We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book a superior room... or the Dom Perignon Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't book a superior room... or the Dom Perignon Room”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a couple of nights to get away from London and stay in some luxury. Initially we reserved the "superior" room for 2 nights though on receiving an email offering an upgrade we were quick to treat ourselves to a junior suite.
On arriving we were told the hotel was fully booked and we weren't able to upgrade... followed by dinner reservations which wouldn't be until 930. A little disheartened we headed to our "superior" room. We were not impressed. Low ceilings and airless the small bed wouldn't accommodate my 6 ft 4 husband, a roll top bath squeezed in at the foot of it overlooking a car park and a bathroom that was in strong need of some tlc (which was agreed by the deputy manager on duty that night, who took photos to show maintenance). A real disappointment. We looked online and it was the spitting image of the standard room with a bath squeezed in nothing like the images of the "superior" room shown on the website.
The deputy manager was very nice and sympathetic, offering to move us the following night but was unable to do anything else. We didn't stay.The drive back to London was more appealing than staying a night in that room. Near £400 for the 2 nights not including dinner. Very cheeky, there is more luxury at home.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard or superior room in the new part of the building. It really isn't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    306
    135
    54
    17
See reviews for
113
550
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Sunday lunch at Du Vin is a relaxing and luxurious experience. friendly pleasant staff, good food and plenty of it. A wonderful way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon. It's a must. I went with me family for nieces 20th birthday. After lunch we had coffee on the terrace. there was no rush about it, as I say, staff were superb.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Hotel Du Vin for our Daughters 20th Birthday meal. Went with the family. Had a fantastic time. Beautiful food excellent service. Very friendly staff. We all had a lovely day. Thankyou we will definitely come back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angelasmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the only Hotel du Vin I have stayed in so cannot compare it with the others in the group, but I really like the ambience of this place. Stylish grey/brown décor; minimalist but cosy at the same time. Welcoming reception and waiting staff.
We upgraded to a superior room on this our third visit and had a roll top bath in the bedroom with a separate wet room and loo. There wasn't much of a view from the bedroom window. And, a warning to people with limited mobility: the corridor layout is quirky with lots of steps up and down to reach your room.
There is a spacious bar area and down a circular open-tread staircase a large restaurant with French brasserie food. Not surprisingly it is quite pricy. We only had breakfast but my partner had the full works including kippers with two poached eggs. He said it was very good.

Room Tip: Many rooms seem to look out to the side or back of the hotel including the car park. If you want a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night whilst we went to the Cheltenham jazz festival. The room we stayed in was fantastic (Moët room), it had 2 free standing baths and the biggest bed I have ever slept in and also one of the most comfortable. The lady who was on reception was very friendly and efficient, we did not eat in the hotel although we did have drinks when we returned after the festival.
My only complaint was how hot the room was, the thermostat on the wall would not turn down, there were 3 free standing fans in the room( too noisy for me to sleep with on ) so obviously this was a known problem, it was so warm we had to wedge the window open as it would not stay open on its own.
I would however recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithfamily40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay. Amazing suite with all the touches you'd expect from HdV. I have to mention Lisa on reception who was so friendly and welcoming and was just a pleasure to deal with. The prix fixe menu in the bistro is a bit limiting. That said it was still tasty. Disappointing that the spa was fully booked would recommend booking in advance. Word of warning they add service to the dinner aspect of your DBB rate. Not come across this before. Staff at breakfast were very nice and let us linger quite late and didn't rush us at all. Would definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mallyk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice enough but small rooms and real evidence of management with their eye off the ball. In the bar our food choice was limited because "the meat delivery didn't arrive today". And when we did find something they had, the order arrived wrong and frankly the food wasn't very good. Then at the bar, they had run out of a particular liqueur. This would have been forgivable if they had just run out, but the barman confided "i noticed a few days ago that we had run out". Is that acceptable these days?
Feels like it's very much resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: The 1980s wing has no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilinmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing