We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #2 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$100
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Somewhat of a hidden gem. Thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu at our recent visit. Opted for the wine pairings and was not disappointed. Imaginative cooking with great wine match ups. Not sure why it has taken us so long to visit but will be back again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 16 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    53
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Why no Michelin star?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Six of us 'foodie' friends had the 7 course tasting menu and we all thought the food was outstanding - the best we have ever had. The staff were very friendly, not at all stuffy and the service was very good. The tasting menu plus a few bottles of wine worked out at around £90 a head. We thought it was well worth the price but not something we would be able to do every week, sadly!

I shall be pleased to see it gain it's Michelin Star as it wont be very long, I'm sure

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teresaweezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 16 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend and it did not disappoint - in fact it surpassed all expectations. We went in the evening and chose the three course menu. The cooking was exceptional and having eaten at many restaurants with a Michelin star I was surprised to find that Lumiere does not have any. We shall certainly return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shewholunches2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

third visit to Lumiere since moving to Cheltenham, and while expensive (around £100 a head with wine if choosing the tasting menu), the real question is why not more often. Think we should try the better value option of lunch. Many others have said it, but the tasting menu is outstanding, every course worthy of note and the service is friendly and not stuffy at all. there are other good restaurants in Cheltenham, but for me this is the best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Don't Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you're in Cheltenham, this is a don't miss restaurant. Phenomenal food, great service and terrific setting. We opted for the 3 course meal, and we weren't disappointed. All four members of our party had different starters and main courses, and all of us were extremely impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again one day when you are in town.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the Lumiére team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing