We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I are regular visitors to Cirencester and we always try and stay at the Fleece Hotel [if they have a room!!] because we absolutely love it there.
This trip was no exception and the hotel remains the place 'to be' in Cirencester [and with the Royal Agricultural University holding it's graduation the week we were in town, the place was even more abuzz with excitement].
Our evening meal in the Stableyard Restaurant was very good and the bar offers an excellent service.
Our only criticisms:
1. No towels or milk in the room on our arrival.
2. The breakfast arrangements which appear rather shambolic...lots of staff politely milling about doing very little [they were probably in need of some management if I'm honest] ... we waited 20 minutes for our breakfast to be offered...there were no glasses for the OJ nor butter on the main buffet island; there was no cutlery on the table and we were not offered a refill of tea despite the teapot being small for two persons...the second morning was a little better but they 'need to do better' for the prices they're charging...still go back though :)...we're hooked.

Room Tip: The character rooms are worth the supplement if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate any comments which can help us to improve and keep us as your favourite Cotswold hotel. Another tip we learnt from the Royal Agricultural University’s graduation weekend was to keep a steady supply of safety pins to help our guests with their button holes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to The Fleece a couple of times now and have been impressed on both occasions. The pub is very nicely decorated and the staff are friendly. We had the Fleece beef burger both times as it was quite simply, AMAZING! Cooked to perfection and presented in an exciting way. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank TempleRally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The burger is a favourite of mine too. Have you tried the chicken burger as well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst the room is "ok" the service clearly isnt
Tea and coffee in room are a dismal selection with no milk!!!
The biscuit was open - disgusting
The shower curtain hadn't been replaced in god knows how long
Breakfast was the biggest let down.
I went down at 8:30 and no fruit salad left, no pastries left and no orange juice left
Most of the staff gave impression of not caring or already not going the extra bit you would expect of a service establishment

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank esf666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great service, nice breakfast, nice place to drink a beer in th evening (indoor patio terrace or in te bar with open doors)
The rooms are very nice, only disadvantage is perhaps the lack of airco in the rooms
(which is perhaps difficult to install since its a very traditional building with history!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BartFromWaregem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, had a hearty breakfast and enjoyed a beer on the patio in the evening. Air con is not needed here most of the year, you just happened to visit during a heatwave!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but popped in to feed the family on a Friday at 5pm. From food to drinks everything had to be chased between two and five times even though, as you would expect so early, the restaurant was fairly empty. You can't fault the food or ingredients though, fantastic - if front of house were to get their act together it would be a top spot in the area

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for making me aware of the service problems you experienced during your visit, I will be sure to use your comments in our next staff training session. Our Head Chef Stephen was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Usually, I hate writing poor reviews - however in the hopes of providing constructive criticism to hotel staff to better the potential of this hotel, I will.

On entrance, it was a struggle to carry luggage through the long, thin, windy passages to the rooms and I'm confused how anyone with a disability would stay here. Once we arrived at the room, I wanted to take a shower but we had no soap - I called down on 3 occasions asking for soap and it took just over an hour to arrive :/.

We decided to eat at the 'Michelin recommended' restaurant attached to the hotel, however this was a total disappointment and coming from someone who has spent time working as a chef in actual Michelin starred restaurants, this sadly is not ready for that title of recommendation. Our food all arrived at different times - my steak (which I was recommended) arrived cold and overcooked and so I sent it back and the drinks and water arrived after we began eating.

I would say that for the price of this hotel - which was enough to stay at a 5 star Hilton or otherwise in London - it was a disappointment stay, with the rooms being unbearably hot during the night :(. I hope to see a more functional hotel on my relocation to Cirencester :). All the best

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Due to the age of the building and the number of stairs, we are always willing to help with luggage. I’m sorry no-one appears to have offered assistance on this occasion. As for the other problems you encountered, I would love the opportunity to discuss these with you if you could contact us with your telephone number.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Called in to have sunday morning brunch 10.45. No grill menu after 10.30, however other side of the menu contained bacon, sausage,or egg sandwich, egg of your choice on a muffin(more later!), eggs benedict and some pastries. Can't have egg, sausage and bacon on the same plate though after 10.30am! We chose poached egg on a muffin. Waited over 40mins, two people next to us served before us despite ordering after us. Standard of food poor. Egg on muffin was half a muffin each with the smallest poached egg in the world on top, people next to us ordered bacon sandwich, thick white bread with a few pieces of streaky bacon in between. Service was poor not very attentive and very very slow. At least they knocked our coffee and tea off the bill. Would not recommend at all. Such a shame as it looked inviting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
588 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,615 reviews
11.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range: £97 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
The Fleece At Cirencester Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing