We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at The New Inn following a wedding at nearby Cripps Barn. We booked all 14 rooms bed and breakfast for various family/guests.
This pub with rooms is excellent, large very comfortable rooms all well furnished. Good quality beds and linen for good rest. The Bride and Groom had Room 9, used as the bridal suite this is a particularly stunning room.
The breakfast next morning was delicious, good selection cereals, croissants, teas and coffee and hearty full English.
Good value, good service, friendly, helpful and efficient staff. All round no complaints from anyone.
Thank you to The New Inn and good luck for future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 789JanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked room 10 (because of the in-room bath) well in advance for our mini honeymoon, just for two nights. We had just had our wedding lunch elsewhere and were buzzing when we arrived, to be greeted coolly by the new owner. I'm sure he was just having an off-day or was distracted but it was somewhat deflating. We were shown to our room which was enormous with beautiful furnishings, flat-screen telly, one-off antique pieces etc - all very luxurious. Bed was enormous and extremely comfortable (tick) but the star feature - the bath - was disappointing in that there was a 'tap-end' which we found odd, considering it was clearly there in a big, romantic room, for two. Also it was on a raised wooden platform which clearly hadn't been waterproofed so we felt guilty about the odd splash. Later we also discovered that whatever treatment/stain had been used also stained the towels/bathmat and that - again somewhat oddly for a room with bath in it - no bathrobes had been provided. There was no in-room information regarding breakfast times etc. On the subject of breakfast, lovely Dorset Cereals selection but we got there a little late the first morning (still within timeframe) to find a dribble of very weak coffee in the pot, no cups, minimal juices/milk etc. We were a little worried because I'm sure I read that cooked brekkie would cost extra and there was no way we'd survive on this offering, but actually what came out of the kitchen following our order was delicious, clearly very local and extremely fresh (and apparently included). We also ate in the pub/restaurant twice and found anything from the kitchen to be the same - simple, local ingredients expertly cooked. Bar staff were clearly a tight bunch and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We visited off-peak and were the only guests in the B&B, so didn't have any problems getting tables etc.

On balance, excellent pub/bar/restaurant establishment but the owner needs more experience running a B&B. The place is beautiful and very romantic setting, but is undergoing a major refurb (this didn't disturb us in the slightest but was evident), so I'm sure everything will come together soon. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPHobbs1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited with friends, shown to our table, took ages to order drinks, so I had to go to the bar and order them. Food ordered, it came fairly quickly. Freshly cooked food takes time!!!!
Our table was not checked at all. We had to ask for service. They were very adamant on taking desserts orders, so the kitchen could close down early. We wanted to say for another drink, but were hurried out. This was about 10.00pm. During our hurried desserts, they started to dress down the tables of their paper table clothes, making a racket, I'm sure they were eager to be somewhere else.
Food ok, service terrible, however the beer was brilliant. The place is fantastic, but has poor service and lacks quality food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ramrap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We chose this pub/ b&b from reviews for similar type premises in the area. We were certainly not disappointed with the location or the accommodation. We had room 11 which overlooked the car park at the rear- good size car park holding up to say 14 cars. The room was certainly adequate and also had a shower over the bath which was an essential. Room was lovely and warm- perhaps too warm at times however would always rather have it that way than too cold. Ate in the restaurant one evening and food cooked to order, only disappointing thing would be you do need to book early to get a time that suits- no preference to guests. If you do eat elsewhere be careful if you take the car as you may not get back into the car park until late as this fills up with other people travelling to use the restaurant mainly. Breakfast was plentiful with usual offerings. We chose to visit the Cotswold Water Park to do some walking. Very good location and not too far by car. We were unfortunate that due to recent flooding some walks were impassable. All in all would recommend the New Inn to anyone wishing to stay in this area. Bibury is a must visit location if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe may be quieter than those in the main pub building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here before a wedding in nearby Bibury and found the New Inn to be a charming little pub. We had room 6 which was furnished really well but could have done with a shower over the bath as washing your hair with a mug was a bit tricky! The staff were very friendly and we found breakfast and dinner to be of good quality. We had 3 courses and wine for £75 which seemed good value. The menu was diverse and didn't seem overpriced at all. The Inn was fully booked on the Saturday and the Sunday lunch certainly looked nice. The service was quick and we found the locals very friendly. We explored a bit of the local area and would definitely return but would prefer a room with a shower next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower and at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice pub set in a beautiful location, well kitted out room (we were in the loft)... the bed was really comfy and the heating was really good (we stayed at the start of winter). The Bath was nice, although I would have loved to have a hook on the wall to allow a standing shower.
The included breakfast was good more than adequate and I would definitely recommend having dinner there as well as the chef produces some really tasty meals.
All and all my girlfriend and I were really happy to have stayed at the new inn, the staff were all really friendly and more than happy to help whenever we had a question about the surrounding area or required something.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely inn set in a peaceful Cotswold village as booked the first two nights we had a large room, and it was a large room. We have spent nights in 4 and 5 star hotels with smaller rooms. The last two nights we had room 10 it was excellent. Very large room, huge Queen size comfortable bed, very large flat screen TV. Roll top bath in the room, plus a great ensuite. Peaceful room over looking the countryside. Would recommend and suggest on booking you ask for a room in

the Dovecote. Good service. Food wasn't up to what we expected from the website, however that said it wasn't bad, and it was fresh produce, you could see the chefs working on fresh ingredients.
My only real bit of advice would be to shop around on the usual websites, Booking.com, Expedia etc to search for the best deal. Would return, and would want room 10.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
7.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
812 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
661 reviews
7.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
620 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
956 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Coln Stores Main Street, Cirencester GL7 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range: £83 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The New Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a lovely Cotswold pub with good-sized rooms and delicious pub food in the charming village of Coln St Aldwyns. It is just 2 miles from Bibury, the home of the world-famous Arlington Row. The New Inn has 15 stunning rooms, overlooking the Coln Valley in the Cotswolds. It has a cosy restaurant serving good food and a wide selection of drinks. It is the perfect retreat if you are exploring the Cotswolds, and you can curl up by a toasty fire after long walks or busy days sight-seeing. Our food follows the principles we have established at nearby Cripps Barn and our other Cripps Barn Group venues, we buy only the best raw materials, regardless of cost (sorry, accountants!) And we then we hand them over to Head Chef Chris Cheek who will deliver them to you, precisely cooked and served with the simplicity that such fine ingredients deserve. In the bar we rotate three ales, Hook Norton, Dorothy Goodbody and one guest ale, having two on at a time for optimum quality, and on the kegs we have two ciders, Stowford Press and Thatchers Gold, and three lagers, St Miguel, Carling and Kozel. We import our own wines by the pallet from small, perfectionist wine-makers to bring you outstanding quality for the money. We will soon be introducing a wine preservation system which will allow the sale of fine wines by the glass. There are savouries and snacks available in the bar, and for fun there are games, cards, bar billiards and darts. Of our 15 rooms we have ten double rooms, four extra-large double rooms and one single room with a 3/4 bed which will take 2 good friends. The Inn dates back to the sixteenth century so all the rooms are different and individually- furnished. The floors creak occasionally and there is the odd imperfection, but the place has real character. Children and dogs are most welcome; there may be charges so please see our T&Cs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Cirencester
The New Inn Cirencester, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing