We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great soundings, comfortable hotel in a nice location. Stayed here for a long weekend, exploring the Costwolds. Would highly recommend this hotel as a base. Planning to stay again in December with a few friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dean,

Thanks very much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. We were all pleased to read that you rated the hotel so highly. Please do give us a ring directly if we can assist in the planning of your return visit this coming December.

All the best,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    291
    123
    46
    17
See reviews for
102
514
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My two daughters and I decided to accompanying my husband who is working in Cheltenham for a night away. Having booked at last minute ,and getting a good price, I thought our rooms would probably not be too great however we were surprised! Rooms surpassed expectations. Having a roll top bath at home sometimes becomes boring for me when we have one in a hotel as no wow factor for me anymore however the design of the bathroom and the huge showers were one of the nicest in a longtime and did please me.
Also sometimes in boutique hotels the downstairs is usually lovely but upstairs can let it down but again in this hotel the standards where high throughout and I simply loved the decor !
Reception staff were very very helpful and at last minute allowed us a late check out in one of our rooms as I was not feeling too good and even on check out on required on my health. It was a nice touch for them to enquire.
The bistro and bar area are tastefully designed but relaxing atmosphere. The waiting staff were very attentive but not intrusive. Excellent wine cellar menu which always pleases me when they have my favourite stocked (Barolo or Amarone)as a lot of places list them but I'm frequently let down when they don't have. So another positive for them! The only slight let down for my husband was the Chateaubriand. He felt it wasn't as flavoursome as usually expected, however I enjoyed it. Also the waitress kindly offered two sauces for it when we both were undecided. Overall a lovely relaxing meal.
Location was excellent for shopping but not too central to be disturbed by noise.
We will certainly be rebooking here again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Your positive comments relating to your recent stay have been well received by the whole team. It really is a boost and great for team morale. We really do try very hard to exceed our customers expectations and your positive re-enforcement has a placebo effect!

Likewise we must learn from our critics and focus on improvement through analysis of all feedback. Do let me know personally if there was any area of your stay which could have been enhanced in anyway, I'd really like to hear from you.

Regards,

Ed.

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff were lovely and knowledgable about the area. The room was full of character, gorgeous and very clean. The breakfast was the best I've had in a hotel. This was worth every penny. If you want to be close to the centre of town I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thanks for the great review! I am pleased that you loved your room and I will pass on to our Head Housekeeper your comment regarding cleanliness, the team will justifiably be very proud of their hard work.
We only use top quality breakfast ingredients and I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, a must when you have a whole day exploring the fabulous local area or making the journey home.

I do hope you have the chance to return in the near future.

Regards,

Ed.

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Hotel Du Vin is excellently located for all the main attractions in the town. It's a stones throw from classy Montpellier and a short walk to the Promenade and the High street.
Being Cheltenham the hotel has a distinct racehorse decor. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a wonderful king sized bed and a roll top bath and walk in shower. We stayed in the midst of a very rare heatwave and for some reason the air con was not switched on. As a result we didn't have the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ian,

Your feedback is much appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our rooms offer many ameneties and lots of variations but all with the typical Hotel du Vin understated style. Our baths and showers are definately the most talked about features!

All our bedrooms have individual controls for the air conditioning and I am sorry yours appeared to be switched off. There has been some essential maintenace repair work to some of our bedroom systems and I am sorry if this impacted on the quality of your sleep. Let me now if you are looking to return to any HdV property and I will do my best to make amends in a more tangible way.

Many thanks,

Ed


Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel generally good. Ample parking, easy check in and well positioned in town.
Decor really nice, staff excellent, room clean and tidy (yet very small).
Bath in the bedroom which would be lovely in a cavernous room but was a little odd in a small room.
Food and drink good.
All in all - id use the hotel again and felt it was good value.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear David,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham. It was great to read your positive experience and I hope I can welcome you back soon.

Many thanks,

Ed.

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. Very comfortable bed with a roll-top bath by the window from where I lay in bubbles and drank champagne (more bubbles) whilst watching the huge TV. Absolutely can't complain about that. The shower room was quite dramatic with all the black tiling, and the shower was great, but the floor wasn't too clean which I discovered when I accidentally splashed water and tried to mop it up with the fluffy white towel.... Excellent selection of toiletries.
Dinner in the Bistro was very good, service attentive and there was a pleasant, busy hum throughout both evenings. The wine was quite expensive, but not so much to stop you having a bottle with dinner. We would have liked to sit outside on the well-furnished terrace, but it was raining both nights we were there.
People have commented on the unfriendly staff; we didn't experience this at all; our receptionist was excellent; she went out of her way to be accommodating as we wanted some spa treatments in the morning, and she managed to find appointments for us at short notice. We also enjoyed morning coffee in the spacious bar/lounge area which was a lovely place to sit and while away an hour with the newspaper during a lengthy downpour of rain; the same receptionist was then serving in the bar and asked how the spa experience had been etc etc.
My husband stays here on business occasionally has always spoken highly of the Hotel du Vin; I agree with him, and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackdownAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It is always rewarding to receive a lovely response following a guests stay, thank you for taking the time to advise us of the good, really good and not so good aspects of your stay. I will ensure the team read your review.

It sounds like you would really like our Moet Vintage Suite, with elevated twin rolltop baths, double walkin shower, huge flat screen and enormous bed! Please let us know directly when you are planning another stay away and we will do our best to accommodate your requirements. Our website often has new offers to entice you away from home!

Thank you once again,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I only had one night here. I could have definitely have stayed much longer!
Service was excellent and I as upgraded to a beautiful room with a roll top bath by the window.
Drinks in the bar were served with a smile and quickly, as was breakfast.
Room amenities were excellent with top notch bed linens and fluffy towels.
Will definitely be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lisasplaces,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom upgrade, it is so nice when we are able to do this for our much appreciated guests. All our rooms have different styles, some with roll-top baths in the bedroom (sometimes two!), all have our fabulous drench showers. Do give us a call directly when you are planning another getaway and one of the team can talk you through the different options.

Regards,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing