We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night whilst we went to the Cheltenham jazz festival. The room we stayed in was fantastic (Moët room), it had 2 free standing baths and the biggest bed I have ever slept in and also one of the most comfortable. The lady who was on reception was very friendly and efficient, we did not eat in the hotel although we did have drinks when we returned after the festival.
My only complaint was how hot the room was, the thermostat on the wall would not turn down, there were 3 free standing fans in the room( too noisy for me to sleep with on ) so obviously this was a known problem, it was so warm we had to wedge the window open as it would not stay open on its own.
I would however recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithfamily40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    294
    127
    49
    17
See reviews for
106
524
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay. Amazing suite with all the touches you'd expect from HdV. I have to mention Lisa on reception who was so friendly and welcoming and was just a pleasure to deal with. The prix fixe menu in the bistro is a bit limiting. That said it was still tasty. Disappointing that the spa was fully booked would recommend booking in advance. Word of warning they add service to the dinner aspect of your DBB rate. Not come across this before. Staff at breakfast were very nice and let us linger quite late and didn't rush us at all. Would definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mallyk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice enough but small rooms and real evidence of management with their eye off the ball. In the bar our food choice was limited because "the meat delivery didn't arrive today". And when we did find something they had, the order arrived wrong and frankly the food wasn't very good. Then at the bar, they had run out of a particular liqueur. This would have been forgivable if they had just run out, but the barman confided "i noticed a few days ago that we had run out". Is that acceptable these days?
Feels like it's very much resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: The 1980s wing has no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilinmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Now Cheltenham and the surrounding area are lovely and I would definitely recommend you visit. Plus this hotel is really nice, so well appointed, oozing with character and I found it highly relaxing. Our room was really nice (Krug) and the bathroom one of the coolest I have stayed in for a while with free standing bath and massive shower. The bed was very comfy. The bar area and restaurant are nice, but service was very slow on both mornings for breakfast, very. And it was slow when we went for dinner too. It wasn't even busy so they should really get on top of that. The restaurant is cosy and atmospheric in the evenings with candle light and the food was good. The service was friendly in the restaurant, which is not what can be said at reception and in the bar - it seemed that they charge for smiles in Cheltenham. There is a lack of warmth and personality which would lift the whole experience. But the hotel is very nice and would go back for sure. Also in the nice part of town so easy walking to shops, cafes, restaurants, etc. Hardly any parking in tiny car park, but can easily and safely park on the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in Krug, very nice with front view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile


The girlfriend and I took advantage of the Sunday £75 bistro £25 room deal! A bargain considering the quality of the venue, but begrudged spending £90+ in the restaurant at the end of it!

The room was amazing. We paid a bit more and got a large bath and me being a big lad I loved it, cause I could get in the bath! Took Me and the mrs in easily! Well almost!

Restaurant is where the issue laid for me. I had a prawn cocktail and the girlfriend had chicken liver parfait.
The prawn cocktail tasted like cheap condiments had been used to making the over powering sauce meaning any flavour in the prawns were completely lost! It was not good.
Parfait was nice..very creamy, possibly too creamy? But a nice big portion! In fact way too big for the three tiny pieces of Melba toast that came with it.

For main course, I had the the steak hache and it was very nice. The buttery new potatoes had no butter and was sent back to be made to the description! The very last one I ate tasted like washing up liquid! Was pretty bad!!

Girlfriend had the spinach and goats cheese roulade. It was presented beautifully but lacked seasoning.

Despite the slightly disappointing food, the restaurants ambience was lovely. The staircase leading down to the bistro, the lighting and decor set the mood perfectly. We were not bothered by staff, and our table was an intimate bubble. No elbow to elbow dining with neighbouring tables.

Overall, the venue, room and locality is amazing. The food just didn't stand up to the venue.

Would go back but go out for food!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toytank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here this weekend just gone on. Our check in was flawless the lady was extremely helpful and friendly.

The room on arrival was great. It met our expectations. We initially were a little bit disappointed as would normally book a suite but only a superior double was available.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute stroll from cheltenham town centre (I would recommend tea and cake at the swallow cafe) and there is plenty of free on street parking. The hotel car park is small and was full all weekend.

Our package included a 3 course evening meal from a limited menu from which there was nothing that we wanted to order. However we could order from the main menu with a £20 per person 'credit'. The main menu was reasonably priced. The French onion soup was delicious. My husband enjoyed his raspberry soufflé. The only small minor irritation is that the sommelier was extremely sniffy and rude when we declined wine at that moment (we still had cocktails from before dinner drinks) and literally snatched the wine glasses off of the table. Our waitress however was very polite and efficient.

The cigar shack is a lovely touch. It was nice to sit in there after dinner while my husband smoked and we chatted all snuggled up in the chairs with blankets.

The rooms are fully equipped with everything you need. The coffee machine is a nice touch. The mini bar is fully stocked but a touch on the pricey side.

The shower is excellent huge dinner plate sized head and great. The bath by the window in the room is slightly bizarre but I believe it's a trademark of the chain. Once the curtains were closed (otherwise full view if the terrace!!) the bath filled quickly and was a nice luxurious touch.

We would go again and have already booked for hotel du vin in Bristol for later on in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A stylish and elegant hotel with "Town house" character but a certain French feel as well. Our junior suite overlooked the wide and wonderfully quiet avenue at the front and came with a large bathroom, monsoon shower and quality shampoos etc. The room had both a kettle and coffee machine which is a nice extra touch and the bed was vast and comfortable giving us an excellent night's sleep.
The staff were attentive and professional and the breakfast was as good we have had at Gidleigh Park which, if you know the place, is a real compliment. We particularly liked the yoghurt and the blackcurrant sauce! Dinner was of a very high standard in the brasserie style.

Room Tip: Unlike most town hotels, this one is NOT noisy at the front so the rooms there are excellent and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntingdonshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing