We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice recently....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flynns

Flynns
Ranked #26 of 443 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Casual Dining At Its Best" Flynn's Brasserie is a long established busy and bustling restaurant situated in the heart of Montpellier, Cheltenham. The atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and informal, making it the ideal destination for leisurely lunches, intimate dinners and special celebrations. It is a very social place brimming with business people, shoppers, couples and friends meeting for a meal or a glass of wine. We offer fresh, seasonal and local produce, traditional and contemporary dishes using the best British ingredients in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our special boards change twice daily to reflect seasonal dishes and our chef's imaginations. There is no better place to eat alfresco in Cheltenham during the summer months creating a unique dining experience. We strive to create the best possible experience for our customers by offering exceptional quality, service and value. We look forward to exceeding your expectations sometime soon...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been twice recently....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good food, good atmoshphere, good value. A buzzy place with freshly cooked food. It's not Michelin stars but it's pretty honest good grub in a lively setting. Worth a visit to see the interesting picture of all the waiters in Austria looking out of the hotel window...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BnH_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    155
    62
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This was a second visit to Flynns having had a fantastic meal just under a year ago. Like many things in life the return visit didn't live up to the memory of the first experience.
Really good service and nice atmosphere but the food was just ok. The sharing platter of fish items was however really good. There were 5 of us do we had 2 sharing platters and 1 calimari off the specials board. This set the scene for a good night as we polished off the lot with everyone enjoying the food. The main was however just ok. As a group we had the duck, sea bass, venison and lamb shanks. They were all ok and quite tasty however the school dinner style veg accompaniment was a let down. Desserts sounded appealing from the menu however the creme brûlée was split and the sticky toffee pudding only warm.
We did have a good night and the nice atmosphere and very attentive service helps however we did all walk away feeling disappointed that it wasn't as good as last time.
Is recommend it as a good venue for a night with friends even though good may be a bit hit and miss.

Helpful?
Thank Lwatson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ate here on our second trip to Cheltenham as we ate here first time. Equally as good this time. Service good and food excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jollyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Some good points, some not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a dinner in Flynns for party of 4, sat in nice patio outside. All in all aprt from starters that were really nice the rest of the meal was very average. Service was ok-ish but needed to wait for several things and seemed like we were left by ourselves for longer than required. Heard a lot good things about the place and I'm sure they deliver on most of the days but our meal was a bit disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited here for lunch which was very good. Three of us ordered the club sandwiches which were huge and good value! One of the party had the two course deal with a glass of wine. We also ordered a bottle of wine. Meal came to around £60 which we felt was not too bad for four people!

Negative comment - we would have liked to have sat outside but heavy rain had just finished and everything was wet. Staff seemed a little reluctant to dry it off as we'd have to wait which we were happy to do but we got the impression they'd prefer us to sit indoors so we did.

Inside it had a nice atmosphere with good service over all. Not overly busy so we didn't have to wait too long for our meal. Would recommend this place and visit again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flynns also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Flynns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing