We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open Kitchen”
Review of The Daffodil

The Daffodil
Reserve with OpenTable
The Daffodil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$84
Cuisines: European, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Rail: Cheltenham Spa
Description: As Cheltenham’s most dramatic restaurant, The Daffodil with its Art Deco influence offers an extensive Brasserie style A La Carte menu which is seasonally changed, with an excellent choice of wines. Independently owned The Daffodil with it’s award winning conversion from a 1920’s cinema into a restaurant never ceases to wow all who visit. So whether you are planning a romantic night, a corporate event, a party or a memorable wedding, The Daffodil offers an experience not to be missed!
A TripAdvisor Member
“Open Kitchen”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I with two friends re-visited The Daffodil and were again delighted by the atmosphere in this old converted cinema. As for the food, one of our friends stated that it was the best meal she had ever eaten - what more can be said ?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    400
    196
    72
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very nice but...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

went on a Saturday afternoon and the place wasn't very busy. The food and service was very good but sadly they brought out the wrong starter for my girlfriend which given how quiet it was was a bit of let down

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always Superb Meals.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Two or three times a year my daughter and I spend the day in Cheltenham and always have lunch at The Daffodil, and the meal is superb every time. The building itself is wonderful having been an art deco cinema in a previous life, the staff are attentive, professional and helpful, and the food is imaginative, inventive and frequently inspired. If we lived in Cheltenham we would be here every week!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valery784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Four of us attended the Daffodil restaurant to celebrate our birthdays. We had the taster platter and everything was beautifully cooked and presented. Loved it.

Nothing was too much trouble. Two of my friends did not want the chateaubriand, which was part of the taster platter, and they were offered a choice of steaks instead. The chateaubriand was absolutely delicious.

I would have preferred to have had water on the table rather than always having to catch the eye of a waitress when I wished my glass refilled. Perhaps not enough room on the table.

We all agreed it was a most enjoyable experience and, next time we are in the area, we will definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanS969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you're celebrating a special occasion, this place is perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I headed here for a special anniversary and it was a real treat. The meal was worth the price tag. The food was delicious and the restaurant had a great atmosphere. We sat on a little snug table so it felt particularly cosy and romantic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Daffodil also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Daffodil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing