We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for a drink and some nibbles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“nice place for a drink and some nibbles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

After walking around cirencester for an hour or so we thought we would go to the bear pub but found it to be dirty and shabby so we walked back into town and spotted the fleece. What a pleasent place for a drink and some nibbles. Very friendly and helpful staff. The nibbles were very reasonabley priced and filling. Sorry to say the drinks were expensive to say the least. £10.00 for a beer and a whiskey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback – I’m glad that you were pleased to stumble upon us during your recent trip to Cirencester, and that the staff were so welcoming towards you. Our beers and spirits start from around £3.60, and we are proud to offer a wide range including premium brands. Our prices are quite competitive in the local area, but we hope this won’t put you off visiting us again the next time you are in Cirencester.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    201
    94
    44
    27
See reviews for
113
291
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surreymaria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

The fleece is a very nice hotel The care park is quite difficult to find it is not sign posted and is just a space at the back of the hotel which can sometimes be hidden by parked cars.
That is not a moan, just information.
The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The food was very nice, some of the items were quite expensive. There is not a huge choice for veggies.
The rooms were very nice,the power shower was lovely, no bath but that was not an issue for us.
myself and my daughter took my elderly uncle for a short break away there. When we booked we explained what we were doing and the hotel upgraded him from a single room to a superior double room at no extra charge.
A lovely hotel and i would stay there again, a good central location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback – I’m pleased to hear that the staff here at the Fleece were so helpful, and gave you the warm ‘Fleece’ welcome we are proud to offer every day.
Unfortunately we were not blessed with a large car park, however all of our staff have a great local knowledge and are more than happy to help you find the best alternative if our car park should be full. We should also address the issue of signage, and make sure that our guests are able to find our car park as easily as possible.
We’re pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back the Fleece again soon

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

stayed one night really lovely and spacious double room and clean view of the quaint little high street
Endless choice for breakfast and hospitality restaurant linked to the hotel has outstanding food as well

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puertorico123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you so much for your comments – it’s wonderful to hear that you are pleased with the refurbishment of our hotel. We know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we aim to set you up for a day exploring the Cotswolds. We hope to see you here at the Fleece again soon!

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I have eaten twice here, both very enjoyably, since the acquisition and during the refurbishment, the latter being now almost completed and limited mostly to external work. We were very pleased on this most recent occasion to have the opportunity to stay overnight sampling a recently finished very well presented room.
Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed in a welcoming bar with well kept real ales, followed by an excellent evening meal with a decent winelist and in the morning a very good breakfast also. A definite key to the experience was the very good service from a young, enthusiastic and professional team.
The location in the centre is ideal for all the attractions of Cirencester, (the Corinnium Museum is a particular gem), and Cirencester itself is well placed within 20-30 minutes drive of many of the attractions of the Cotswolds.
Return visits will definitely follow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you are happy with the refurbishment. We pride ourselves on offering not just great food service, but a great selection of ales and wines too – and it’s lovely to read your comments on all of these things! We hope you will be back soon to continue exploring the Cotswolds.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had an evening meal here but didn't stay. The restaurant was busy and some of the diners were local - usually a good sign. There was a good selection of food at competitive prices. The waiting staff were efficient,helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation – we pride ourselves on offering great food and service, and it’s wonderful to hear that you were welcomed with a service I know we offer everyday.
We look forward to seeing you at the Fleece again soon.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fleece on a short break to celebrate a birthday. The hotel has a great location in the centre of Cirencester. It is an old building with lots of character and a refreshing change from the modern soulless hotels we usually stay in. Given it's age the layout might not suit everyone and the bare wooden floors which can be quite noisy. We had a "superior" room which was excellent and well worth the extra money.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and reasonable.

The hotel was undergoing renovation when we were there (we knew about this before we booked) and as a result the public areas and car parking were restricted.

It would be nice to go back after the renovations and confirm our belief that it will be a 5.

Room Tip: We did not see the ordinary rooms but the superior room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johno144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback – it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have to agree – it is definitely worth upgrading to one of our Feature Rooms, especially when you have something to celebrate!
Having read your lovely comments, I am very pleased to let you know that we have recently had our AA inspection, and we have been awarded with a 5* Inn status!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Thwaites took the place over last year and so there is a lot of building and renovation work going on but it is a beautiful building in a superb location and the staff are all lovely.

Our room would have been superb. It was light and airy, very well decorated and had a fabulous walk-in shower / wet-room. The history book in the room showing old photos of The Fleece was also a nice touch. Being at the back of the hotel, it should also have been very quiet.

However, the builders were working in the rear courtyard while we were there and put duckboards down to walk on. As the staff and workers arrived each morning from 6.30 onwards, it was like having clog dancers outside the room followed by the builders' dawn chorus. When asked the first morning if we'd slept well, we mentioned this only to hear 'Oh I know, we'll be glad when they've gone.'

I think when the hotel continues to charge full rate, then guests should expect the best. A complimentary bottle of wine or discount off a future visit in recognition of the guests' forebearance would have been very much appreciated.

That said, it is a lovely hotel and the improvements are making it even more impressive. We would definitely go there again - assuming the builders have moved out by then!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I was pleased you enjoyed the hotel and your room during your recent stay with us, and my sincere apologies for the disturbances experienced due to the building works. Although there is a ‘long term’ gain from it all, I understand it is intrusive to our guests. Of course we would love the opportunity to welcome you back, once all the work is complete, please contact me directly, so I can make sure you are looked after, and given the opportunity to ‘raise a glass’ with you to the completed works.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
The Fleece At Cirencester Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing