We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too noisy.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece at Cirencester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too noisy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Location 10, staff 10, breakfast 10. But so noisy, 95 pound I would expect at least double glazing. We were shattered when we arrived but could not sleep until the bar closed. Premier inn for us next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielhpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, its great to see you were impressed by the hotel, staff and the breakfast.
I am really sorry you were unable to sleep due to the noise. We would love to have double glazing, but as a listed building, we are unable to change the windows due to planning constraints. We do have rooms at the back of the hotel, away from the road and the bar, so please let us know next time you are staying, and we can allocate a quiet room for you.
I really hope we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    199
    93
    41
    27
See reviews for
113
288
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for one night recently and found the young waiting staff excellent and very attentive. We paid for a medium sized room at £101 which was fine.....had a fabulous breakfast included the next morning. Then when we came to leave we were charged £3 for parking. I was very annoyed, not at the price, but the principle. We were not told about this extra charge initially and felt it a touch insulting after spending a substantial amount on the room. A shame as it tainted my experience so although a charming hotel....the little things like the unnecessary parking charges just make the hotel appear petty. When I queried the charge the staff member merely shrugged and look embarrassed. We won't return to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinniePoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel, and the breakfast.
As a town centre hotel, parking is at a premium, and we do make a small charge for the facility which are explained on our website and confirmation emails, that said, you should have been informed on check in that there would be an additional charge for the use of it, so there were no surprises in the morning. I have spoken with the team, to ensure we are clear with our guests moving forwards.

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaksey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Six of us ate here last night ( Friday 6th July ) there's nothing bad to say about the Fleece. There are plenty of friendly, helpful staff. The surroundings since the hotel was refurbished, are superb! Chic, modern and cosy. Our meal in the main restaurant was top quality with service to match. Chilled out music played in the background which enhanced the already great atmosphere. My wife and I now come to the Fleece regularly and have never been disappointed. Give it a go, you won't regret it !

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joneseyoaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review, and lovely comments about our newly refurbished hotel. I’m pleased to hear that the team welcomed you in such a warm way – and I know they will enjoy reading your comments too! We love the atmosphere here at the Fleece, and it’s great to know that you do too. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best wishes,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We'd booked a weekend at Badminton Horse trials back in January....but then it was cancelled just days before due to the floods. However, we didn't cancel our booking at The Fleece and enjoyed a very happy birthday weekend there with family and good friends. Our room and our daughters' room were beautifully decorated, had comfortable beds and were spotlessly clean. We had a problem with one of our blinds, but a handyman with his stepladder was sent and all was sorted out within minutes. We had a good walk at Westonbirt Arboretum then stayed in at the hotel for our evening meal in the restaurant. Tasty food and good service and we were last to leave the restaurant, so a lovely evening. The 'breakfast bar' next morning was well stocked and the cooked breakfast good too. Have already recommended The Fleece to friends and we'd definitely like to return to this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
It was such a shame that Badminton was cancelled this year, but we’re really glad that you came to Cirencester anyway, and that the team looked after you so well. Thank you for recommending us to your friends, and we hope to see you here again next year for the Horse Trials (with better weather hopefully!)

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We chose to listen to the favourable reviews of The Fleece and were not disappointed. We spent the evening in house, with starters, mains, desserts and cheese, all very tasty. The service was excellent, the staff were very attentive yet unobtrusive the only fault was that they had run out of port!
The room was lovely if a little warm even with the windows open, some may not enjoy the church bells but we did and suspect that any establishment in the centre of Cirencester would be in earshot. They were very accommodating when we asked to leave our car a little longer after check out. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely review – I’m pleased to read that you received such warm hospitality that I know the team offer every day. It’s also great to hear that you enjoyed Cirencester, it’s such a lovely setting with plenty of character – including the church bells! We look forward to seeing you here again soon, and next time we’ll try to make sure we have enough port in stock!

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nice rooms, huge bed, cosy and comfortable.
We did have the family suite.
Restaurant was nice and breakfast great (full english breaky!)
Very central location.
Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Review your room first and ensure it is not near the stairs as it could be noisy. Go for a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabbruzzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manger at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I’m really pleased to read your feedback on your stay with us in June, and that you all enjoyed the family room (and breakfast!). We pride ourselves on having such a friendly team, and we all hope to see you and the girls again next time you come back to visit Cirencester.

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Fleece a couple of months ago when the renevations were in full swing - it is great to read that they are finished now and we really look forward to staying there again. We had one of the newly renovated rooms which was absolutely spotless and fully equipped and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast every morning was excellent - a great selection and the hot food options were really good too (we didn't get to try evening meals or lunches). All the staff we met were wonderful - very friendly and helpful with the parking options which other reviewers have mentioned below - damn those 15th century town planners for not having the foresight to think of 21st century requirements for overnight storage of personal conveyance appliances! Joking aside, the parking is the one drawback that the inn's location has, but the option to park in the neighboring car park with the permit is a good solution. We didn't find our room noisy but we weren't overlooking the main town square or the kitchens. Like all these old inns, geeting up and down stairs will be an issue for the less able, but assistance to move luggage is available.
We love Cirencester as a town and we love the area - with the newly re-furbished inn (with some great beers on tap), we're really pleased that we now also have a great place to stay too. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Although parking in Cirencester can be a bit tricky, we are lucky to have permits for a long stay car park, which does make our situation easier as you have mentioned! And we also have a brilliant team who are always more than happy to assist with luggage or anything else that you need. It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will be back soon to see the completed Fleece!

Best wishes
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
The Fleece At Cirencester Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing