We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Woodley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay convenient location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here this weekend just gone on. Our check in was flawless the lady was extremely helpful and friendly.

The room on arrival was great. It met our expectations. We initially were a little bit disappointed as would normally book a suite but only a superior double was available.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute stroll from cheltenham town centre (I would recommend tea and cake at the swallow cafe) and there is plenty of free on street parking. The hotel car park is small and was full all weekend.

Our package included a 3 course evening meal from a limited menu from which there was nothing that we wanted to order. However we could order from the main menu with a £20 per person 'credit'. The main menu was reasonably priced. The French onion soup was delicious. My husband enjoyed his raspberry soufflé. The only small minor irritation is that the sommelier was extremely sniffy and rude when we declined wine at that moment (we still had cocktails from before dinner drinks) and literally snatched the wine glasses off of the table. Our waitress however was very polite and efficient.

The cigar shack is a lovely touch. It was nice to sit in there after dinner while my husband smoked and we chatted all snuggled up in the chairs with blankets.

The rooms are fully equipped with everything you need. The coffee machine is a nice touch. The mini bar is fully stocked but a touch on the pricey side.

The shower is excellent huge dinner plate sized head and great. The bath by the window in the room is slightly bizarre but I believe it's a trademark of the chain. Once the curtains were closed (otherwise full view if the terrace!!) the bath filled quickly and was a nice luxurious touch.

We would go again and have already booked for hotel du vin in Bristol for later on in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    304
    134
    54
    17
See reviews for
112
544
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A stylish and elegant hotel with "Town house" character but a certain French feel as well. Our junior suite overlooked the wide and wonderfully quiet avenue at the front and came with a large bathroom, monsoon shower and quality shampoos etc. The room had both a kettle and coffee machine which is a nice extra touch and the bed was vast and comfortable giving us an excellent night's sleep.
The staff were attentive and professional and the breakfast was as good we have had at Gidleigh Park which, if you know the place, is a real compliment. We particularly liked the yoghurt and the blackcurrant sauce! Dinner was of a very high standard in the brasserie style.

Room Tip: Unlike most town hotels, this one is NOT noisy at the front so the rooms there are excellent and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntingdonshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for a night at the end of March in a Superior/Executive room. The room was brilliant, and we were very happy with it. Bed was very comfy, bathroom fantastic with a roll top bath and massive wet room style monsoon shower.

Check-in was easy, although there was no porter, and the lifts were unserviceable, so we had to carry our bags ourselves up to the second floor. As we only stayed one night, it was only a minor inconvenience, but for anyone arriving with more luggage would've been annoying.

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast, with dinner reserved for 20:30. We arrived at the restaurant at 20:25, and were asked to wait in the bar area for our table. At 20:50, we were finally shown to our table. There were several other tables free, and part of the restaurant appeared closed off. We were given menus, and when we were about to order the food, we were told our rate didn't cover the main menu, but a separate menu (which we weren't initially given). It's a 3 course menu, with 3 options for each course. Food was very tasty, but I would much preferred to have been able to choose 3 courses from main menu without paying an extra £40 for the 2 of us. Restaurant service at breakfast again was slow, with seemingly one member of staff providing the service. If you were a walk in customer it also seemed extortionate for what was on offer.

Overall, Cheltenham was lovely, the hotel room brilliant, but let down by the experience in the restaurant. Would I stay again? Yes, but I'd eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socal_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for a Sunday night towards the end of March, taking up the special deal (a deferred Christmas present) for a room at a very reasonable price if you spend £70 in the restaurant and bar. Having now read the somewhat variable reviews posted recently, we would place our experience towards the positive end of the continuum. Our first-floor room - a 'superior one, I think - was spacious and comfortable, with a roll top bath by the window (remember to draw the curtains) and an excellent wet room (though I did struggle to adjust the temperature of the shower). The coffee maker was excellent. There were some strange omissions - no soap, insufficient shower gel and no welcome folder. It was only when we were checking out on Monday morning that I learned that the knobs by the headboard were dimmer switches for the bedside lights; the previous evening, when I asked for a replacement bulb, the receptionist didn't mention this, nor did the person who refitted the bulb in our absence think to turn up the switch. Our experiences in the dining room were fine, both at dinner and breakfast. No waiting, attentive and efficient service and good food and wine.

Being of a curious disposition I looked into the room near reception with a label on the door 'The Sinners' Enclosure'. It sports a large mural on a horse racing theme in somewhat dubious taste. It may go down well with some of the racing fraternity but I wonder whether it's the sort of image that does credit to the hotel during the remainder of the year.

Given the critical tone of some of the reviews posted here I'm surprised not to see responses from the hotel's management. If that's company policy I suggest they reconsider.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here recently to celebrate my 30th birthday.having been a guest at this hotel a few times in the past my partner had emailed them in advance of our stay to see whether they offered any complimentary treats to mark what is a milestone birthday. When we arrived,the birthday was mentioned by the receptionist but that was it-no further mention. They offer a scheme where you can opt for a room upgrade (this is at a cost)-we had already booked a junior suite-but this wasn't mentioned during check in and as the hotel didn't seem full it may well be there were other rooms available,there weren't any little touches made for our celebration (which I have had at lesser well known and less expensive brands of hotel). Don't get me wrong the rooms are of a very high standard and comfortable but the hotel could learn from others about how to make a stay a bit more special and I'm afraid that I would think twice in future about going there again for any further special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Have stayed here for race week for the last seven years. Last year I wrote a review saying it was the best hotel in the world. Alas - how a year can change things! They still have very friendly staff but there seems to be very little or poor leadership and management resulting in very poor service and particulalrly so at the bar. The rooms are getting very tired indeed (mouldy shower tiles) and the milk in my mini fridge was out a date - such a pity I didn't notice that before I drank it!! Apprently the hotel has been taken over by a US consortium and there is a renewed focus on cutting costs. They may be making progress in that respect but the hotel has gone downhill rapidly and such short term thinking will come with a severe price in terms of customer loyalty. Also had a dreadful experience with a drunk in the bar one night which management handled very poorly. All in all a very dissappointing stay and when you consider what the rooms cost during race week incredibly so. Will be going back to Cheltenham again next year for four nights during race week but will be looking at the Chapter I suspect. :-((

Room Tip: Look elsewhere until they invest in the property and get new / better management
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked a nice weekend break for two of us in their top suite with dinner B&B.

Parking was a problem to start with, they have very limited parking spaces (no mention of this on the website) meaning most guests have to park on the road, which is full of yellow lines.

The room was very dark and has very poor lighting, could not even read in bed. After asking the receptionist about the lighting she said they have been asking head office for months about this as they have been told to use energy efficient bulbs that give off no light - obviously a common complaint.

At dinner, the wrong food was brought, then was cold when replaced and then when replaced again, the other dish was cold as the other diner had been waiting. Excuse was a large function that evening - not valid when they still take bookings in the restaurant.

Breakfast was a disaster. Waitress brought coffee and toast then took a cooked breakfast order. After 40 minutes of constantly asking where the food was,we walked out and drove home to make bacon sarnies. Nearly every table at breakfast was also complaining about service.

We complained at check out and were treated to a long diatribe from two people at reception about why they are offering bed and breakfast when every week they cant cope with the numbers and people always complain about slow service. They immediately refunded breakfast and some of the dinner, but the damage was done by then.

Clearly they have major issues when the staff are discussing it themselves and are very quick to offer refunds just to get rid of you. They really need to smarten up their approach.

This hotel was a big let down compared to other HdVs we have stayed in - unfortunately I very much doubt it will ever see us again and will certainly never recommend it to anyone until they get their act together.

If staying close to this area, would recommend the George or the Chapter, both within 2-300m.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without black wallpaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cotswolds_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing