We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the new inn for 1 night. We had a brilliant time, room was clean and cozy and we was located in the town centre near everything. Heard alot of creeky floorboards in the night though, very old building so it wouldn't suprise me if its haunted. The breakfast was lovely but didn't fill me up much. All in all lovely place, recommend it to anyone!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rhiannonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    62
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
105
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Set in stunning surroundings, this beautiful pub/restaurant/hotel was superb!
On arrival, we were greeted by very polite and helpful staff.
The room we stayed in was really nicely decorated and the food was delicious.
Listening to the staff, you felt like they were all part of a huge family that got on! There was much laughter to be had and the locals were so friendly and welcoming.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirencester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I went with my boyfriend last Saturday and enjoyed the rump steak (to share). There is new management now that Richard has left and the manageress was extremely hospitable. It really was the best steak Iv'e ever tasted! Thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here for the night as part of a road trip we were doing. I absolutely loved everything about this place! My husband and I were traveling with my parents. They got one of the larger rooms (I think 11?), and their room was spectacular. They had their own fenced off terrace with a garden, and their room and bathroom was huge. We had room 9, which was plenty big for my husband and I, and the room was very cute.
The main building of the inn is from the 1500's and is lovely with a lot of character. We ate dinner at the restaurant, I had the chicken and leek pie and my husband had fish and chips, we both loved what we ate. The inn was very quiet and peaceful. Great for couples. Not to mention the surrounding scenery is wonderful. Breakfast the next morning was simple, yet tasty and satisfying. I definitely recommend this place to stay when visiting the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Look at their website online so you can view all the rooms, and pick the room you want. Each room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquacrystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent one night here for a wedding. We were in room 5, we could stand in about 30% of the room, the rest we had to duck for. The toilets were broken in the restaurant area downstairs so temporary outdoor ones were set up. The toilet then blocked in our room too, so we were forced to go down and outside to use a toilet. I don't think you should have to pay for that experience, but when my husband spoke to reception they just said they would get someone to look into it, which they acknowledged wouldn't help us... Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The room was also incredibly hot, no fan offered, no air conditioning, and when we got back from the wedding there was no opportunity to request one, you had to come up a back passage to avoid setting off an alarm. Not a great stay unfortunately.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 if you want to be able to stand up straight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartertom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The New Inn following a wedding at nearby Cripps Barn. We booked all 14 rooms bed and breakfast for various family/guests.
This pub with rooms is excellent, large very comfortable rooms all well furnished. Good quality beds and linen for good rest. The Bride and Groom had Room 9, used as the bridal suite this is a particularly stunning room.
The breakfast next morning was delicious, good selection cereals, croissants, teas and coffee and hearty full English.
Good value, good service, friendly, helpful and efficient staff. All round no complaints from anyone.
Thank you to The New Inn and good luck for future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 789JanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked room 10 (because of the in-room bath) well in advance for our mini honeymoon, just for two nights. We had just had our wedding lunch elsewhere and were buzzing when we arrived, to be greeted coolly by the new owner. I'm sure he was just having an off-day or was distracted but it was somewhat deflating. We were shown to our room which was enormous with beautiful furnishings, flat-screen telly, one-off antique pieces etc - all very luxurious. Bed was enormous and extremely comfortable (tick) but the star feature - the bath - was disappointing in that there was a 'tap-end' which we found odd, considering it was clearly there in a big, romantic room, for two. Also it was on a raised wooden platform which clearly hadn't been waterproofed so we felt guilty about the odd splash. Later we also discovered that whatever treatment/stain had been used also stained the towels/bathmat and that - again somewhat oddly for a room with bath in it - no bathrobes had been provided. There was no in-room information regarding breakfast times etc. On the subject of breakfast, lovely Dorset Cereals selection but we got there a little late the first morning (still within timeframe) to find a dribble of very weak coffee in the pot, no cups, minimal juices/milk etc. We were a little worried because I'm sure I read that cooked brekkie would cost extra and there was no way we'd survive on this offering, but actually what came out of the kitchen following our order was delicious, clearly very local and extremely fresh (and apparently included). We also ate in the pub/restaurant twice and found anything from the kitchen to be the same - simple, local ingredients expertly cooked. Bar staff were clearly a tight bunch and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We visited off-peak and were the only guests in the B&B, so didn't have any problems getting tables etc.

On balance, excellent pub/bar/restaurant establishment but the owner needs more experience running a B&B. The place is beautiful and very romantic setting, but is undergoing a major refurb (this didn't disturb us in the slightest but was evident), so I'm sure everything will come together soon. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPHobbs1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
7.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
723 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
891 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
607 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
557 reviews
7.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Coln Stores Main Street, Cirencester GL7 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The New Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a lovely Cotswold pub with good-sized rooms and delicious pub food in the charming village of Coln St Aldwyns. It is just 2 miles from Bibury, the home of the world-famous Arlington Row. The New Inn has 15 stunning rooms, overlooking the Coln Valley in the Cotswolds. It has a cosy restaurant serving good food and a wide selection of drinks. It is the perfect retreat if you are exploring the Cotswolds, and you can curl up by a toasty fire after long walks or busy days sight-seeing. Our food follows the principles we have established at nearby Cripps Barn and our other Cripps Barn Group venues, we buy only the best raw materials, regardless of cost (sorry, accountants!) And we then we hand them over to Head Chef Chris Cheek who will deliver them to you, precisely cooked and served with the simplicity that such fine ingredients deserve. In the bar we rotate three ales, Hook Norton, Dorothy Goodbody and one guest ale, having two on at a time for optimum quality, and on the kegs we have two ciders, Stowford Press and Thatchers Gold, and three lagers, St Miguel, Carling and Kozel. We import our own wines by the pallet from small, perfectionist wine-makers to bring you outstanding quality for the money. We will soon be introducing a wine preservation system which will allow the sale of fine wines by the glass. There are savouries and snacks available in the bar, and for fun there are games, cards, bar billiards and darts. Of our 15 rooms we have ten double rooms, four extra-large double rooms and one single room with a 3/4 bed which will take 2 good friends. The Inn dates back to the sixteenth century so all the rooms are different and individually- furnished. The floors creak occasionally and there is the odd imperfection, but the place has real character. Children and dogs are most welcome; there may be charges so please see our T&Cs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Cirencester
The New Inn Cirencester, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing