We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch in the middle of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good lunch in the middle of town.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good Bistro atmosphere and an imaginative menu. You could choose many dishes as starter or main course size and price. My salt and pepper squid dish was excellent. Wife's crab linguine good. Good range of beer. Wrongly served a pint of Thwaites heavy duty 5.8% strength bitter but forgave them as it was so good (and meant the wife had to drive!).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Glad you enjoyed your lunch - and the 13 Guns ale! We always have a good selection of ales, some stronger than others :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    205
    95
    44
    27
See reviews for
113
298
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel, room, staff and breakfast. Stayed just the one night at short notice will go back for sure. The beer (real ale) was terrific without doubt. Would recommend for couples and the town has some great shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
As a brewery-owned Inn, we're delighted you enjoyed our ales, along with everything else about your stay. Next time you visit, we're a great base for exploring Bibury and Bourton-on-the-Water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I are regular visitors to Cirencester and we always try and stay at the Fleece Hotel [if they have a room!!] because we absolutely love it there.
This trip was no exception and the hotel remains the place 'to be' in Cirencester [and with the Royal Agricultural University holding it's graduation the week we were in town, the place was even more abuzz with excitement].
Our evening meal in the Stableyard Restaurant was very good and the bar offers an excellent service.
Our only criticisms:
1. No towels or milk in the room on our arrival.
2. The breakfast arrangements which appear rather shambolic...lots of staff politely milling about doing very little [they were probably in need of some management if I'm honest] ... we waited 20 minutes for our breakfast to be offered...there were no glasses for the OJ nor butter on the main buffet island; there was no cutlery on the table and we were not offered a refill of tea despite the teapot being small for two persons...the second morning was a little better but they 'need to do better' for the prices they're charging...still go back though :)...we're hooked.

Room Tip: The character rooms are worth the supplement if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate any comments which can help us to improve and keep us as your favourite Cotswold hotel. Another tip we learnt from the Royal Agricultural University’s graduation weekend was to keep a steady supply of safety pins to help our guests with their button holes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to The Fleece a couple of times now and have been impressed on both occasions. The pub is very nicely decorated and the staff are friendly. We had the Fleece beef burger both times as it was quite simply, AMAZING! Cooked to perfection and presented in an exciting way. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TempleRally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
The burger is a favourite of mine too. Have you tried the chicken burger as well?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst the room is "ok" the service clearly isnt
Tea and coffee in room are a dismal selection with no milk!!!
The biscuit was open - disgusting
The shower curtain hadn't been replaced in god knows how long
Breakfast was the biggest let down.
I went down at 8:30 and no fruit salad left, no pastries left and no orange juice left
Most of the staff gave impression of not caring or already not going the extra bit you would expect of a service establishment

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank esf666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great service, nice breakfast, nice place to drink a beer in th evening (indoor patio terrace or in te bar with open doors)
The rooms are very nice, only disadvantage is perhaps the lack of airco in the rooms
(which is perhaps difficult to install since its a very traditional building with history!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartFromWaregem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, had a hearty breakfast and enjoyed a beer on the patio in the evening. Air con is not needed here most of the year, you just happened to visit during a heatwave!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but popped in to feed the family on a Friday at 5pm. From food to drinks everything had to be chased between two and five times even though, as you would expect so early, the restaurant was fairly empty. You can't fault the food or ingredients though, fantastic - if front of house were to get their act together it would be a top spot in the area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleece C, Ricardo Canestra - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for making me aware of the service problems you experienced during your visit, I will be sure to use your comments in our next staff training session. Our Head Chef Stephen was pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece
The Fleece At Cirencester Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing