We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic short break in beautiful home”
The Brand NEW WIshbone Cottage, formally known as Cygnet Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Brand NEW WIshbone Cottage, formally known as Cygnet Cottage
The lakeside stone flagged deck area of the Wishbone Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Brand NEW WIshbone Cottage, formally known as Cygnet Cottage
The lakeside stone flagged deck area of the Wishbone Cottage
Luxury onsite private spa, children very welcome
Gin clear water & stunning views across the nature reserve from the HEATED indoor pool
The beautiful Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor swimming pool at the Luxury Spa complex
A swim with a view – all round panoramic glazing & double height aspect. Simply stunning!
The UKs only Eco-Pool, set amongst glorious Cotswolds  countryside, a swim with a view!
The world class & award winning - Private Luxury onsite Spa facility. Enjoy !
Luxurious slate lined (heated) outdoor full size pool, simply wonderful !
Beautiful jade green Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor pool, with views across the nature reserve
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restuarant & Club House, now fully open to all guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill S
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break in beautiful home”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a long chilled out weekend at Cygnet Lodge with children and grandchildren to celebrate "grandad's" 60th birthday. Loved the house, the design, and facilities on site - although being November the weather wasn't so kind! The two youngsters (3 and 5) adored the top mezzanine floor, where the owners had thoughtfully left out a huge assortment of toys and games, including one giant teddy. The living area was super, and there was nothing left out in the kitchen design and specification - the wine fridge was definitely welcome. The home was warm and welcoming, and those views from the front were gorgeous. Even our dog was catered for, with a large dogbed thoughtfully left out on the front verandah, so she could watch the world go by. We did bring logs, but the house was very warm anyway, and our stay went by far too quickly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill J
Morzine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at cygnet lodge”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at cygnet lodge, it was a fantastic weekend, our children, ranging in age from 6-15 all loved the house and the estate. We played tennis, swam in the lovely spa, cycled and walked the beautiful tracks around the lakes and grounds and spent hours playing tennis.
The house was lovely, well equipped both inside and outside, with beautiful views of the lake, we even saw a cygnet!
The house was easily booked, well organised, Jamie the manager was very helpful and the whole process was excellent.
We would highly recommend cygnet lodge and hope to return for another peaceful stay. Thank you to everyone for making this such an enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing and peaceful
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley4...
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning House in Gorgeous Setting”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our party of three adults and six children stayed here during the incredibly warm and sunny last weekend of September. The lodge is stunning. Large, fun, funky, well-equipped and with an outlook to die for. We loved having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, watching the swans and moorhens glide by. And then later snuggling up around the wood burner with a glass of wine. The mezzanine level was particularly good for children. An area where they could have their own space, flopping on beanbags and playing the copious games provided. The estate itself was beautifully kept with the wonderful spa, tennis courts, a nice little shop and even a trampoline. The outdoor Eco pool area was a nice touch and the kids spent hours jumping into the icy water along with the wildlife! A really lovely, relaxing stay, absolutely ideal for families with children.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan L
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous long weekend”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Cygnet Lodge over the August bank holiday weekend.After a short,uneventful journey from South West London we arrived at the Estate with 2 excited children ready to explore the new inviting surroundings.
We stayed in the beautiful contemporary furnished Cygnet Lodge that was recommended to us by a friend of the owner and we were surprised by its beautiful architecture and that stunning location by the side of the dam.During the day we enjoyed the relaxing spa and the beautiful sparkling pool,which never seemed overcrowded.The beautiful weather invited us to explore the beautiful surroundings and the Cotswolds with its many amenities and attractions or both us and the children.
We even managed to play a few rounds of tennis before we settled for sunset drinks and a fantastic barbecue on the large terrace overlooking the beautiful nature reserve.
We were amazed to find such a jewel in such close vicinity to London and can thoroughly recommend the place to families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location,the safety for the children,the terrace and view
Liked least: At the time of my stay there was poor internet reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space of the house, the view and the Spa
Liked least: The slow wi-fi or lack of connection
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trustyglo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday lodge & fantastic location!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cygnet Lodge is a stunning property lodge set on the Howells Mere Lake within the Lower Mill Estate. The lodge itself is beautifully maintained and contemporary with every aspect considered for a holiday rental. Beautiful interior and well equipped, it is a home away from home. Views are outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property.

I would recommend the property for two families with children or couples wishing to enjoy a luxury break in a beautiful location.

Lower Mill Estate has fantastic facilities with a fantastic onsite luxury spa, indoor and outdoor pools but also a secondary pool fantastic for children. There are also two parks, trampolines, tennis coats and boating/biking available to cater for all needs.

Cygnet lodge is well managed by luxury holidays.uk.com and in particular the manager Jamie Moon was incredibly helpful during our stay. Thanks Jamie :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property & location on the lake - amazing!
Liked least: No wifi and very poor reception.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing