We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous final night of our mini-moon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We booked our stay last minute through late rooms to add an extra day to our honeymoon. The hotel was lovely, great room (Penfolds) with roll top bath, lovely view, air con and bottle of wine. We ate in the bistro which was good but I wouldn;'t have said anything special. Lovely bar area, very welcoming staff and v good service from everyone we met. The breakfast was probably the best we have ever had, both continental and cooked was delicious. I'd come again just for the breakfast but would probably give the bistro a miss and eat at one of the local restuarants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecMat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

Perfect choice for a weekend break in Cheltenham, great location within reasonable walking distance of town, close to nice restaurants and parking.

Very friendly staff, beautiful room, spotless and excellent breakfast, great value if you can get a special rate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Spent a Friday night here. Lovely rooms (though a bit tricky to find as they have names and not numbers) with a big bath in the bedroom and nice furnishings. Friendly, bright staff. The bar is open late which was quite handy. Would certailny recommend and wish I had had longer there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The location was great, walking distance from the town centre, lots of shops there. The food was great, we had dinner there as it was our wedding anniversary, so treated ourselves, and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast was also superb. Staff were very attentive. The toilets were fantastic, they even had a flat screen Tv in them ... how cool is that!!. The room was extremely very elegant and contemporary, and all the rooms are different. tye en-suite had a monsoon shower over a roll top bath, which was also fantastic. The decor again was beautiful. even the corridoors very beautifully done out. Would highly recommend, but it wasn't cheap....... this was definately 'You get what you pay for' type of hotel. would go again, or try one of there other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandib_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We are travelliing from overseas and this was our first time in Cheltenham. The loaction of the hotek was wonderful and our room was immaculate. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious. The food was good but nothing to write home about, a little on the expensive side. We spent our days exploring the town and visiting the art gallery and museum. I have heard about the wonderful music festival and would love to come back for it. I would definitely stay at Hotel du Vin again if I am ever fortunate enough to make it back to Cheltenham. Thanks to the staff for making my stay such a a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaw_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed her for one night only and quickly wished we had booked in for a longer stay! The room was fabulous, very spacious with a fantastic bathroom. Great amenities in room, from air conditioning and robes to tea/coffee and at long last an hotel with a proper hairdryer! Can't fault it!! Also the staff on reception where extremely welcoming, taking you to your room personally.Used the bar, but not the restaurant. The bar was big, airy and friendly. The service was excellent. A bit pricey for drinks but you expect that in any hotel bar. Overall would recommend a stay at Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My boyfriend and I stopped here between the 28th and 30th of December, 2009, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. It was an elegant hotel; we were given a big (but somewhat understated) room with a massive bed. No fancy decor here. The bathroom was very compact but no complaints really – the heated floors were appreciated due to the cold weather. The service at breakfast was a bit of a let-down; we waited approximately 30 minutes for a small and basic serving of Eggs Benedict. There seemed to be a shortage of staff so this could have explained it. We ate out every night so I cannot comment on the restaurant. The bar decor was aesthetically pleasing but there could have been some more intimate seating available, but still, it was cosy. Again, service could be a bit more at your service! Overall, a beautiful hotel but it lacks in any intimate charm and warmth. Worth a visit if you’re in Cheltenham for a few days but it lacks any va-va-voom. I guess it's more for business, friends or family guests, and not so much for those seeking a romantic getaway. I am sure you'll enjoy your stay!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dr_Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £94 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing