We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to watch?”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One to watch?”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Needed a room at short notice and was recommended this Inn, not busy on a Friday night was slightly worrying. We had a room in the annex opposite the pub, it was clean and tidy, everything in place that you would expect. Did notice the lock on the door to the building where are rooms were had been given a severe kicking. Breakfast was served in the pub, food was good, service could have been better. Will try it again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uktreehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    62
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
105
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had lunch at this pub before a local wedding and the entire experience was fantastic. The staff were charming and friendly and the atmosphere had a lovely country pub feel. We were a group of ten and were seated and served very quickly with the minimum of fuss. The food itself was fantastic and the juicy burger I had honestly rates as one of the best burgers I have had for a long long time. We'll definitely be back and hopefully take advantage of the accommodation on offer too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend mid September. We wanted to stay in the Cirencester area due to beautiful scenery and after lots of looking chose this hotel. And I'm so glad we did!
The hotel is beautiful to look at from the outside with a secure car park to the back. Our room was very clean, the bath and shower spotless, and the room was very pretty. Had everything we needed inc hairdryer, water in room, shampoo/condition/shower gel, lovely double bed, cupboard to hang up clothes, tv, phone etc.
We had decided to eat dinner one night at the hotel- and it was so good the first night we ate there again in the evening! The menu is small however full of lovely food and there is an option for anyone- there was duck, mussels, and the specials included plaice and venison... never ending wonders! The first night we had chicken terraine to start (one of the best starters I've ever had) and Sirloin steaks for main- cooked to perfection!- and I had chocolate tart for pudding whilst my boyfriend had lemon sorbet- everything was just wonderful! The second night my boyfriend had mussels to start- and these were exquisite- I am not a massive seafood fan but even I adored them! He then had a rump burger while I had rotisserie chicken. All very reasonably priced- would recommend to anyone to eat here even if not staying at hotel! Service was brilliant and the waitresses were lovely.
Breakfast was included both mornings, with the option of a cooked breakfast or cereal, croissants, juice etc. I had a croissant first morning with jam which was lovely and then cooked the next, and it was cooked to utter perfection. The bacon and sausages were especially wonderful! I overheard someone else complimenting the bacon and sausages and the waitress said what the hotel was aiming for was simple tasty food cooked perfectly sourced locally- and this is exactly what they have achieved.
The location was great- set in beautiful surroundings, one morning we drove to Bibury which was just stunning and only 9 miles or so away. Also it only took about 30/40 minutes to get it Oxford so we spent a day there and went on to Bicester (only a further 9 miles on). Close to these places yet when there so secluded!
My only negative is our shower was very temperamental- was freezing one minute then when you made the tiniest adjustment was burning! However we found the perfect temperature eventually! Was probably just the one in our room and wasn't really a problem. I've seen on here people have mentioned noise from the bar- we were in a room directly above the bar and although you could hear noise, it didn't interrupt our sleep once.
We were made to feel welcome from start to finish and I cannot recommend this place enough- we will be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gravyjugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

10/10 for this little gem. Food, drink, service, ambience the lot. New management has seen what used to be yet another over priced Cotswold pub rise from the ashes into a beacon of culinary expertise. I have now eaten at the New Inn three times and it is hands down the best pub in the area. My only concern is how long the pub can keep going... this is to say that I have no idea how you can sell such high quality food at such low prices. Finally the good people of the Cotswolds can go for for a pub supper without needing a loan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The New Inn has always served good 'pub grub' and the new owners have upped the standard. The food was extremely good, well presented and exactly as described on the menu. There is a good range of wine available and the beer is kept well. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I wait to see what will happen to the New Inn over the next few months, the new owners have started well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We popped into this pub whilst out & about in the Cotswolds and were delighted with what we had found. It is a charming pub hotel with good quality pub food, nice pleasant staff. Whilst we were there it was quite busy considering it was a midweek afternoon visit, but we were served quite quickly.
Looking around it has been recently renovated & is apparently under new ownership, The bar and restaurant eating areas consisted of about 5 open rooms that would be great for anyone wanting a small party with one room also having a very large 'farmhouse' style dining table.
My partner & I are looking forward to returning & possibly trying out the accommodation whilst doing some walking in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I had a delightful stay at this idyllic country pub - we were met by extremely friendly and attentive staff who helped carry our bags upstairs to a wonderfully quirky, spacious room in the eves with en suite bathroom down a little set of stairs. It was great to see that the building has retained every ounce of its country charm and character whilst also feeling comfortable and sophisticated. The bar area was buzzing when we arrived, as was the restaurant. Thankfully we were not in a rush for a table and chatted with very friendly locals at the bar for a good hour, before sitting down to delicious, succulent beef burgers for supper. The bread and butter pudding was nursery food at its best, and we retired to bed feeling very happy and full! I was also amazed by how reasonable the price of the food was. We have already booked in to stay again, as the area is also beautiful to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
7.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
725 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
892 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
560 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
609 reviews
7.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Coln Stores Main Street, Cirencester GL7 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The New Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a lovely Cotswold pub with good-sized rooms and delicious pub food in the charming village of Coln St Aldwyns. It is just 2 miles from Bibury, the home of the world-famous Arlington Row. The New Inn has 15 stunning rooms, overlooking the Coln Valley in the Cotswolds. It has a cosy restaurant serving good food and a wide selection of drinks. It is the perfect retreat if you are exploring the Cotswolds, and you can curl up by a toasty fire after long walks or busy days sight-seeing. Our food follows the principles we have established at nearby Cripps Barn and our other Cripps Barn Group venues, we buy only the best raw materials, regardless of cost (sorry, accountants!) And we then we hand them over to Head Chef Chris Cheek who will deliver them to you, precisely cooked and served with the simplicity that such fine ingredients deserve. In the bar we rotate three ales, Hook Norton, Dorothy Goodbody and one guest ale, having two on at a time for optimum quality, and on the kegs we have two ciders, Stowford Press and Thatchers Gold, and three lagers, St Miguel, Carling and Kozel. We import our own wines by the pallet from small, perfectionist wine-makers to bring you outstanding quality for the money. We will soon be introducing a wine preservation system which will allow the sale of fine wines by the glass. There are savouries and snacks available in the bar, and for fun there are games, cards, bar billiards and darts. Of our 15 rooms we have ten double rooms, four extra-large double rooms and one single room with a 3/4 bed which will take 2 good friends. The Inn dates back to the sixteenth century so all the rooms are different and individually- furnished. The floors creak occasionally and there is the odd imperfection, but the place has real character. Children and dogs are most welcome; there may be charges so please see our T&Cs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Cirencester
The New Inn Cirencester, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing