We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beating heart of a vibrant rural community”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Fleece Inn stands adjacent to the market place at the epi-centre of Cirencester, a quintessentially English rural market town serving an area which conforms fully to the rural idyll.
And how well The Fleece fulfills its role as the geographic and social hub of the town. Even in mid-morning the place was almost as busy as at closing time the night before!
Perfectly located for guests with an interest in retail therapy - the options in that department close by are many and varied - the location also makes the establishment a 'go to' favourite for ladies who take coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and all the other pleasantries that are to be enjoyed when the ironing has been completed.
For an overnight visitor, the hotel was perfect in every detail, although for a Yorkshireman, the three-figure tariff was something of an indulgence that put 'value for money' under scrutiny.
However, not a penny was begrudged as the stay lived up fully to all my hopes. Efficient, friendly staff, a charming bedroom decorated with real style, a top-class dinner and decent breakfast all combined to produce a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarefulYorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your outstanding review. As a Yorkshireman you may be interested to know that after a short renovation, we will be re-opening The Judges Lodgings in the heart of York where you'll be able to find the same standard of food, friendliness and charm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

The only negatives I can think of are: the toilet was quite cold (no heater) and the kitchen was quite noisy. We were immediately on top of the kitchen, so I guess that's just something to expect, but it was quite annoying at 6 in the morning.
We stayed in The Fleece December 24-27, 2013. We had a great experience with the staff, rooms were clean and well appointed. A bit odd checking in at the bar, but nothing we couldn't handle. Perhaps if they mentioned that you would have to check in at the bar. But, not a big deal. They have a great morning breakfast, absolutely delicious! In fact, it was quite busy every meal we were there. We also ate Christmas eve dinner at The Fleece. Thank goodness we made reservations! Great Christmas Eve dinner! Phenomenal.
The bartender was very nice to us Christmas day. We were late getting in, the bar was closed, but we really wanted to celebrate Christmas night with each other and a bottle of wine. Even though the bar was closed, they were willing to sell us a bottle for our room. They were very nice about it.
Fabulous location in the center of town and the center of the Cotswolds. Would definitely stay there again. We will try to stay in the room that I believe Charles I stayed in. Would have loved more info! Maybe they had it and I just didn't see it.
Overall, I definitely suggest staying at The Fleece.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room at the end. I think it may be room 14?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMann83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay here over Christmas. Please accept my apologies for the cold bathroom; the 400 year old building does require some care and attention, so we strive to keep it warm and to keep everything in working order. On your next stay you should ask about Room 1, which is one of our Feature rooms. It was stayed in by King Charles 2nd (before he was King) on 11th September 1651!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just come back from a lovely weekend at The Fleece to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We really enjoyed the atmosphere, food, room etc.
The staff were all young, but very pleasant and friendly.
We'd definitely recommend it as a base for exploring the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am really glad you enjoyed your anniversary weekend here. The Fleece is certainly very popular as a base with people like yourself who want to explore the Cotswolds, and further afield to Bath or Oxford... or even just to wander around the beautiful old market town here on our doorstep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for just one night in January.

Arrived early so room wasn't quite ready. However, this gave us the opportunity to enjoy food in the restaurant - the blade of beef with mash - out of this world!!!

Staff were all super friendly and attentive from the moment we walked in.

Room was super clean and comfortable, modern yet respectful of the ye olde world feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at The Fleece. The Blade of Beef is a real favourite on our menu. If you are in the area again you should drop in for one of our famous Sunday Roasts, served with a huge Yorkshire Pudding and all the trimmings. I’d recommend phoning ahead to book a table though, they are extremely popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights mid- week
Great welcome form staff who are all very good
Had a late meal in the bar good choice of food and great beers
The room was large with a very big bed
The bathroom was a little dated would be my only comment
Breakfast was lovely - though served in the bar area
The lounge area is very nice with the open fire
They have a very small car park - which they charge £3 per night.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We had an impromptu weekend away here and loved it. The hotel is very nice and located in a great town if you're keen on lazy wandering afternoons looking around independent shops and having a glass of wine or two in the local drinkeries!!!

The room (character double) was very nice although not as big as I'd expected. We don't need a big room though so it was fine and hey, what do you expect in a small character hotel. The bed was comfortable, shower a bit on the weak side but all in all very nice and comfortable.

Dinner in the bar was brilliant. Food was very nice, the staff were very helpful and attentive. The wine is good value at c. £5 a glass. Refreshing price per glass!! (No pun intended). Open fire and truly british pub feel - loved it!!

Breakfast was perfect. The bar becomes the breakfast room and is done very well. Table service and not rushed.

We have looked for a 'regular' retreat for sometime and now we've found it. Great place - highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your last stay with us. The whole team love hearing that their hard work has made someone’s visit a pleasurable one. As you plan on staying again you should consider joining our Affinity Scheme, where you can build up points on each stay to earn free nights across Thwaites Inns of Character.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Great spot. Reliably good food. I would recommend the posh fish finger sandwich. The service isn't always brilliant but that doesn't deter my family or friends or colleagues!

Whether you fancy a lunch with your girlfriends over a bottle of prosecco, a quick bite or just a coffee I always choose The Fleece.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hatbat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are really pleased that you enjoy our homemade fish finger sandwiches - they certainly are very popular and very filling! Be sure to keep an eye out for the Prosecco deals we occasionally have available on Fridays too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
598 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,670 reviews
11.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
The Fleece At Cirencester Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing