We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fleece at Cirencester
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside House(Cirencester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnsley House(Barnsley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
274
234
107
47
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
234
107
47
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharacter roomcar parkmarket placeeggs benedictold buildinghigh streetlovely atmospherelovely hotellunch timecentre of townno liftthe pubstandard roomvery pleasant stayfish and chipsbooked a tablestayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed here a few times on business, but not for a few years until I stayed the night before a charity bike ride leaving from Cirencester the day after. The hotel has benefited from a recent refurbishment, which has made the public areas a lot more welcoming. We upgraded to an execuctive room, which was huge and brilliantly appointed. The staff were excellent, warm and friendly and even provided us with food after the kitchen had closed. The only thing that has stopped me giving this a 5 star rating for the stay is simply the lack of parking. There are 7-8 really tight spaces at the rear, which you'd struggle to park anything bigger than a Smart Car in. It meant that we had to park in a public carpark about 300 yards from the hotel. Other than that, can't fault it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fleece. As a 400 year old grade-listed coaching inn, our car park can be a little tight because it was originally designed for horses! However we are glad that you were able to make use of the many local car parks around Cirencester and that our friendly staff made your stay an enjoyable one. Whether for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Canestra - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Chose this hotel based on its TA reviews and the 5 star rating.
On arrival we had to drag our suitcase through a packed pub for all to see and then drag it up stairs as there is no lift. We had to park the car on the high street and as it was Saturday night we did not have to pay parking on the sunday. The pub car park for residents is very small and cramped and just enough for approx 10 cars. You have to park your car with care so that you can get your car out the next day.
Our bedroom was nice and spacious but the only issue is the noise from outside; there was a little area outside our window where 8 blokes where playing cards for money and making a lot of noise whilst drinking. This went on until 11.30pm. Then we got to sleep.
There was times where other guests just let their bedroom doors slam so maybe the management could get maintenance to look at the door "self" returns.
The food here is very good and the staff are all very efficient with an average age of 18 years old.
Nothing is too much trouble for them and all have been well trained.
Its not cheap but then it has a quality element everywhere throughout the pub. Breakfast is equally well presented and there are just enough items to choose from.
Would I come again...probably. You shouldn`t be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Fleece. As our hotel is a 400 year old listed building, we are unfortunately restricted in options when it comes to installing a lift and the size of the car park. However we believe this just adds to the character of the building, and our staff are always happy to assist with moving luggage whenever needed. We are delighted that the friendliness of our staff and the quality of the food on our menus made your stay an enjoyable one.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Canestra - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Fleece is ideally situated in the middle of Cirencester and really well placed for seeing the town. The rooms are well decorated and appointed and we had asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel which met all our expectations. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the high point of our stay was the evening meal. The food was truly outstanding both in terms of the quality of the ingredients and also the way it was cooked. Highly recommended

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kentraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Fleece. We are glad that our staff were able to make your stay an enjoyable one, and Stephen our head chef takes great pride in the dishes on offer so I was delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Canestra - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stopped by at cirencester for breakfast in the morning after staying in the cotswolds for the night.
Came with my uncle and he had the kipper while i had egg Benedict, service was quite slow but more than made up by a hearty smile. My egg benedict was honestly quite disappointing as the hollandaise sauce was in excess, however the Kipper was honest to god the best I've ever had and is highly recommended. Overall quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Godwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our breakfast. As a 5 star Inn we take great pride in the food on offer, so we welcome your constructive feedback and apologise that the Eggs Benedict was not up to our usual standards. However Giles our breakfast chef was delighted that you enjoyed the kippers and looks forward to making them again for you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Canestra - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I was here for the ostensibly unruly wedding referred to below. I have to disagree with JohnG, whose review is inaccurate and who was extremely rude to other guests. We were having drinks at 11.30 (shock horror) when this cantankerous octogenarian came thundering down the stairs to try to initiate a fight with a 60 year old man. We would have been happy to keep the noise down, had JohnG asked, but he insisted on trying to start a fight instead. Shame.

Lovely hotel though.

The staff were excellent, as was the breakfast. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. As long as long as JohnG isn't there!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AndyFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_0f_Character, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fleece. Despite any other incidents which occurred with other guests, we are delighted that the hearty breakfast and friendliness of our staff mean you still have fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Canestra - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews