We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Deal”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed with HDV on their Sunday deal and upgraded our room to one with a rolltop bath in the bedroom for £35 based on spending more than £70 in the brasserie. The great thing about our stay was that after we booked we were told that the restaurant was closed as they were holding a wine dinner with Ian Botham, Bob Willis and Geoff Merrill. We were offered a discount on the tickets for the dinner which we snapped up as Ian Botham is one of my sporting heroes. Food and Botham Merrill Willis wines was excellent and great stories from Messrs Botham Merrill and Willis.
We also had Sunday lunch in the garden at the rear of the hotel during the mini heatwave that we had which was very good.
Hotel was beautiful in a really nice part of Cheltenham. Room was excellent with a monsoon shower in the bathroom as well as the bath in the bedroom.
I think the normal hotel rates are a lot more than what we paid but would be good value for what is a great hotel with excellent service. We also managed to get a spa treatment at very short notice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tap6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    297
    130
    50
    17
See reviews for
108
528
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I had a wonderful stay at the HdV in Cheltenham and would highly recommend it for those wanting to be close enough to central Cheltenham to walk the town centre. The breakfast was just OK but good enough. The room was very nicely furnished and the bed was quite comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cspoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We took advantage of the promotional Sunday night offer, paying £25 for if spending £75 in the bistro.
We were greated by a very friendly receptionist.
Room was clean and modern with a large comfortable bed. The added treat of full size toiletries, which you are encouraged to take home with you was a nice touch.
Due to lovely weather we enjoyed sitting out on the lovely terrace to the rear of the hotel, whilst we read the papers and sipped decent wine. Basic drinks were over priced, but to be expected at such an establishment. Dinner in the bistro was of average qaulity, service was always friendly.
To summarize - good value for money if using a promotional offer
The Hotel Spa is well worth a visit !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasharus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Did not stay at the hotle but had half a meal in the resteraunt. Firstly presented with drinks and wine list, we ordered a bottle of wine but the waiter was in such a rush he did not take our order for an aperitif first, but promptly brought the wine before we had even seen the dinner menue. Having selected our meal we finished our pre-dinner drinks and were shown to our table. The waitress promptly poured my wife a full glass of wine without offering to me for tasting first. My starter was oxtail terrine - mostly jelly - tasteless and drasticacaly overpriced at £6.95. I had chosen rib eye steak which turned up on a wooden platter swimming in cooking oil and weighing in at approx 4 ounces my side dish of buttered spring cabbage @ £3.5 was cold, my bernaise sauce was forgotten, when it did arrive it had been nuked in the microwave and was curdled. The waiter did remove the cost of my steak from the bill but they still had the cheek to include a service charge in the bill. Similary my wife's food was of the same dismal quality, a piece of tasteless cod weighing at a measly 4 ounces again ( any fisherman would have returned it to the pond ) and at £16.95 with a single roast potatoe @ £3.50. Definatly a very dissapointing evening.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

A beautiful hotel in a fantastic central location. Ate in the evening in the restaurant, which was quite expensive and of average quality, but the ambience was good. Would definitely return but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I found the room very small and the bath in the room was awkward as their was not really enough space for it. The bed was smaller than the one at home. We stayed a Sunday night and paid £35 for the room. If we had to pay the standard rate of £155 then it would have been way too much. But at £35 it's better than a B&B. But don't open your window because the noise of the airconditioning (?) is bizarre.

We had to spend at least another £75 in the Bistro, which isn't difficult as you will be hard pressed to find a bottle of wine for less than £40.00 The food was OK but nothing special.

But the combination of a room and a meal for £110 is good value for money. If you pay the full price, you will feel disappointed. There are far better restaurants in Cheltenham at similar cost. (Lumiere is a superb restaurant.)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAN09Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

After a nightmare start to a romantic weekend in Cheltenham we arrived at 10pm without a booking (the hotel I booked for my romantic and relaxing weekend in was a 'Fawlty Towers' experience after 2 minutes, so we left!). The reception staff here were exceptionally helpful, understanding and we not able to do enough to assist. We also had my slightly 'mad' Springer Spaniel with us and he was equally as welcome in the Hotel Du Vin. The executive room was just delightful, spacious, impecably clean and the bathroom very luxurious. Room service on Friday evening was very good value, the breakfasts were second to none and set you up for the day - all freshly cooked and wonderful service. We had dinner in the Bistro du Vin on Saturday evening and even with a full dining room the service was very efficient. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#15 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing