We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic Cheltenham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chic Cheltenham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A short business trip booked via the HdV website. Great opportunity to stay in amazingly spacious suite using the upgrade facility. The room was perhaps a little dark due to the black wallpaper but that was the only negative point. Dinner, bed and breakfast for £250 for the two of us seemed very good value for money and the wine choice superlative and reasonable., the set menu was excellent. Slowly collecting all of the HdV chain, only a few to go.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Nicholas,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are all genuinely pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality, decor, food and fabulous wine. This is what we are all about and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cheltenham Hotel du Vin. Best of luck completing the whole group tour and thanks for your loyalty.

Regards,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    291
    123
    46
    17
See reviews for
102
513
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham for a weekend in July with my husband. We had an excellent experience. The receptionist was extremely helpful. She even showed us around the bar and bistro before taking us to our room. The bedroom was very comfortable, with a roll top bath and shower room. Our bed was comfy, the minibar was very tempting, and the free wifi was fast. We had dinner in the bistro both nights, and the food was excellent. I would recommend the lamb dish that I had - very tasty indeed. And the recommended wine went with it perfectly. The bistro staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. It makes such a difference when the staff are friendly and chatty. We felt really welcomed. This is a fantastic hotel, and we will definitely be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for posting such a glowing review. I shall ensure all the teams get to read your comments and I know they will be happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed overnight courtesy of our insurance company. Large comfortable bed, rather large and austere bathroom with roll top bath and large walk in shower. Outside courtyard area which unfortunately was in the shade. Some unique touches like a cigar humidor selling Cuban cigars and an outside cigar shack where people could smoke them.
We can't review breakfast as the room was so comfortable that we were too late so went to Wetherspoons.
We had a lot of noise outside from noisy aircon units and also staff or others presumably outside having a smoke, this seemed to go on well past midnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear ukstayer,

Thank you for your largely positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specifically our comfortable beds.

I hope you chose to visit us again and enjoy our fabulous breakfast offering, including all the classic cooked breakfast items and all the market table has to offer.

I am sorry to read that you were disturbed. I have ensured that the maintenance team assess the air conditioning units and take remedial action. I have also reviewed the location of the staff break area and access times.

Regards,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having stayed in many good quality hotels around the world and eaten in Michelin Star restaurants this hotel did not hit the spot for us.

For what you pay for accommodation, food and wine it does not meet the standards of other places we have stayed for similar costs.

We came away feeling a little bit robbed. It was not bad don't get me wrong, just not good value for money in our opinion. It also had a slightly pretentious feel to it but that could have simply been the mix of guests staying that particular weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mount_of_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you don't think that your visit was up to par and did not represent value for the price paid. I would be grateful if you called me at the hotel so I may understand the specific areas where you felt let down.

Thanks,

Ed Duley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed over the weekend and had a great time as always at an HDV. The staff were as usual helpful and welcoming. However at this price point it should be close to perfection. Great location but the decor seemed just a bit tired. I love the HDV bathrooms which are the size of many hotel bedrooms but in a dark tiled room one of the lights was out and although reported it wasn't fixed. I would still go back though. Oh and I loved the Albariño, very classy white wine.

Room Tip: Special deal on Friday with meal and half bottle of Champagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your comments. I do hope that you will return to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, I would be happy to introduce you to our award winning Sommelier who I know would assist you in choosing your favourite style of wine from our extensive list.

Regards,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

hotel du vin rarely lets us down. fabulous service from the friendly staff (including a free upgrade for the husband's birthday), stylish and clean rooms, gorgeous breakfast and a great location. Their late deals are good value for money and we use HDV for both work and leisure. I would definitely stay here at HDV Cheltenham again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eviecUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star review. It was great to read and thank you for your recommendation!

You clearly like the Hotel du Vin brand and your loyalty is appreciated. Have you tried the newly refurbished HdV St Andrews yet? Well worth a visit.....

Regards,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the special Sunday offer. The hotel is conveniently located and was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was typical for this chain. The only fault was that the glaze in the washbasin was cracked. We ate in the restaurant and the food was well cooked and presented. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am genuinely happy to read that you would recommend the hotel. Our Summer Sunday offer provides excellent value and is very popular as a result.

I hope that I can welcome you back soon for you to enjoy another memorable stay.

Thank you,

Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing