We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb evening meal!”
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #1 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$104
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening meal!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have visited a few times, and it never disappoints! Our last visit in February was no exception. We tried the tasting menu, which was by the far the best meal I've had in a long time! Food is exceptional, very creative, beautifully presented, and ingredients are of great quality. We find the wine to be a tad overpriced but the wine list is varied and has something for everyone. Service Staff are attentive but not intrusive. Would really recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    55
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We went here for the first time a couple of weeks ago and from booking the table to leaving the restaurant was the most pleasurable evening!! The staff were so friendly, courteous and attentive yet nice and relaxed that made the evening really relaxing. They checked our dietary requirements on booking and when we first went it. Being a vegetarian was not in the slightest bit a problem. . And I had an entire menu. The food was presented with elegance and style and tasted great. A very talented chef. We will definitely be coming again. .. and a high recommendation to all my friends. Such a wonderful experience. Thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank Rakhee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

A delightful Anniversary lunch.

We had the tasting menu with wine which was interesting, exciting, technically brilliant and delicious.

Perfect for that special occasion.

Recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LordSheepscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lunch, the vegetarian menu, and quite possibly the best meal I've ever eaten. A stunning range of flavours, a hugely talented chef and warm and friendly - and informed - front of house. Brilliant! Obviously we'll be going back but visiting Cheltenham on a fairly regular basis my only regret is that we hadn't been to Lumiere before - think of all the other brilliant meals we've missed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,770 reviews
1,008 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 891 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Very Special”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Where else would we go for dinner on such a special evening than our (my?) favourite restaurant in Cheltenham?
Jon put on a quite amazing tasting menu, and Helen & her team were on top form in front of house, so what with two very nice bottles of wine we had a great evening.
Needless to say, we will be back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing