We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't rush back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slug and Lettuce

Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #311 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: US$24 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wouldn't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Funnily enough I had never been to a slug and lettuce before, but after hearing good things about the chain's other restaurants, me and a friend decided to give the Cheltenham one a go for lunch on Saturday. The restaurant has a nice, stylish interior and we were greeted as soon as we walked though the door, despite it being very busy. The service at first was very quick and efficient. We both went for the steak sandwich and we both found the steak very chewy and gristly, not a good cut of meat. It also seemed a bit thick to have on a sandwich, perhaps a thinner sandwich steak would have been better. I would have given this feedback to the waitress if she had asked if everything was OK when she collected the plates, but she didn't, even though I had left 1/2 of my sandwich. Once we had been served our coffees at the end of the meal the service seemed to stop, and we spent what seemed like ages trying to get someones attention for the bill, even though the restaurant was now quiet. Overall I found the food a bit of a let down and the overall experience average to poor. I won't be rushing back, especially when Cheltenham has so many good places to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    54
    29
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We called in here recently on a swift trip to Cheltenham. It was very full as it was a Monday which is popular due to being "50% off" day. The food was hot, plentiful and adequate - my chicken pie was delicious but the chips were warm and a bit soggy. The most annoying thing though was that we sat near the kitchen door which for some reason banged and scraped every time it opened and closed - which it obviously did constantly. It was awful and needs sorting out. So tip - avoid kitchen side of restaurant if you have a choice (we didn't as it was so full). Overall though - good quick meal and we'll go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mommajools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I was here with 10 other friends and we had rounds of cocktails and drinks . The atmosphere was great the bar person was helpful and did a good job. Over all clean and tidy place , would go back to have food too.

Helpful?
Thank BardayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Expected much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had a terrible fish and chip lunch here. I left most of it, which to be fair, the waitress spotted and offered myself and my guest a free coffee to compensate. Good service, poor food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheltholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really surprised, lovely place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Although small on the outside, inside it was lovely. Waiter service and after a while we decided to have a snack which was delivered quickly piping hot. Usual Slug and Lettuce set up and it seemed quite popular with tourists and locals alike.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank georgina_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing