We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the Sunday night £10 deal where you have to spend £75 in the restaurant or bar to get the room for £10.
The hotel was fantastic - the bar is really impressive with a gorgeous chandelier made of wine glasses and a sweeping staircase leading down to the restaurant.
The food was delicious and the staff are very knowledgeable about the food and wine list.
The hotel is a short walk away from the city centre and we had no problems parking in the additional car parking area at the back of the hotel.
The bedroom was spacious, warm, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We had such a great night's sleep and there are lots of lovely toileteries to take away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCitybreakfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

The room was lovely: large and comfortable with fresh milk for drinks made in the room. One small gripe is that there was no mirror that was good for putting make up on- i.e. one that was well lit and that you can get really close to. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient. In the morning we realised that we had missed breakfast (too late) but the restaurant delivered it up to our room which was an example of the great service on offer.
Dinner in the restauarant was OK but did not live up to expectations. Our shared starter of charcouterie was simply not tasty enough. Main coursese were disappointing and the cheese was unexceptional, when the trolly was revealed- usually an exciting moment for me- we were unwhelmed to say the least. The wine was good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Lovely building with beautiful bar abs restaurant area-which serves great locally sourced food&,as you'd expect,an amazing selection of wine! Rooms are great with full sized posh products in the bathroom with it's great monsoon shower and,in some rooms,rolltop bath. Room was a bit too hot for me but windows do open-bonus in hotels these days!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've stayed 2 nights in the Hotel du Vin Cheltenahm for a long weekend with my wife. Our stay was enjoyable but even though we got a good deal (£260 for 2 ppl 2 nights through Superbreaks) I still didn't feel the hotel delivered value for money.
Positive:
1. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made you feel welcomed.
2. The atmosphere had a buzz to it and the hotel's lounge and bar were constantly full with people, creating an inviting setting
3. Location is a short walking distance from town centre and the Montpelier quarter.
4. My wife booked a spa treatment which she said was excellent.
Negative:
1. Breakfast was a poor return for the cost both in terms of quality and selection. Service was extremely slow.
2. We asked for a quite room and were given the room called 'Villa Maria'. I'm not sure whether this is an exception but the room was not much more than a bed and bathroom. With suitcases opened there was barely room to move around.
3. Value for money - even though we paid £260 rather than £390 using a company called Superbreak, to which we refered by Thomas Cook, we still felt that was a lot of money to pay for what we got. An excellent breakfast and a slightly bigger oom would have probably made the difference.
4. a last point worth mentioning is that the HdV website is very difficult to navigate and find the information you're looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were visiting Cheltenham for a weekend at the races and wanted to treat ourselves to somewhere nice. I have to say the hotel accommodation was excellent. We were in the Umani room on the second floor. Despite being close to the lift there was no noise. It was a spacious very clean room with a king size bed and very nice bathroom with "monsoon" shower and heated floor. Nice towels, excellent shampoos etc. Linen on the bed was quality cotton, great pillows etc.

There were some other rooms that also had a bath in the room. Although it did not particularly matter we did not get one of these rooms it would have been nice if the staff has asked when we checked in. Other friends we were staying with had this kind of room on the same rate.

We had a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. I have to say we agree with the previous review that the service was below the standard we had expected. It was slow and un-attentive. The main course was excellent and although the rubarb cheesecake was delicious I think head chef (Jon Parsons) would have been devastated about the way it was presented. It looked like it had been thrown on the plate with little or no care taken over the presentation. Such a shame after the steak which was brilliantly presented. Other issues were that we selected a specific brandy from the drinks menu only to have the waiter bring an alternative to the table (already poured) that was over double the price (!). We checked to see if they were going to give it to us at the same price and were told this was not the case. We sent it back only to find it had been inadvertently charged to the bill anyway. Also there was a really long wait between main course and dessert.

Service at breakfast was little better.

Other things:

- parking is a bit of a challenge but if you are patient you can usually find somewhere
- Wi-Fi is available - free of charge for 30 mins

We would definitely stay here again but as per the last reviewer would go out to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Room was compact ,had everything you'd want for a weekend stay - comfy bed, nice linen, aircon, widescreen TV, bar etc. Shower was nice. Ate on Friday night in the restaurant. Service very slow and staff in the bar area not at all attentive. Wine list was overpriced. Food was overreduced and rich. Wouldn't eat there again or recommend to anyone. Would stay room-only if it came to it, but I'd probably look elsewhere if I had time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBSteve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We were supposed to stay here at the end of December but, when we arrived, Reception was lit by candles and they explained that they had a power cut (the second in two weeks.) We were shown to our room which did have emergency lighting and were told that the problem would be fixed very soon. We shortly discovered that NOTHING worked without the power - the toilet wouldn't flush, the baths (two, roll-top, absolutely gorgeous) wouldn't fill. After an hour or so, my husband went back to Reception who said that the problem could not be sorted and they were going to place everyone at different hotels for the night. Since a fantastic new hotel had just opened up the road, they were putting some people there - nothing like encouraging your clientele to use the competition! However, we booked the HdV specifically as it was my birthday and I have always loved these hotels and especially their restaurants. We have supported them right from the early days in Winchester. We therefore decided to return home to eat at our local pub and assumed that we would get a note of apology with maybe some compensatory offer - my husband is in marketing and sales and he would definitely try to get the customers back after sending them off to the competition for the night! However, not a word. The manager did apologise on the night, but it does leave a bit of a bad taste - our business is obviously not important to them. I shall now think twice before giving them any more rave reviews.
Having said that, the room was glorious. Shame we didn't get to stay in it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#16 of 23 in Cheltenham
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: £95 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing