of all the action too, so didn't need the car again.
The bar service was excellent even though there was a wedding reception happening at the time.
Breakfast is just heavenly, the country table has so many scrummy options and we opted for a cooked breakfast also which was great. The service was a little hit and miss with some items being forgotten but no real issues.
We had dinner in the bistro on the second night which was devine.
All in all I recommend this hotel thoroughly!

Room Tip: I would avoid the superior rooms but this is only my preference for total privacy in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

Hopefully see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I styled here on a special offer for Sunday night, £99 for room and breakfast down from approximately £300. The room I had was nice but had problems with a/c mentioned below, and the bathroom really needed re-doing for those prices, there was black mould in the masticing and tile grout and it could have done with a re-paint. Breakfast was lovely though which was a real plus.

Room Tip: Comments above relate to what felt like a bit of an annexe - up to the very top floor on the same si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzyjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. Please accept our sincere aplogies with regards to the A/C issues you experienced. The issue has now been addressed and the A/C is fully working in all of our bedrooms and public areas.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the housekeeping team too, as this is definitely no out usual high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the Moët Suite. A fabulous spacious room with twin baths and twin monsoon showers. The room was quiet and very clean. We ate in the bistro ( chateaubriand) which was cooked perfectly. All the staff were fantastic and the cocktails were wonderful. The beauty salon was also perfect with a excellent service again. All in all I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed for our wedding anniversary and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are so very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay especially our Moet Suite. I will ensure that your comments on passed on to the rest of the team.

We lok forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my Husband as we were attending a School Reunion in Cheltenham that evening. I always insist on staying in luxury hotels as we rarely get any time away from our businesses so it's always nice to feel spoilt. Well we certainly did on this occasion...
The executive room (tatinger) was spacious (a must for me) with a beautiful roll top bath and the biggest walk in shower I've ever seen in the adjoining bath room. The mini bat was fully stocked, it had everything you would need, safe, iron, flat screen tv, air con, magazines, coffe machine the lot!
The staff remembered my name every time I passed and were always happy to help (special mentions to the lovely ladies on reception and the great team during brunch) we couldn't have been happier. Infact we were discussing through Sunday Brunch (you HAVE to do Subday Brunch, the spread is amazing!) how we will definitely be staying here again. Top marks in every aspect and I cannot fault one thing. If you are on the fence about booking don't be... With the staff,rooms,food and service all being top notch you can relax in true style!
Sarah P x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, I will ensure that your positive comments are communicated to all the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a two night stay in the midst of July and booked the Hotel du Vin because of my wife´s positive experiences earlier this year. We are both fan of boutique hotels and have stayed in many around the world. We appreciated the well appointed rooms, in particular the bath rooms. The service was good; friendly staff, although some of whom appeared relatively inexperienced. Lovely bar area. The heat wave meant we really needed the air conditioning to work, and it didn´t. We were told later that they were installing some new equipment so probably the problem is now fixed. However, we had to find out ourselves (it would have been better to have been told). We were met with sympathy form the staff, but the only other room available had the same problem. At the check-out we were offered a reduced rate, and the manager sent a polite e-mail afterwards with an explanation and an apology.

Room Tip: In case of warm weather, stay at the back and on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us. Unfortunately due to unforseen circumstances we have experienced some issues wth our Air Conditioning, especially with the increased temperatures, however these issues have now been rectified.

We do hope that you return in the future so that we can show you a true Hotel Du Vin Experience.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night, the weather was lovely and warm and there were lots of people out the front of the hotel enjoying drinks so knew it was very popular. Managed to park in the small car park round the back of the hotel. The hotel staff were very pleasant and couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome. Upon entering the stunning hotel room it became apparant the aircon wasnt working, apologies were made and we were sent a fan (during one of the hottest days of the year!) We were offered a free breakfast the following morning which we were chuffed about. The following morning we were met by the hotel manager who apologised for the situation and was a nice as could possibly be. All in all was a fantastic stay, lovely hotel, wonderful staff and generally a great place to stay. So thank you to Giles to hotel manager, all the staff for a great stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I can imagine all the rooms are lovely. We stayed on the top floor and was very very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are so very pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and that we were able to turn your stay around in light of the issues with Air Conditioning.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near futre.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham last weekend. The weather was amazing and we kicked the evening off with drinks on the terrace. The bar was heaving so I was worried the service would be slow but the staff were very efficient and the drinks came out promptly. The staff couldn't do enough for us and constantly checked back to see if we required more drinks. We moved through to our private dining room (Chefs Table) which is a beautiful, bright and airy room - a perfect setting for a friends reunion. During the booking process we were given the choice of going a la carte and ordering on the day. I thought this was very helpful considering my friends find it difficult to respond to emails at the best of times never mind choose what they want for dinner in advance. The rest of the evening went without a hitch and the food was fantastic value for money (I had the prawn cocktail, steak hache, Diplomat pudding). The night was finished back on the terrace with a beautiful Islay whisky and a cuban cigar - perfect. To sum up if the rest of the du Vin hotels are anything like Cheltenham then I would not hesitate in recommending them all.

Room Tip: Get there early to make the most of the sun-trap terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePhil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your meal experience. We are so very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

kind regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,386 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £93 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing