We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven't eaten out SO well in years..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Haven't eaten out SO well in years..”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel.just ate in their Restaurant.. We recommend the 35 GBP meal for two plus wine voucher offer ..

Staff utterly brilliant and knowledgeable - FOOD - out off this world.. !

It's been a long time since we had such an enjoyable evening

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    300
    133
    52
    17
See reviews for
111
535
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

we stayed for one night and thought the rooms were excellent. Lots of nice touches (eg fresh milk in the mini bar fridge to accompany tea/coffee made in the room). Food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Sommelier and restaurant staff also excellent. Bar staff a little slower (took quite a while to get coffees in the afternoon). Receptionist was fantastic, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely return and probably the best HdV I have been too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodadvice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed for two nights during the recent half term holiday

We've stayed in several other Hotels du Vin so we knew pretty much what to expect - we didn't expect however the central reservations people to mess up our room reservation - receptionist soon had things uner control however.

We liked:

- spacious room and well stocked bathroom
- large comfortable bed
- peacefull and quiet (except for the seagulls and room cleaners - see below)
- being able to make our own tea & coffee
- relaxing comfortable bar
- dining in the restuarant (in the evening and at breakfast)
- location - near to town centre and the Montpelier district

We didn't like:

- central reservations messing up our booking
- tables in the restuarant were a little too close for comfort
- noisy seagulls early in the morning
- noisy cleaners in the corridor outside our room in the morning

Overall a pleasant stay and if we're ever in Cheltenham again, this would be where we'd choose to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the Sunday night £10 deal where you have to spend £75 in the restaurant or bar to get the room for £10.
The hotel was fantastic - the bar is really impressive with a gorgeous chandelier made of wine glasses and a sweeping staircase leading down to the restaurant.
The food was delicious and the staff are very knowledgeable about the food and wine list.
The hotel is a short walk away from the city centre and we had no problems parking in the additional car parking area at the back of the hotel.
The bedroom was spacious, warm, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We had such a great night's sleep and there are lots of lovely toileteries to take away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCitybreakfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The room was lovely: large and comfortable with fresh milk for drinks made in the room. One small gripe is that there was no mirror that was good for putting make up on- i.e. one that was well lit and that you can get really close to. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient. In the morning we realised that we had missed breakfast (too late) but the restaurant delivered it up to our room which was an example of the great service on offer.
Dinner in the restauarant was OK but did not live up to expectations. Our shared starter of charcouterie was simply not tasty enough. Main coursese were disappointing and the cheese was unexceptional, when the trolly was revealed- usually an exciting moment for me- we were unwhelmed to say the least. The wine was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Lovely building with beautiful bar abs restaurant area-which serves great locally sourced food&,as you'd expect,an amazing selection of wine! Rooms are great with full sized posh products in the bathroom with it's great monsoon shower and,in some rooms,rolltop bath. Room was a bit too hot for me but windows do open-bonus in hotels these days!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've stayed 2 nights in the Hotel du Vin Cheltenahm for a long weekend with my wife. Our stay was enjoyable but even though we got a good deal (£260 for 2 ppl 2 nights through Superbreaks) I still didn't feel the hotel delivered value for money.
Positive:
1. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really made you feel welcomed.
2. The atmosphere had a buzz to it and the hotel's lounge and bar were constantly full with people, creating an inviting setting
3. Location is a short walking distance from town centre and the Montpelier quarter.
4. My wife booked a spa treatment which she said was excellent.
Negative:
1. Breakfast was a poor return for the cost both in terms of quality and selection. Service was extremely slow.
2. We asked for a quite room and were given the room called 'Villa Maria'. I'm not sure whether this is an exception but the room was not much more than a bed and bathroom. With suitcases opened there was barely room to move around.
3. Value for money - even though we paid £260 rather than £390 using a company called Superbreak, to which we refered by Thomas Cook, we still felt that was a lot of money to pay for what we got. An excellent breakfast and a slightly bigger oom would have probably made the difference.
4. a last point worth mentioning is that the HdV website is very difficult to navigate and find the information you're looking for.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#14 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Property: Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing