We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way”
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #1 of 482 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$115
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his wife Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Regrettably we only discovered this gem of a restaurant once we'd moved away from Cheltenham!

On a return visit my fiancée and I were so impressed by the food and service that we enquired about hiring the venue. We were due to get married in May and wanted to do something special the night before - a 6 course tasting menu for friends and family seemed like a great idea.

In the weeks of planning that followed, Helen at Lumiere was fantastic at helping us select a menu and advising on seating plans etc. Everything was handled with a smooth professionalism that instilled confidence.

After much planning the big night arrived. With 18 guests assembled, Champagne and canapes started the evening off on a high which was maintained throughout. The food was excellent, the service was excellent (just as is had been on 2 previous visits). Everybody loved it and some of the more experimental courses certainly provided a talking point the next day!

Lumiere is one of our favourite restaurants in the UK, it thoroughly deserves the positive reviews and my wife and I look forward to returning in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JLeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 458 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I went to Lumiere for her birthday. The surroundings were lovely, the service was attentive but not in intrusive and the food was fantastic. Hope to go back someday.

Thank Andrewcox0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We eat here as regularly as we can afford. It is expensive but the food is outstanding. Its a small restaurant but the service is excellent and for a special treat its the place to go (or if you just happen to be rich) Tasting menu for two with plenty to drink was around £270.

Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Good food, they serve tasty amuse bouches between courses, atmosphere is a little cold but the good service makes up for it.

Thank NickM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Dining at Lumiere is a wonderful experience, the staff are very attentive and personable, the food is beautifully presented and tastes fabulous. We have been here a few times and the standard of food is always excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lydia_Farrow1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing