We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
Mesmerising architect designed 5 bedroom luxury villa, with 3 x huge cleverly suspended terraces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mesmerising architect designed 5 bedroom luxury villa, with 3 x huge cleverly suspended terraces
The Skylark Lodge 5 bedrooms and 4 bathroom holiday villa, set lakeside on Howells Mere Lake Stylish chic lounge area with cosy gas fire and uninterupted magnificent views across the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Mesmerising architect designed 5 bedroom luxury villa, with 3 x huge cleverly suspended terraces
The Skylark Lodge 5 bedrooms and 4 bathroom holiday villa, set lakeside on Howells Mere Lake
Stylish chic lounge area with cosy gas fire and uninterupted magnificent views across the lake
Relax and enjoy the uninterputed elevated views across the lake + nature reserve
Living area on the top floor of the Skylark Lodge 5 x bedroom holiday villa
Hot pink feature wall to the main living area
Contemporary dinning table and chairs, seating 11
Snug area, complete with your very own classic retro arcade machine - set to free play ! !
Spacious designer kitchen, with all mod cons with views across the nature lake
Alfresco Dining on the top floor private terrace, a real room with a view !
First floor terrace area, canto levered over the fresh water lake
Lakeside bedrooms enjoy their very own private terrace and oversized panoramic glazed windows
Huge ground floor private terrace area, with uninterrupted views and Hot Tub
Your very own private Hot Tub on the terrace, heated to a toasty 40 degrees
Contempoary four poster bed, to the ground floor, ensuite master bedroom suite
Ensuite shower room to the ground floor master bedroom
First floor - Master bedroom ensuite bathroom (shower)
Family bedroom - Full size double bed, with a single bed above. Sleeps up to 3
Family bathroom, complete with bath tub, one of 4 bathrooms at this holiday villa
Top floor
Here are the floor plans of this amazing 5 x bedroom lakeside holiday villa
Welcome to the stunning onsite Luxury Spa, just a few minutes walk from your holiday villa...
The Luxury Spa facility at The Lower Mill Estate – the UKs only residential nature reserve
The luxury slate lined outdoor HEATED swimming pool at the Luxury Spa complex
Beautiful jade green Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor pool, with views across the nature reserve
The newly constructed outdoor children's play area - Just a few minutes walk from your villa
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restuarant and Club House, now fully open to all guests
Fully licensed bar at the recently opened Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant - Cheers !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amysb09
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 May 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit to Skylark and was even more amazing than our first one. This place gets better every time you visit. My husband and I stayed with family here for a Monday to Friday break in February.
Everything from booking to arriving and checking out was made seamless by Jamie who kept us informed and checked everything was ok for us. No stress what so ever. The house is spread over 3 floors, is roomy, well furnished and maintained to very high standards. It has everything and more to offer that perfect break for a couple on your own or large family. All 5 bedrooms are spacious with 2 of the 5 having en suite facilities and 3 of the 5 having access to either a balcony or large decking area.
Games machine on hand to use free of charge whenever you feel like a trip back to the 80's.. created many competitive nights within our party. Great fun.
Gas log burner which we used on the cold February nights. Hot tub on the balcony overlooking the peaceful lake is an amazing touch and we made use of this facility several times during our winter stay.
Everything about this property is absolutely wonderful. We love it here and would go back tomorrow if we could. It has everything you need for a relaxing break away with beautiful scenery and setting. The onsite Spa and swimming pool is divine and would highly recommend using.
The only thing I wish I could change is that I wish I was sat on the balcony now overlooking the beautiful lake writing this review.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was a large family Easter break with 11 of us staying in Skylark. We have been to Lower Mill about 5 years ago and were excited to be coming back. Skylark is situated on the large open lake with fantastic westerly views and when the sun shone it was just heaven. Love the idea of the lounge at the top to maximize the view. We were using all the rooms and it does feel a little tight when we were all in the lounge or kitchen area. The bed mattresses and duvets are quite thin and had expected more luxury in this dept. In one of the bottom 2 double rooms on the ground floor they had no chest of drawers or wardrobe so had to spend the whole week using the floor, in an already cramped room, to leave suitcases open and weren't able to hang anything up. Very poor house design as the other double room next door had loads of unneeded room! We also hired a hot tub which was great fun for everyone but the only way to it was through one of the double bedrooms, dripping wet feet as you go! We had a lovely time and the place was great but for maximum capacity it gets a bit tight. There isn't even enough space to hang 11 wet coats up in the hall! Silly things but they start to bug you after a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandian...
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect get away from it all party house”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Fab location for accessing all the Cotswold villages. The lodge is just amazing, the lounge being on the second floor, has great open views over the lake. Well equipped lodge with hot tub and terrace and two balconies. Stayed with family, plenty of space for us all. The spa was lovely and Ballyhoo is a really easy going place to chill, drink and eat. Very easy to recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amysb09
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I recently stayed here with my husband and friends at Skylark and it was a truly wonderful experience.
We have stayed at other houses at the Lower Mill Estate in beautiful lodges but I must say Skylark was my favourite.
The standards and facilities available there were faultless. A retro games machine which created a fun atmosphere and friendly competition is a brilliant idea as none of us had played these games since childhood so was great fun of an evening. The hot tub is amazing... after a day out visiting the villages of the cotswolds what better way too unwind than an amazing view over the peaceful lake sat in the hot tub on your private balcony. Gas log burner in the living room for those cosy nights in with floor to ceiling windows with view over the lake. Outdoor dining table and chairs for dining al fresco with the amazing view.
All the rooms in Skylark are done to very high standards and TV's in 4 out of the 5 bedrooms. They are all good sized rooms with en-suites or bathrooms available next to the rooms that do not have en-suite. We had the bedroom on the first floor with a private balcony. This was my favourite room and was most comfortable. There is a small table and 2 chairs on the balcony along with a seat swing which is wonderful for having time away from the rest of the party as it is so peaceful with an amazing view over the lake.
The kitchen provides all the mod cons you could possible want with plenty of cupboard and fridge space to store your groceries.
The whole lodge is furnished to exquisite standards and we cannot wait to return here sooner rather than later!
There is a spa on site that is well worth a visit and other facilities also available. There is plenty of information on the booking website and available in the lodge about the area and facilities available.
We would like to thank Jamie for his exceptions service before, during and after our holiday. We are highly recommending this place and Lakeside holidays to anyone who wants a 5 star UK holiday in beautiful accommodations and surroundings. Thank you for another wonderful holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollandja...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolute Bliss!”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Myself and my partner recently stayed at the beautiful skylark lodge.
Wow, the only way that we can describe our stay was blissful! The lodge itself is such luxury, the standards were faultless and I must mention the beautiful hot tub on the balcony looking out onto the lake... this was divine!

It was only the two of us and the lodge can sleep many more but we did love it for a couple's holiday, it's a really peaceful location. The on sight pool and spa is beautiful also.

There was absolutely nothing that we could fault and we would love to stay again. It's a really special place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing family stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed at Skylark Lodge with our two 'children' and four grandkids for a week over Easter. The peaceful 5 bedroom house is situated right on the lake’s edge, with the downstairs patio (one of three) overhanging the water. The house was excellent and adequately large for the ten of us. Facilities in the house were excellent, beds were comfortable, the house was clean, and the games machine and hot tub were much used! The estate too: swimming, tennis, spa, restaurant (rather pricy!). We were lucky with the weather, sunny many days and dry all but one morning – unusual for Easter in the UK! This meant that lots of walking / bike-riding, outdoor tennis, and paddle-boarding was enjoyed by all. Walks around the many lakes were pleasant, as was the ‘Miss Mouse’ adventure trail. Can thoroughly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrylesn...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing luxury break in Skylark”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My retired ,husband and I spent a relaxing 4 days in Skylark in Lower Mill. All the main rooms have good views of the lake and there are terraces to sit out on all floors. As it was March the weather was variable but we loved sitting out in the hot tub. Also enjoyed playing on the games machine!

Food in the restaurant on site was good. Lower Mill sits on the Thames Path which we loved walking along. We wil return. Have already recommended it to family and friends.

Jamie and Gloria were very helpful at all stages of booking and arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing