We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Cirencester restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Beaujolais

Le Beaujolais
Ranked #67 of 125 Restaurants in Cirencester
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Wonderful Cirencester restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The genuine french cuisine is delicious, with generous portion sizes and good value for money too. There is a lot of choice, from different menus and so all tastes are catered for. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble! Great restaurant in Cirencester, will definitely be returning with family and friends :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbcirenfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    23
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a little piece of france”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

this is one of our favorite restaurants, as we are local we visit at least once a month and are never disappointed with the food or service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiametta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“French Cuisine?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I had the worse meal I've ever been served in a restaurant. The starter Eggs Benedict was awful, a miniscule covering of cold tasteless hollandaise. The main course confit du canard, swimming in a colourless tasteless liquid, was disgusting, the skin of the duck was soggy, it sat on a bed of haricot and red beans. My complaint re the presentation and taste was met with a condescending lecture on confit du canard. The desert was even worse I ordered tart tatin, what I got was a soggy apple pie, certainly not caramelised. I had ordered three courses that I had previously enjoyed on many occasions, confit du carnard and tart tatin being probably my favourite French dishes, I was very disappointed by the extremely poor quality of cooking.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Le Beaujolais, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
When i spoke to the guest it was clear that he hadnt read the menu, we serve our Confit du Canard on a Bean based broth, asking if we had forgotten the vegetables and potatoes clearly shows they did not know what they were ordering, no amount of courtesy was going to change his mind, i am sad to know you did not appreciate our attempts at helping you to enjoy your meal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food but disappointed with the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had a three course menu, the food was excellent, very tasty and hot. However, we were not impressed with the service, not offered a drink when we first sat down. When we ordered the mains no-one asked if we would like any sides, we may have ordered extra if offered. Had to ask a couple of times for water and a bottle of red wine, when Almanac was ordered, Calvados was given. Felt service was lack-lustre and we could have been sold more over the evening. We probably would not go back which was a shame as the food did not reflex the rest of the experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Le Beaujolais, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us 100% we endeavour to make sure that all our guests have the same experience and we pride ourselves on our customer service, please do not hessitate to contact us for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place lacking something”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

had an ok meal here.. not amazing but fine.. is missing something as the decor is great

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank walkerwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Beaujolais also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Le Beaujolais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing