We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location,lovely room”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Hotel Du Vin is excellently located for all the main attractions in the town. It's a stones throw from classy Montpellier and a short walk to the Promenade and the High street.
Being Cheltenham the hotel has a distinct racehorse decor. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a wonderful king sized bed and a roll top bath and walk in shower. We stayed in the midst of a very rare heatwave and for some reason the air con was not switched on. As a result we didn't have the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ian,

Your feedback is much appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our rooms offer many ameneties and lots of variations but all with the typical Hotel du Vin understated style. Our baths and showers are definately the most talked about features!

All our bedrooms have individual controls for the air conditioning and I am sorry yours appeared to be switched off. There has been some essential maintenace repair work to some of our bedroom systems and I am sorry if this impacted on the quality of your sleep. Let me now if you are looking to return to any HdV property and I will do my best to make amends in a more tangible way.

Many thanks,

Ed


Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    300
    133
    52
    17
See reviews for
111
535
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel generally good. Ample parking, easy check in and well positioned in town.
Decor really nice, staff excellent, room clean and tidy (yet very small).
Bath in the bedroom which would be lovely in a cavernous room but was a little odd in a small room.
Food and drink good.
All in all - id use the hotel again and felt it was good value.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear David,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham. It was great to read your positive experience and I hope I can welcome you back soon.

Many thanks,

Ed.

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. Very comfortable bed with a roll-top bath by the window from where I lay in bubbles and drank champagne (more bubbles) whilst watching the huge TV. Absolutely can't complain about that. The shower room was quite dramatic with all the black tiling, and the shower was great, but the floor wasn't too clean which I discovered when I accidentally splashed water and tried to mop it up with the fluffy white towel.... Excellent selection of toiletries.
Dinner in the Bistro was very good, service attentive and there was a pleasant, busy hum throughout both evenings. The wine was quite expensive, but not so much to stop you having a bottle with dinner. We would have liked to sit outside on the well-furnished terrace, but it was raining both nights we were there.
People have commented on the unfriendly staff; we didn't experience this at all; our receptionist was excellent; she went out of her way to be accommodating as we wanted some spa treatments in the morning, and she managed to find appointments for us at short notice. We also enjoyed morning coffee in the spacious bar/lounge area which was a lovely place to sit and while away an hour with the newspaper during a lengthy downpour of rain; the same receptionist was then serving in the bar and asked how the spa experience had been etc etc.
My husband stays here on business occasionally has always spoken highly of the Hotel du Vin; I agree with him, and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackdownAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It is always rewarding to receive a lovely response following a guests stay, thank you for taking the time to advise us of the good, really good and not so good aspects of your stay. I will ensure the team read your review.

It sounds like you would really like our Moet Vintage Suite, with elevated twin rolltop baths, double walkin shower, huge flat screen and enormous bed! Please let us know directly when you are planning another stay away and we will do our best to accommodate your requirements. Our website often has new offers to entice you away from home!

Thank you once again,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I only had one night here. I could have definitely have stayed much longer!
Service was excellent and I as upgraded to a beautiful room with a roll top bath by the window.
Drinks in the bar were served with a smile and quickly, as was breakfast.
Room amenities were excellent with top notch bed linens and fluffy towels.
Will definitely be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lisasplaces,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom upgrade, it is so nice when we are able to do this for our much appreciated guests. All our rooms have different styles, some with roll-top baths in the bedroom (sometimes two!), all have our fabulous drench showers. Do give us a call directly when you are planning another getaway and one of the team can talk you through the different options.

Regards,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having stayed in a number of Hotel Du Vin properties; of late I have found that same thing very often let's them down, poor service, reading recent reviews here on Tripadvisor, it seems others have experienced the same. Unfortunately HDV Cheltenham suffers badly from the this problem.

HDV is a well located (easy walk into Cheltenham centre) and is a grand building with bright and spacious bar and large downstairs Bistro with good, but pricey for what it is, food. My room was comfortable with a very small bathroom, and a perfect view of the prison van loading from the rear of the local courts, but as I had selected the cheapest room, that's fine.

What let my stay down, was disinterest from staff and management. For example; directions to my hard to locate room consisted of a half hearted 'across their and up the stairs', when actually it was more like up, down, up again and around, although as a result I did get to spend 5 minutes walking every corridor trying to find my room.

Similar disinterest was very much in evidence in the bar and Restaurant. I was ignored for 15 minutes after sitting down at a table, this was whilst the staff and a manager held a 'huddle' behind the bar, deep in conversation. My wine glass came with lipstick on, not my shade unfortunately :-)

Despite a heavily promoted Bastille day promotion no one working in the bar seemed to know about this, nor the promoted free nibbles which never came, so I gave up on. A request to honour the promotional prices resulted in questioning looks and the member of staff having to go and find a manager who made no attempt to speak to me, it had now become embarrassing, and I wished I have never asked.

So all in all not a bad hotel, just not a well managed hotel. Which is a shame as HDV has some good Hotels that I want to stay in.

As these shortcomings seem a consistent across hotels I wonder if morale problems, change of ownership or similar is the problem with the groups management?

Hotel management please note; don't bother with a bland response and asking me to contact you. Managers had several attempts to rectify these small but unprofessional service issues, but never took these. I get the impression, that if I had to explain, it would not be understood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochranza, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Impossible to find my room!
No room numbers, even the staff don't know where the rooms are located ?
If you have luggage make sure your room in near the lift !
Our party had a lot of luggage and the hotel could not cope ...v poor
The staff were really excellent ...but the duty manager very dismissive of a suggestion to have room numbers!
I would have thought that customer service would be paramount,but not for the duty manager i had the misfortune to talk to!

Room Tip: Check the location of your room and access at booking and don't take any luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to appraise me of your recent visit. I would be very grateful if you could call me at the hotel so I may find out which Duty Manager you spoke to. It is our policy to assit all guests by personally escorting them to their room. Only if the guest declines to be roomed should directions be given.
Our room names do make us different from mainstream hotels and are one of many idiosyncracies that seperates Hotel du Vin from most hotel experiences. That said, I empathise with your experience and I will reiterate with the reception team the importance of 'rooming' and/or giving clear directions. I do hope that you enjoyed your room facilities?

I am pleased that all other staff members you encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Kind regards,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, nice and quiet but an easy walk to the town centre and Montpellier. The rooms are very well appointed and quite spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable and the monsoon shower is wonderful although if you're over 6" you might have to duck to use it! Having a nespresso machine in the room makes a nice change to the usual sachets of instant coffee too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp-k-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always a delight to read positive comments regarding our room facilities, I agree with you regarding the fabulous shower experience!

I do hope that you will return to Cheltenham Hotel du Vin so that you can experience some of our other great, individual and well appointed bedrooms.

Regards,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
206 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing