We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday lunch”

Moran's Eating House
Ranked #85 of 515 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went for a light lunch and found this could be served in bar or main restaurant. Latter much more comfortable and food as always excellent.Good service and peaceful atmosphere when the bar was packed. Will go more often now I know that the restaurant is open at lunch times. This really an exellent place and only marginally more expensive than many lesser places in Cheltenham.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank Brian29CheltenhamSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Its been several years since I've eaten at Moran's but last night after trying and failing to get into several other places we tried our luck at Moran's and I'm glad we did. We were offered a table immediately, although, we would have been quite happy waiting in the bar for a table as it has a nice buzzy atmosphere.

The set menu is good and varied but you also get a special's menu to choose from. The food was delicious with generous portions and the service was swift. All in all this is a great place to go and great value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to go back - a friend who I was with visits here regularly and said she has never had a bad meal.

Just a tip if you're drinking red wine - the house red is a lovely cabernet sauvignon and I'd recommend this.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauraGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Went to Morans on a Friday night, great atmosphere, very busy, but easy to get drinks, menu looked good, but didnt eat. Lots of nice comfy places to drink and eat, and surprisingly very big on the inside. Will definitely go back to try the food. Very friendly staff.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Once again a really good meal. A special treat for my brother-in-laws 50th so glad we chose to go to Moran's. As usual each dish was so tasty and well cooked and the choice almost too much!

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zenajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Moran's on a Saturday night is just what you would expect a restaurant/bar in a University town that has the confidence to call itself An Eating House to be...busy...noisy...and fun. A great atmosphere and the staff were brilliant. We were hardly out of the rain and through the door when our coats were hanging up, and we were sitting at a table armed with menus. The waitresses were quick, cheerful and genuinely apologetic when items we ordered were already sold out. You would not choose Moran's for fine dining but the food was good, the prices pretty reasonable and the size of portions sufficient to make two courses a feast for even the hungriest. The coffee was strong. The water was cold. Everyone, including the staff, appeared to be having a good time at Moran's. I wish there were more restaurants like this. They make going out for coffee, or lunch, or tea with their famous home made cakes, or dinner, or just for a drink on the way to somewhere else, a really happy experience. The staff make it all seem easy. Surely that is the key to happy eating and drinking.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moran's Eating House also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Moran's Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing