We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #1 of 441 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$102
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Astonishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Brilliant. Exquisite food, feels very high end without being stuffy or pretentious, great décor, wonderful service and surprisingly good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    53
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
188 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to the Lumiere thanks to the reviews on TA. We had the tasting menu, and the food was delicious. It's a small restaurant, and the service was attentive and very friendly. They will also give you a copy of the menu to take home. One tip: when they offer you water for the table, choose the jug of tap water. The bottled water is not spring or mineral, only filtered water, but they will charge you for it. Cheeky!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lappini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have visited a few times, and it never disappoints! Our last visit in February was no exception. We tried the tasting menu, which was by the far the best meal I've had in a long time! Food is exceptional, very creative, beautifully presented, and ingredients are of great quality. We find the wine to be a tad overpriced but the wine list is varied and has something for everyone. Service Staff are attentive but not intrusive. Would really recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We went here for the first time a couple of weeks ago and from booking the table to leaving the restaurant was the most pleasurable evening!! The staff were so friendly, courteous and attentive yet nice and relaxed that made the evening really relaxing. They checked our dietary requirements on booking and when we first went it. Being a vegetarian was not in the slightest bit a problem. . And I had an entire menu. The food was presented with elegance and style and tasted great. A very talented chef. We will definitely be coming again. .. and a high recommendation to all my friends. Such a wonderful experience. Thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank Rakhee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

A delightful Anniversary lunch.

We had the tasting menu with wine which was interesting, exciting, technically brilliant and delicious.

Perfect for that special occasion.

Recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LordSheepscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing