We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat !”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We took advantage of the promotional Sunday night offer, paying £25 for if spending £75 in the bistro.
We were greated by a very friendly receptionist.
Room was clean and modern with a large comfortable bed. The added treat of full size toiletries, which you are encouraged to take home with you was a nice touch.
Due to lovely weather we enjoyed sitting out on the lovely terrace to the rear of the hotel, whilst we read the papers and sipped decent wine. Basic drinks were over priced, but to be expected at such an establishment. Dinner in the bistro was of average qaulity, service was always friendly.
To summarize - good value for money if using a promotional offer
The Hotel Spa is well worth a visit !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasharus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    306
    135
    54
    17
See reviews for
113
550
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Did not stay at the hotle but had half a meal in the resteraunt. Firstly presented with drinks and wine list, we ordered a bottle of wine but the waiter was in such a rush he did not take our order for an aperitif first, but promptly brought the wine before we had even seen the dinner menue. Having selected our meal we finished our pre-dinner drinks and were shown to our table. The waitress promptly poured my wife a full glass of wine without offering to me for tasting first. My starter was oxtail terrine - mostly jelly - tasteless and drasticacaly overpriced at £6.95. I had chosen rib eye steak which turned up on a wooden platter swimming in cooking oil and weighing in at approx 4 ounces my side dish of buttered spring cabbage @ £3.5 was cold, my bernaise sauce was forgotten, when it did arrive it had been nuked in the microwave and was curdled. The waiter did remove the cost of my steak from the bill but they still had the cheek to include a service charge in the bill. Similary my wife's food was of the same dismal quality, a piece of tasteless cod weighing at a measly 4 ounces again ( any fisherman would have returned it to the pond ) and at £16.95 with a single roast potatoe @ £3.50. Definatly a very dissapointing evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

A beautiful hotel in a fantastic central location. Ate in the evening in the restaurant, which was quite expensive and of average quality, but the ambience was good. Would definitely return but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I found the room very small and the bath in the room was awkward as their was not really enough space for it. The bed was smaller than the one at home. We stayed a Sunday night and paid £35 for the room. If we had to pay the standard rate of £155 then it would have been way too much. But at £35 it's better than a B&B. But don't open your window because the noise of the airconditioning (?) is bizarre.

We had to spend at least another £75 in the Bistro, which isn't difficult as you will be hard pressed to find a bottle of wine for less than £40.00 The food was OK but nothing special.

But the combination of a room and a meal for £110 is good value for money. If you pay the full price, you will feel disappointed. There are far better restaurants in Cheltenham at similar cost. (Lumiere is a superb restaurant.)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAN09Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

After a nightmare start to a romantic weekend in Cheltenham we arrived at 10pm without a booking (the hotel I booked for my romantic and relaxing weekend in was a 'Fawlty Towers' experience after 2 minutes, so we left!). The reception staff here were exceptionally helpful, understanding and we not able to do enough to assist. We also had my slightly 'mad' Springer Spaniel with us and he was equally as welcome in the Hotel Du Vin. The executive room was just delightful, spacious, impecably clean and the bathroom very luxurious. Room service on Friday evening was very good value, the breakfasts were second to none and set you up for the day - all freshly cooked and wonderful service. We had dinner in the Bistro du Vin on Saturday evening and even with a full dining room the service was very efficient. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

It was fantastic; refurbished hotel, but the the rooms are totally comfortable, cozy fitted with almost everything you want with large wardrobes.
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham should be on your top of your list if you are travelling to beautiful Cheltenham. This hotel is 2-3 minutes walk to shopping centres as well as many bars, restaurants and nigh clubs.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amirhossein79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Booked the hotel on-line with the usual type of on-line provider.

Check in was efficient and we were personally shown to our room which was lovely. Obviously when you book last minute on line you dont expect the best rooms. However we were pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size, modern, clean and with a huge comfortable bed. There were also plenty of products in the bathroom.

Free internet for 30 minutes was extremely useful as we are looking to relocate to Gloucestershire.

The hotel itself is modern, bright and vibrant. There is a lovely light fitting in the bar area made of upturned wine glasses.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was delicious. There was a huge choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and pastries, plus a delicious range of cooked options, which are cooked to order.

All in all a fabulous stay and we wouldnt bother looking anywhere else when we stay in Cheltenham again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne-Cantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing