We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's gone bust”
Review of Le Spa at Stratton Place - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Spa at Stratton Place
Attraction details
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“It's gone bust”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Le Spa is no more, it is a dead Spa, rigourmortis has set in. It went into administration two months ago. Don't go.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CotswoldsSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“.....have a tear in my eye”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have never been so sad about a building being closed down. It is such an utter shame. I am still in shock. It would have worked out so much better if there had have been even one new manager who completely dedicated themselves to getting Le Spa back on it's feet. The place had and still had so much potential. I really hope that someone with the financial backing and passion for the spa comes in at the right moment to restore Le Spa to it's former glory. It is still not too late to get the trust instilled back in their customers and turn over a new leaf. I am sure that all the members missed it so much and realise how fantastic it could be. Please bring Le Spa back x

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Star_123478956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont stay there”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

booked to stay 2 nights, first night we were kept awake by a loud snoring noise coming from the room next door this went on untill 8.00 next morning.we complained at reception and were told no bedroom was next door to our room,on investigation it was a laundry room with a member of staff sleeping in there.we saw the person come out spoke to the receptionist who was very apologetic and agreed to a refund with no problem,she could not do this herself so we left expecting the refund to be sorted within a few days ,sadly after repeated phone calls and emails followed by a letter we still have not been reimbursed for our terrible nights stay ,on reflection the hotel was in need of serious leadership as no one seemed to have a clue what was going on .do not stay in this hotel

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Le Spa has closed down!”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Sadly Le Spa has ceased trading as from 4th July, the place is locked up and railings put across the entrance so you cannot drive in. They have gone bankrupt allegedly. I for one are very sad to hear this as I was a member and used the swimming pool several times a week and will miss the cosiness and convenience of the place. I have taken visitors in for a day spa and lunch and always had good service. RIP Le Spa!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank hurstyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad treatment and after 1 month of complaining still no call back!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

shocking treatments...shocking customer service and an overall mockery of the term "Rest & Relaxation day"...1 solid MONTH of complaining and today i finally get an email stating:

"Your email regarding your visit to Le Spa on 14 May has been passed to the Board of Directors of Le Spa for their consideration. The Board meeting will be held on 1 July 2011 and you should receive their reply within 7 days of this meeting."

Simply NOT acceptable and i will be taking this to trading standards.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lolsmum0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Spa at Stratton Place also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing