We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Rajdoot Tandoori

Rajdoot Tandoori
Ranked #17 of 124 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had been to the Sundial Theatre to see a show and had no knowledge of the area so jumped into a taxi and asked to be dropped at an Indian Restaurant.

The food was very good indeed as was the service.

Would recommend the starter platter for two.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dills405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fairly good”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Did not book on a Saturday night. Not busy early on, but busy later. Food very good. Service fine. Ambiance not brilliant; a bit 1970's, prices a little on the expensive side for an Indian restaurant, but otherwise good value given the quality of the food. Overall, average to good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BulldogT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good tasty food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Came here for a work meal with 15 colleagues. Our table was ready when we arrived and we were promptly invited to move to our table. We were not rushed but we're given enough time for its all to make our choices.

Despite the size of our group they got all our meals out in reasonable time.

My Chicken Jalfrezi was and I would definitely be gap to make a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in the south”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I came here with my family from up north Scotland where we have nice Indian restaurants. We came to this restaurant through recommendations we got from the pubs we were drinking at and I have to say it was magnificent. The staff were nice and helpful, very welcoming. We were talking to one waiter and he said they were open for 30+ years with same owner and chef who are brothers, now that's amazing. The food was very tasty, The lamb was tender and the Tandoori king prawn was sizzling. We asked for it to be spicy and it sure was. We will be back again before we go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tammmu122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Typical high street Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a good example of a standard Indian restaurant . The food is as described but uninspiring. The kitchen is afraid of seasoning and instilling flavour. The chicken vindaloo , the benchmark of an Indian restaurant played safe and was not the fierce pungency it should have. Even the addition of lime pickle would have assisted the balance of spice and sour but there wasn't any.......Even the mixed tandoori starter had none of the aroma of a tandoori mix of spices and the charring of the tandoor....it was all absent..The surroundings were good but do you go to a restaurant for surroundings or good food? In this instance the food lost......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onetravelsdoesntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajdoot Tandoori also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Rajdoot Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing