We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware room tariff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratton House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware room tariff”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Stratton House for 2 days for a wedding being held there at the weekend. This hotel used to be the place to go in its heyday, but is now in need of some TLC. The service and staff are helpful and friendly so no complainst there. The room was big enough and the bed was ok, but I would say the matressses need a bit of an update as I believe they are spring mattresses and you do hear them ping and creak. The decor of the room was a bit dated but clean. However the wardrobe smelt musty. I was shocked that 1 both towel was ripped and shredded at the ends, which for the price you pay is unacceptable. Now for the price, as a guest of the wedding we were told we would get 20% discount off the room rate. I looked on the internet and the price for a premior room on the day when booking 5 days in advance was £98.20 per day (I booked directly with the hotel on the same day). So with 20% discount that should have been £78.56. So to discover that the discounted rate was then £99 was a surprise. That means that full price would have been £118.80 per day. When I asked if that was correct, and what the tariff is, I was told the hotel has no tariff, and is whatever the price is on the day. I stay in many hotels all over Europe and would have to say that this hotel falls short in terms of what you get for the same or less money in hotels in Europe and London. I know the hotel is now under new ownership, so I do hope for the future that some much needed investment is made, as the location is perfect for exploring the Cotswolds. I also hope that they also introduce a published tariff. If I was to give any suggestions to the new owners then it would be when people are paying quite a high rate per day for a premier room then they should recieve a few little extras like a bottle of water, shampoo, flannels for washing, maybe a chocalate on the pillowcase, etc etc. Little things like that make a lot of difference if you want people to go away with the feeling that they would happily come back and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Firstly allow me to apologise for the bath towel not being in a satisfactory condition, I have spoken to housekeeping about this and we will look at why this happened. You are correct that the hotel has just been taken over by new owners and I am sure that investment in the hotel will happen in due course.
Your comments regarding the extras have been taken on board however at this moment we have no plans in place for this, however we will look at this when the time is right.
Regarding the tariff and the price you paid, we use a Best Available Rate system which will fluctuate according to how busy the hotel is. This rate does change daily and the discount rate for the wedding rooms would have depended on the allocation given to the Bride and Groom at the time of booking. If these allocated rooms are taken then the price will unfortunately rise. However that said we will look at this in due course to see that our customers recieve a fair price for their stay.
Once again thank you for your comments and I hope that a return visit to the hotel will see progress towards a better and brighter future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    200
    119
    57
    27
See reviews for
70
334
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was unsure about the hotel having read the mixed reviews but must say that I really liked the actual hotel. Yes, it is an old building and that just adds to its charms. Our room was really comfortable, clean and a really lovely size. Loved the fact that the coffee tables were old commodes!! Don't know if everybody would agree but we found them quirky. The hotel is well situated and in reach of many beautiful sites in the Cotswolds.
The big downside for us was the restaurant. 4 tables of seperate couples squashed together not giving any chance of a private conversation. Uncooked pastry on the goats cheese and tomato flans after a 35 minute wait for them. My husband not receiving his sweet until pointed out to the supervisor. Also noticed another table getting the wrong starters and gentleman next to us not getting the sweet that he had asked for. If the restaurant had been full, there might have been a little leniency given, but only about a third full. Luckily we were only charged for one main meal and the sweets were given as complimentary because of the problems. I would stay here again but would not eat in the restaurant - which I think is a great shame.

Room Tip: Back of the old part of the hotel have nice views across walled garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JillyLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Jilly,

Thank you for you comments on your recent stay. I am pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable and the hotel met to your satisfaction.
My apologies for the issues in the restaurant. This is an area we are currently developing and we need to ensure that the team are more customer friendly and understand the need to ensure that our customers are looked after and their requirements are met.
I do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.
I will ensure that the restaurant team are made aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has had mixed reviews, to say the least. I cannot know what experience others have had - all I can say is ours was a good one.
The building is a beautiful 300 yr old stone building with all the eccentricities that go with that - our bedroom was a fire exit. At least we would have been woken up by people charging through our room, having broken a glass panel to open our door. Also, the top of the fire escape made a lovely balcony from which we watched a beautiful sunset.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Generally the place was maintained pretty well, from what we saw, though it might not have been in perfect condition. But how many hotels of that age are? It has recently changed hands which must cause problems but I would not have guessed that - it seemed like a completely normal established hotel.
We had a good meal in the restaurant. The Manoir aux Quat' Saisons probably doesn't have anything to worry about but it costs many times more.
Our only complaint on that score was that the Eggs Benedict at breakfast were hard boiled - chef please note.
One other warning. There is no lift so if you are on the third floor like us it is up to you to lug your cases up there. Personally I look on that sort of thing as an opportunity for a mini workout.
All in all we thought it was super. If you don't want that sort of experience at their prices I would look for a Travelodge or something with a classy restaurant nearby, if that's possible.
If, however, you want something with a bit of character, you couldn't do better.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Max O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Max O,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I am in agreement with you that yes some areas do need a bit of tlc and the decor has character. The new owners have hinted at investment in the property and hopefully this will give us the chance to add those missing wow factors. That said the hotel does need to retain its country house feel. I do hope that as when any changes are made we see you back at the hotel to give us your views.
That said we are always delighted to offer assistance with luggage.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

my wife and i stayed one night in room 38. it was a large room with desk, small couch etc. we paid £70+ so its what you would get at a travel inn etc. decor was old fashioned but had its charm. the corridor outside smelt of paint, but the smell did not permeate the door, thank god. the internet was very slow and cut out at times. my main complaint is that the room was far too warm, we both woke up dehydrated and had difficulty sleeping due to the heat and the thick duvet. we turned off the radiators and opened the window but this didn't help much.
the sheets/pillow cases were clean but they had used too much bleach in the wash and you could smell it on the sheets, because too much bleach was used it caused the sheets to be itchy and dry, this made it harder to sleep.
we checked out in the morning and were told breakfast had stopped being served. at 9.30, when we were told it was until 11. we unfortunately stayed on a day that the clocks went back so effectively we lost an hour. the hotel did not make any exceptions on check out time or for breakfast.
the blonde lady who checked us in in the evening was very nice, but the dark haired lady who checked us out was cold and didn't even ask how our stay was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
KMiester,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I have taken on board all of the points raised and as such we are hoping to change linen suppliers very soon. The corridor had been painted the previous day and we were hoping that the smell would have dissapated sooner. My apologies for you not getting a warm check out and whilst yes you were late down in the morning and you were not able to get breakfast, (I can only assume this was because the restaurant had a busy turn around ready for lunch) however you should have been offered something even if it meant eating it in the lounge. I do not like my customers to leave with out having been fed as this is the last memory that they take away with them. please accept my apologies and I do hope that you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I visited Stratton House Hotel with some good friends today for afternoon tea (having found a deal on travel zoo). Thank goodness they were good friends so that firstly they will forgive me for the choice and secondly so the afternoon gave us some amusement and it is this amusement that drives me to award even one star.
Dated decor along the lines of a neglected residential home. Negligable cleanliness inside and such dirty tables outside that we didn't make the most of some rare sunshine. Slow service and the arrival of the food in dribs and drabs only served to further increase the dryness of the sanwiches and cake. The waitress dropping the glass of (warm and sweet) fizz everywhere wasn't really a problem but the second waitress questioning "Do you really need me to replace the table cloth" possibly was. The food was dreadful -processed and cheap.
Such as shame as the building, grounds and location hold so much potential and the staff although dreadful in their service seemed to mean well.
If your sense of humour is as dry as the cake you may draw some amusement from your visit but unfortunately that is all the experience has to recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank CirenNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Ciren Nicky,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent afternoon tea. I would like to apologise for it not being as pleasant as it should have been. The waitress as expressed her apologies for dropping the sparkiling wine and whilst accidents happen this should have been corrected without question.
I am sorry that the cakes were not to your liking. These are all produced in house and as we do many afternoon teas, they are made on a regular basis. We have been revising our sandwich offering to ensure it does not continue along the basic cheese and pickle line.
I am sorry that the decor was not to your liking, our new company are keen to invest in the hotel and I am sure that this is something they will look at.
I do hope that you will decide to return to us in the future and hopefully see the benefits of any future investment.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cirencester hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We fancied a change and this hotel was recommended to us. It was our treat for valentines day and overall We had a good experience , it was nice and relaxing and service was pleasant . The room was not as clean as I would like it to be , but that is just me being clean-freak.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Nicky,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel and we hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were given a voucher for Christmas for Forestdale Hotels & chose the Stratton House. We were greeted on Friday evening by a lovely blonde receptionist & promptly checked in. Over the weekend we had several requests (an iron, info, ordering taxis) & it never seemed like any bother.
We had breakfast on the Saturday, the bacon was disappointing, but we didn't go hungry.
The room decor is a bit dated but was comfortable. What looked like a power shower was more of a dribble with a gamble on the temperature but it was bearable.
On departure on the Sunday a different receptionist tried to get my boyfriend to pay the additional £20 Saturday supplement from our voucher which was paid before we arrived & she didn't believe him!
Overall it was pleasant, the weather was nice, & we had a nice view from the window

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Picklefifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Picklefifi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad that overall your stay was pleasant and my apologies if the receptionist on check out made you feel uncomfortable in anyway. They have been instructed to ensure that they check thoroughly all correspondence to ensure that we do not put our guests in an embarrassing situation.
On a positive note the hotel was recently taken over by a New company and we are excited to say that future investment in the hotel is very much on the cards.
I do hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
1.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
307 reviews
5.4 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
625 reviews
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
221 reviews
4.0 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Property: Stratton House Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stratton House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratton House Hotel is located on the outskirts of the Cotswold market town of Cirencester. The hotel is privately owned and seeks to offer you the best of both town and country house charm. We are in a great location for the town centre and the local motorway network, yet our elegant building and tranquil gardens make you feel you are 'away from it all'. We offer a superb restaurant and bar, 39 en-suite bedrooms, and excellent facilities for business meetings. We are also the perfect setting for your wedding or special celebration with a choice of function rooms, civil wedding licence and our specialist events co-ordinator. Our focus is on friendly service with that personal touch. Whether you are here for business or pleasure we want you to feel at home.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stratton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cirencester
Cirencester Best Western
Best Western Stratton Hotel
Stratton House Hotel Cirencester, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing