We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived as guests, left as friends. Fabulous stay.”
Review of Hanover House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanover House
Ranked #5 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Arrived as guests, left as friends. Fabulous stay.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the Rossetti room and from our arrival felt very much at home in this gorgeous house. Veronica and James are the perfect hosts and everything was done to make our stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible. The breakfast was outstanding- with mouthwatering fresh fruit salads, dried fruit compotes, home made preserves and one of the best full English cooked breakfasts I have had anywhere (but we also tried the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and chives which was equally delicious). Mention has been made of Sophie the dog in other reviews. I am not comfortable with dogs but having expressed my concerns on the phone to Veronica, she most considerately kept Sophie out of our way to the extent that I could not have told you there was a dog in the house if I hadn’t known. We greatly enjoyed the company of Veronica and James, finding interests in common and were happy to chat although they never imposed themselves on us but responded happily when we showed interest - we felt like friends rather than paying guests and by the end of 3 days it seemed like we had known them for ages. James is charming and knowledgeable and Veronica has a wonderful self deprecatory humour and dry wit, which made them both excellent company. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated with every amenity we could ask for. I’m sure we shall be returning and would certainly recommend Hanover House to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want a cosy comfortable room with double bed and en-suite facilities, the Rossetti room is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac_12152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We're glad that you appreciated what we try to do - make everyone feel very much at home. Some places can be more slick, but we try to be personal and human without being intrusive, sometimes people don't want to be bothered and we do our best to fit in with what our guests want. We're glad you felt we were friends by the time you'd left, it was just how we felt too! Sophie didn't suffer from not being pampered by guests for a few days - she gets far too much attention already as it is. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    9
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
168
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came to Cheltenham for a night at half term. We were made immediately welcome on arrival at lunchtime, given some useful information on local restaurants, a town map, our own keys and made to feel as if this was our own home. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with numerous thoughtful touches you rarely find in five star hotels (e.g. bedside torch, book reading lights and the 'coup de grace', a decanter of sherry for that night cap!). Perfect Aga cooked breakfast, with healthy fresh fruit compotes, yoghurts etc. Can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Go for the Elgar double room if you can - fab large bath and shower room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review - we love to have guests who appreciate the house, the town (and us) and like to communicate. 'En famille' doesn't suit everyone, but those who participate gain from it and in this case we almost had the 'famille' complete, enjoying all that the town offered in a short period of time - cinema and ballet. Although we don't normally accept children, sometimes we make an exception when we feel that it will be a positive experience and in this case we were not disappointed. You will be welcome any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hanover House is what I try to look for in a B&B: friendly, welcoming, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfasts and most importantly, characterful - reflecting both Veronica and James' personalities and their attention to detail. For anyone who is looking for a memorable stay in the centre of Cheltenham with the personal touch, I would thoroughly recommend Hanover House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you spend a good deal of your time here you know us, and Hanover House pretty well !

Look forward to seeing you back tomorrow and don't forget we are giving you a birthday supper on Tuesday. Black tie of course !!

Warmest wishes

Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strensham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We are having trouble writing anything different to previous reviews!
A little oasis in the middle of Cheltenham, James and Veronica made us feel like family, welcoming us into their home and making it feel like ours, from the very first.
We were delighted with our room, all the little touches within it and the accompanying bathroom.
Breakfast too was sumptuous, and again felt homely as we all sat down round a big table.

We certainly will be recommending it to family, and hope to be staying again.

This is not a visit for those of you who enjoy the cut-off experience and anonymity of a hotel.
But if you like to be fully taken care of in a most thoughtful manner, surrounded by calm, this should be top of your list.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlouC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having travelled from Australia to visit Cheltenham with my daughter I was so pleased to find myself at the delightful Hanover House.

Having read the glittering reviews I had high expectations but Veronica, James and their lovely retriever Sophie exceeded them all.

The accommodations were both generous and incredibly comfortable. Tea, coffee and sherry amenities in the room were much appreciated as was the impeccable daily cleaning service.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Homemade bread, bone china and gorgeous surroundings made for a fantastic start to each day!

The hosts themselves are the true highlight of this charming B&B. Well travelled, kind and welcoming, Veronica and James offered remarkable local insight and suggestions. I would also like to thank them for going the extra mile in helping me find medical advice during my stay.

A true five star B&B with utterly charming character - I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Beth and Lyn, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review for your stay with us at Hanover House. We knew this was a very special mother and daughter get together as you live so far away from each other, and only glad that we were able to provide the space and peace that you needed.

Also very pleased that our very good surgery was able to prescribe what you needed to enable you to continue your break.

Warmest wishes

James and Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a 3-night break at Hanover House for a local festival. We were generously greeted with a warm welcome from the hostess who showed us to our room. The room was very large and full of character with a very comfortable king-size bed even fitted with an electric blanket for the colder nights! The room was excellently equipped with drawers, wardrobe, a radio, lovely tea and coffee-making facilities with fresh milk and even some sherry and a chaise-longue - there was a wide range of reading materials provided and the bathroom was fantastic - large with extra long bath, two separate sinks and a deluxe shower. We shared a perfect breakfast consisting a cooked breakfast with fresh fruit, fruit compotes, yoghurt and home-made jams with porridge to order and the option of salmon and kippers. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were charming and entertaining. We enjoyed a good banter with the other guests each morning and the atmosphere was warm and friendly.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Hanover House and would certainly recommend it to others - we hope return again next year!

Room Tip: The Elgar room was ideal and had its own exceptional bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from my 5th visit to the gorgeous Hanover House...Great location, beautiful house, fab hosts...Yet again, Veronica and James made me feel enormously welcome and the room I stay in is just delightful: high ceilings, elegant windows, enormous shower room, comfortable beds and every little detail seen to. What's not to like?!

Room Tip: I have a sense all the rooms here are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverCheltenham, Manager at Hanover House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you Rhiannon for the lovely review and we're glad that you're still enjoying your stays with us and the 'bonhomie' around the breakfast table. Hope you'll be able to make it in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House

Property: Hanover House
Address: 65 St. Georges Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover House is a 5-star elegant Grade-II listed Victorian town house offering a family home atmosphere, spacious bedrooms with bathrooms, and guest drawing room providing television, books and music. A short walk into central Regency Cheltenham accesses excellent restaurants and shops in Montpellier and Promenade, parks, Ladies College, coach and railway stations. Regular festivals, exhibitions, concerts and shows are staged at the nearby Racecourse, Montpellier Gardens, Pitville Pump Room and three excellent theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing