We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stratton House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NIce Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have read previous reviews about this hotel and they were very mixed...... yes the décor does need a bit of updating but did not take away from the rest of our stay. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Food was very tasty, it was a special evening to celebrate my partners birthday. The room was clean and had everything you needed. The only down fall was we felt that some music being piped round the hotel would have been nice. It was very quite when sitting in the lounge, felt you had to whisper lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Michaela,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Stratton House Hotel. We do have music that pipes into the lounge so unsure as to why this was not so.
I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    148
    105
    53
    25
See reviews for
58
263
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for b and b from 16 to 18 May 2014. We found the staff helpful and the breakfasts good. We were in room 11. This room is quiet and faces the garden but is long overdue for its total refurbishment. Its decoration is faded and furniture tatty. We liked the separate lounge and the garden is nice (although neglected).

Early on our first morning, the room service operative walked in to our bathroom while I was using it, without knocking. The door has no lock. For this to happen is an ABSLUTE DISGRACE. When I asked at Reception to see a manager in order to complain, I was told none was available.

So, if you enjoy being interrupted whilst using the toilet, Stratton House is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11; although quiet it is very scruffy.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank keithmaclennan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I have spoken to the member of staff concerned who has apologised profusely, they were also very embarrassed about the situation and has learnt a valuable lesson with regards to knocking and waiting for an answer. I am sorry I was not around to speak to you about the situation as I can totally understand your annoyance. Please accept our apologies for what was a silly error and rest assured this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cirencester hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend break at Stratton House. The double room (34) was of a good size and comfortable. Bath and shower both working fine. Good breakfast and evening meal gave value for money. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. It's also very well located for 'doing' the Cotswolds. OK, it is a bit dated with traditional lounge and bar but, for me, it provided real value for money and everyone was very friendly. You get what you pay for and the smiles are given for free.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Stratton House Hotel. It is always nice to know when our guests have enjoyed themselves.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

this hotel is very tired, needs a lot of attention everywhere!
The room was like going back to the seventies, most definitely needs renovating,the bar, the lounge etc.plus it has a lovely garden, but it doesn't look as if anyone maintains it.
The staff are pleasant and made us welcome and Cirencester is a lovely town, hope to go back there in the future, but I doubt if I will stay in Stratton House again.
We had a travelzoo voucher £89 DBB for two,perhaps we were expecting too much!

Room Tip: not sure about the rooms, it was quiet, but again, tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, We do value all of our customers and do take on-board any comments put forward. I agree that some areas of the hotel need a little modernisation, however that said we would not want to lose the character and charm of the Stratton House Hotel.
The gardens have been maintained this year by a team of professionals, however the wet weather that we suffered during the early part of the year made it difficult to do as much work as they would have liked.
I do hope that on your next visit to Cirencester you will give us another opportunity to look after you and make you feel relaxed and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I visited here to take my mother out. We've used it twice before but only because it is so local and easy access for an OAP. Both previous times have been less than average. I'll keep this short. The food was dreadful. The starter (deep fried mushrooms) inedible. Sunday roast dry and tasteless. Didn't bother with dessert.The mushroom had clearly been previously cooked, they were literally not able to be chewed. After trying 2, I opened up the rest and the content of the deep fry was just twisted gristly mush. I called the waiter, tall gangly bloke who just stared at me not knowing what to say. Eventually got offered another lot which I declined. I complained at the end of the meal and they deducted a measly £2.50 from the bill. I will never eat here again. See the pictures for the state of the mushrooms, the state of the disgusting wallpaper in the dining room, splattered with gravy and other liquids, and the uninspiring entry to the dining room. Eat here if you have no respect for your palate.

Room Tip: Dont go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beentheredonethatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Firstly, please allow me to apologise for the food recieved during your recent Sunday Lunch with us. I have spoken to my kitchen team and have made them aware of the upset caused. They have been asked to improve the menu offering and ensure that food that leaves the kitchen is edible and value for money.
The wallpaper in the restaurant is badly stained in some areas and this has been listed as part of the planned investment.
I do hope that you will change your mind and allow us the opportunity of ensuring you have a delicous and tasty meal that you will feel is value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

How many times do we complain about the modern characterless international hotel?
Well Stratton House, which was once part of Best Western, isn't that. This means it's a characterful and charming place to stay, in other ways it reminds us of the good things that make a stay in a modern hotel predictable, dull, routine but dependable.
The large period building is quite impressive. Its walled garden (onto which the restaurant looks) is delightful. The staff are exceptional .. an odd mix of locals of various ages and some not so local .. but without exception they were very keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
The hotel is however a bit like one of those grand Victorian era hotels at the English seaside, in need of some refurbishment (British understatement). The floors creek, the corridors have been designed by a fire safety officer and I'm not sure who decided on the bedroom wallpaper. But despite the decor we slept very well! Of course the room was clean albeit slightly scuffed in places.
Did we enjoy our stay? Yes we did. In truth I think we will remember this stay for much longer than so many I have spent in international chain hotels. Our memories will be fond ones. Lovely battered arm chairs in the lounge that you dropped into and were met with bit of a bump.
And value for money was excellent ...
As was the breakfast .. we opted for kippers .. as one should in an English hotel!
And the staff were always charming. And for that you could forgive for it not being a colour coordinated, modern, plastic hotel with uniformed and uniform staff.

Room Tip: Book dinner on arrival as their team need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensenfrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is so nice to read that we did something right. I agree that the hotel needs a little modernisation here and there but not too much as we love the character this hotel represents. We are not always everyones cup of tea however we are a country house hotel with charm. I look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future where a warm welcome will await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher - £89 DBB for two. Really do wish I'd read the reviews before booking. Firstly the signage on approach to the hotel needs improving as we drove right past the entrance without realising. Secondly and most importantly in our view the hotel bar needs a complete makeover. It's so unwelcoming - no local ales, no good choice of wine by the glass, bar food menu uninspiring and food unappetising when it comes. Decor, such as it is, is completely out of the period. It's crying out for panelling, comfy chairs, an open fire. It should be the hub of the hotel - instead it's as unwelcoming as a bus station waiting room. We stayed in the newer annexe; the bedroom was large and not uncomfortable but the decor there was straight out of the early 90s. By now we weren't expecting much from the dinner or breakfast but, in fact, both were more than acceptable. The staff were pleasant and friendly but young and we saw no-one in obvious authority. Local people we spoke to in town said that the hotel had recently been taken over and were all hoping for it to be refurbished. All we can say is "Hurry Up!!"

Room Tip: Can't help here as we didn't see any of the rooms in the older part of the hotel. Our son a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I can totally understand your frustrations regarding the bar area and I am sure that this is something that the company will have looked at during their recent visit. There are plans to invest in the hotel and we hope that this will enhance our guests stay. I do hope that you will revisit us when next travelling to Cirencester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
1.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
5.4 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Property: Stratton House Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stratton House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratton House Hotel is located on the outskirts of the Cotswold market town of Cirencester. The hotel is privately owned and seeks to offer you the best of both town and country house charm. We are in a great location for the town centre and the local motorway network, yet our elegant building and tranquil gardens make you feel you are 'away from it all'. We offer a superb restaurant and bar, 39 en-suite bedrooms, and excellent facilities for business meetings. We are also the perfect setting for your wedding or special celebration with a choice of function rooms, civil wedding licence and our specialist events co-ordinator. Our focus is on friendly service with that personal touch. Whether you are here for business or pleasure we want you to feel at home.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stratton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cirencester
Cirencester Best Western
Best Western Stratton Hotel
Stratton House Hotel Cirencester, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing