We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really lovely !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited the Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham on Saturday for lunch, we stayed all afternoon and the food ambience and service were exemplary. We have a ladies day out each year and the one male who comes with us always tries to pick somewhere we havent tried before, we let him because he pays! His choice this year at the Hotel du Vin was great, we mostly had different choices for starters and would recommend the French onion soup highly it was delicious. I chose fish for my main and that was also lovely served with a salad which was perfect for me. The steaks were also thoroughly enjoyed by those who chose them. We didnt really have room for dessert although i forced myself to try the blackberry sorbet which didnt disappoint, we finshed with coffee and hot chocolates. The staff were so obliging and kept the drinks flowing without being obtrusive ! we had such a nice afternoon and will certainly visit again in the future . The hotel du vin is quite pricey but is so worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    294
    127
    49
    17
See reviews for
106
524
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked a Monday night stay at this hotel as we were passing through Cheltenham, through AmEx travel; Free breakfast, room upgrade, two glasses of wine 'included'. Checked in early evening - hotel and carpark practically empty and told no upgrades available. The room decorated in drab decor and a 'king bed' made up of two mattresses, so if you sleep in the middle, you just end up in the crevice. Dinner was mediocre at best, a £12 mixed seafood started consisted of two scallops, a chunk of salmon, two squid rings and a courgette. Strawberry sundae came with no ice cream, just two giant scoops of cream. When questioned about this, the waiter looked like we were asking for his first child and begrudgingly said he would get us a 'fresh one'. How about just what we ordered? No 'complimentary wine' was offered. At breakfast the next morning, cooked items were fine. Baked goods at the buffet table could've doubled as door stops, how hard is it to bung a croissant in the microwave? Emailed them after the stay asking about the wine, as I had paid for wine during dinner. It's been two weeks with no response.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for giving us feedback following your stay at Hotel Du Vin Cheltenham. We welcome all feedback although it is never encouraging to receive negative comments this information is vital to monitoring our guests experiences and understanding when we have fallen short of meeting our guest expectations. I can assure you that this is not a typical HDV experience and your feedback will be passed onto the relevant Heads of Departments in order for the issues to be addressed.

We are disapointed to hear such feedback and would welcome the chance to speak to you personally about the issues, please contact giles.hammond@hotelduvin.com to ensure that we can make amends and turnexeprience around for you.

Kind regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My Fiance had booked Hotel du vin in Cheltenham as a birthday treat, and I was not disappointed.
The room was lovely, with a great bathroom. The bath was a stand a lone, and the shower was just amazing.

We dined in the restaurant with 3 friends and it was great. Food was of a high standard and was delicious, no complaints around the table. They brought out a pudding for me which had happy birthday written on it, it was a nice little treat, and they dressed up my cocktail with strawberries.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We love staying in hotel du vin hotels, have already booked our next one in Scotland!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SFG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are so veyr pleased to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your birthday with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a one night stay in a Junior Suite called La Grande Dame. We had originally booked an executive suite but paid the ebooking £20 upgrade which was well worth it. The room we upgraded to was incredible. It had a comfy super king bed, two beautiful roll top free standing baths, a lounge area and a separate bathroom with a monsoon shower. The decor was tasteful and the room felt extremely luxurious.

The only downside - the televisions did not work. The remote controls were not very effective either. I wasn't fussed to be honest, as I don't tend to watch television when away but it would have been annoying if you wanted to. Also the reception staff forgot to give us the wake up call we had booked in advance.

Breakfast was good and there was a good selection available. The ceramic cow milk jugs were adorable! Would love to purchase one myself if I knew where they got them from.

All in all a lovely stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, staff are friendly and the rooms are idyllic. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when visiting Cheltenham and The Cotswolds

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the Junior Suite La Grande Damme.

We are in the process of updating all of the hotel TV's in the bedrooms to the latest Smart TV's to ensure that we are keep upto dtae with the most recent technology.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed for two nights with my sister in July. The room was very nice and comfortable with a lovely bathroom, huge walk in shower and a lovely claw footed bath. It was during the very warm weather and was still very warm in the room even with the air conditioning. Parking was not a problem, space available in a business car park opposite, but this may only be available on weekends. The reception staff and Hotel Manager were very helpful and attentive. We ate here the first night in the outside area at the rear of the restaurant, the food, service and ambience were all perfect. the hotel is in an ideal location for the centre and shops during the day and the Montpelier District for restaurants and bars in the evening. Overall a most enjoyable stay. The room was £308 for a standard double for 2 nights, but we paid for an upgrade of £30 per night for an executive room. I thought initially the price was above average, but it is a really lovely hotel and worth the extra for a special treat. We did not manage to include any spa treatments as we had not Pre booked but would try to do this if visited again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay at HDV Cheltenham. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a great weekend with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for two nights here recently.
Staff were efficient and friendly on check in, as mentioned in other reviews, parking is limited but as we were here on a weekend there are plenty of options that the reception told us about so no issues there.
The room was a good size and bed was really comfortable.
This hotel is well placed in the centre of all the action too, so didn't need the car again.
The bar service was excellent even though there was a wedding reception happening at the time.
Breakfast is just heavenly, the country table has so many scrummy options and we opted for a cooked breakfast also which was great. The service was a little hit and miss with some items being forgotten but no real issues.
We had dinner in the bistro on the second night which was devine.
All in all I recommend this hotel thoroughly!

Room Tip: I would avoid the superior rooms but this is only my preference for total privacy in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

Hopefully see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I styled here on a special offer for Sunday night, £99 for room and breakfast down from approximately £300. The room I had was nice but had problems with a/c mentioned below, and the bathroom really needed re-doing for those prices, there was black mould in the masticing and tile grout and it could have done with a re-paint. Breakfast was lovely though which was a real plus.

Room Tip: Comments above relate to what felt like a bit of an annexe - up to the very top floor on the same si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzyjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. Please accept our sincere aplogies with regards to the A/C issues you experienced. The issue has now been addressed and the A/C is fully working in all of our bedrooms and public areas.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the housekeeping team too, as this is definitely no out usual high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing