We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dollar, but worth every cent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for one night, only, for a nearby wedding. This was the hotel chosen for the guests by the Bride & Groom, so we went to be part of the party. What a great choice! I can't fault the place, it is a lovely old building with a more modern extension. The staff are very attentive, the place is spotless, the rooms are excellent - ours was at least. I suppose we could say there was a problem parking on the front and behind, because the place was full of Range Rovers, Porsches, a Ferrari and a Maserati, but we found a place for our Astra van in the back car-park. There is a public car-park directly behind the hotel if there is no room. The Breakfast (only meal we had) was excellent, there is a good choice and what we had was perfect. We'd definitely go back, but might need a few years to save up first!

Room Tip: The better rooms may be to the front and in the old building. Ours was to the rear which was an exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellrunnerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, it is always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you astra van with us in the near future - please keep a look out on our website for all the most update room and bistro offers.

Kind regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel was easy to find and plenty of free parking which is unusual for Hotel du Vin locations. We were early so had a walk into the town for lunch and a shopping, hotel close to lots of restaurants and bars if required. Our room was small and quite a walk from Reception but up to the usual standard of this chain. We did feel the bathroom was looking a bit tired though, but the shower is still one of the best. Had some really good cocktails before dinner (with complimentary delicious olives and nuts) made by a most pleasant, efficient, young lady. The menu does seem a bit limited but I mixed and matched from the summer menu and the standard. Superb gravalax & mussels starters and lamb and pork belly mains. The table service was very good but we noticed a man we presume was the Restaurant Manager lurking about not making himself known or asking how our meal was, very odd. Breakfast is good but possibly a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. I will be sure to pass on your feedback regarding the bathroom and the management presence in the bistro as we really do value our guests feedback as this helps us to identify where we need to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times before but not had dinner and this time the overall impression is that the experience left me underwhelmed.
It could be so much better - the decor is good, the staff & service fine, but the rooms are a little on the small side (based on 3 or 4 different rooms that I have used over a couple of years). The evening was warm and as always with hotels the room was hot - however the air-con unit wasn't working properly. It threw out "cool" air not "chilled" air irrespective of the temperature setting used.
Finally - one has an expectation of really top notch food that is generated by the environment, the excellent wine list and general ambiance. However, the food was simply bland, not bad, not wrong, not badly presented - just bland. A client and I shared a Chateaubriand which was on the small side for two, overcooked and actually looked and tasted like a poor piece of steak cut into medallions and given a different name. To be fair the mussels I had to start were good.

Will I stay there again - probably as it's convenient for me and maybe it was just an "off day" but it is missing something in the kitchen and the evening left me feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review, we are obviously concerned that you felt let down by the quality of the food within the bistro. I can assure you had we known this during your stay we would have done our upmost to turn the situation round for you. Having communicated this with the Head Chef he was highly embarrassed to hear such comments as he and his team pride themselves on the quality of their produce and dishes.

We would love the opportunity to turn your impression round the next time you stay with as as I believe that this is not a true reflection of the bistro exeprience.

Kind Regards

Gils Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful, we stayed in the Junior Suite which was beautiful. The staff couldn't of been more welcoming and helpful and the location was perfect. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us, we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We managed to get a friday night away and booked into this hotel. I think its part of a chain.

The hotel inside was very nice, we didnt eat there so i cannot comment on the food.
Our room was really nice we had one with a roll top bath in the room so this was unique.

The room itself was hard to find as they are all named after champagne i think so make sure you get good directions as its a bit up and down stair cases to find ours.

We had a few liate night drinks in the bar and found the service to be great and reasonable for the type of hotel

The bed was really comfoy and one of the best nights sleep i had in ages.

Parking outisde is first come first served and free however they have an arrangement with an office over the road and you can park there for free after 5pm you just put a sign in you car. Again this is free.

I would certainly recommend this place and will visit again.

Room Tip: For a good view get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie_Catflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following you stay with us, we are very pleased to hear your comments about your stay, I can assure you these will be passed on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

For £120 a night I would expect a lot more, small room & noisy due too extraction from kitchen, bed far too big for room ( banged legs numerous times ) unexpected charges for full English was not very clear & was made to felt uncomfortable when querying this, tv channels didn't work properly just static images on a few channels , bad food for price - pretty shocking - welcome was good though by jolly local lady ! Ill stay at Montpellier chapter next time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent comments regaring your stay with us, we are obvisouly concerned that you experienced a number of issues during your stay, had you mentioned these during your stay or whilst checking out we would of course done our upmost to rectify them or offer a gesture as compensation.

Our rooms and bistro are competively priced with our competitors, and our rooms do vary in size and room rate depending on your budgets. Details of all of our packages are included in confirmation emails that are sent our once a reservation has been made. Our TV's are fully functional now as we were going through a transitional period of updating them all to Smart TV's.

I would be more than happy to discuss your feedback further should you wish to contact me at giles.hammond@hotelduvin.com.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited the Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham on Saturday for lunch, we stayed all afternoon and the food ambience and service were exemplary. We have a ladies day out each year and the one male who comes with us always tries to pick somewhere we havent tried before, we let him because he pays! His choice this year at the Hotel du Vin was great, we mostly had different choices for starters and would recommend the French onion soup highly it was delicious. I chose fish for my main and that was also lovely served with a salad which was perfect for me. The steaks were also thoroughly enjoyed by those who chose them. We didnt really have room for dessert although i forced myself to try the blackberry sorbet which didnt disappoint, we finshed with coffee and hot chocolates. The staff were so obliging and kept the drinks flowing without being obtrusive ! we had such a nice afternoon and will certainly visit again in the future . The hotel du vin is quite pricey but is so worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £99 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing