We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Charming”
Review of Hanover House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanover House
Ranked #4 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Charming”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at Hanover House as part of a belated birthday night away from the kids. The house is beautiful, both the exterior and interior, and from when you step in it is clear you are staying in someone's home, but much nicer than most homes we know. Veronica and James are both charming and very welcoming and made us feel at home. The house is beautifully decorated with lovely pictures, 'objects', soft furnishings etc. The room was again charming and very comfortable. Hanover House is not for people who love a neutral, sparse hotel room, our room (the nursery) was decorated with family memorabilia, bright throws, cushions and fairy lights but we loved that. The room and bathroom were spotless and the shower was good (often a gripe at other places).

Breakfast was served in the delightful dining room and was tasty and plentiful. We sat with the other guests round the large table which added to 'home away from home' atmosphere. We didn't spend any time in the living room but it was a beautiful room with comfy sofas, books, TV etc and looked a nice place to while away an hour.

Hanover house is also very well located - only a few minutes walk from nice cafes, bars, shops etc.

We had a lovely stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but we weren't bothered by the traffic noise (the house is set bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were very glad that you appreciated both the decor and ambience of Hanover House. We remember (in the distant past) the relief of short breaks away from the children, when we could have our own time - even though it didn't last for long and we were happy to get home! We aim to provide a homely rather than a relatively austere professional experience and we're glad that you approved. You'll be welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
168
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Everything about our stay Hanover House was excellent. Veronica and James were wonderful hosts, the bedroom we had (the Nursery) was very nice and breakfast was delicious. The house is about a 3 minute walk to the High Street and parking around the area was no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited Cheltenham for the first time on Friday 7th sept.what a pleasant visit this turned out to be.From the moment of our arrival to the point of our departure we enjoyed the warmest of hospitality we can ever remember.As hotel owners ourselves (Posh Pads Liverpool) we are particularly regarded as fault-finders but on this occasion we have nothing but praise.we shall be returning

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Hanover House in August for 3 nights with our 2 daughters, on arrival we received a very warm welcome from Veronica, along with advice and information on the local area. Rooms were very well furnished and beds extremely comfortable, lovely little touches included the decanter of sherry. Veronica also gave us recommendations on good restaurants for dinner (and made the reservation for us!). Excellent breakfasts, with delicious home made jams and marmalades, fruit compotes, full english, need I say more.

As has been mentioned previously, the house is beautifully furnished with lots of interesting paintings, books & objects from their travels.

Veronica and James were always on hand to offer help and advice where needed and were excellent hosts. Thank you for looking after us, we will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Normally my wife and I stay in a hotel but we decided to try Bed and Breakfast at the Hanover House for a theatre trip on our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed! On arrival the welcome was lovely. The house was beautifully furnished. The bedroom was spacious and extremely comfortable. The short walk in to town was lovely. The breakfast was fantastic (all the food is sourced locally). Each bedroom has use of its own bathroom and the bathroom we had was stunning. This house is Veronica and James' home and their guests are treated like one of the family. We will be going back for a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hanover house is jaw-droppingly beautiful, situated an incredibly convenient 3 minutes' walk from the centre of town. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the welcome warm and the breakfasts delicious. Who could ask for more!? Would recommend for anyone who prefers homely, colourful and interesting to a homogenous, minimalistic hotel experience. Many thanks to Veronica, James and their enthusiastic golden retriever Sophie.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenMarnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I still have fond memories of our stay at Hanover House....3 years now and love receiving their updates of current events...B&B's were a little bit new to us at the time but this experience was wonderful and we now have a different view to booking accommodation and tours, classes etc as we plan our holidays. These activities now help us to interact with the 'locals' no matter which country we are visiting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the delightful Rosetta corner room...very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House

Property: Hanover House
Address: 65 St. Georges Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover House is a 5-star elegant Grade-II listed Victorian town house offering a family home atmosphere, spacious bedrooms with bathrooms, and guest drawing room providing television, books and music. A short walk into central Regency Cheltenham accesses excellent restaurants and shops in Montpellier and Promenade, parks, Ladies College, coach and railway stations. Regular festivals, exhibitions, concerts and shows are staged at the nearby Racecourse, Montpellier Gardens, Pitville Pump Room and three excellent theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing