We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Holiday”
Copse Mere Lodge - 5 Bedroom Villa - Located on the Lower Mill Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Copse Mere Lodge - 5 Bedroom Villa - Located on the Lower Mill Estate
Lovely views across the water, the spa gardens & the nature reserve beyond Architect designed 5 bedroom luxury villa, on the Lower Mill Estate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Copse Mere Lodge - 5 Bedroom Villa - Located on the Lower Mill Estate
Lovely views across the water, the spa gardens & the nature reserve beyond
Architect designed 5 bedroom luxury villa, on the Lower Mill Estate
Stylish chic lounge area with cosy log burner and views across the nature reserve
Very comfortable lounge area, overlooking the Luxury Spa and the trout pond
Spacious designer kitchen, with all mod cons with views across the nature reserve
Wake up to your very own nature reserve, with the best views right from your bed!
Double bedroom at the Copse Mere Lodge
Double bedroom with garden access
Chidrens bunk bed room
Here are the floor plans of this amazing 5 x bedroom waterside holiday villa
Top floor
Welcome to the Luxury Spa Complex - Onsite Private Members facility
The Luxury Spa reception - quite literally just a few minutes walk from your lakeside holiday villa
2 x Swimming pools, sauna, steam room, plunge/eco pool and fully equipped gymnasium at the Spa
The private members Luxury Spa at The Lower Mill Estate - Guests only access
Gin clear water & stunning views across the nature reserve from the HEATED indoor pool
The beautiful Welsh slate lined, heated, indoor swimming pool at the Luxury Spa complex
The beautiful indoor HEATED swimming pool with stunning views of the nature reserve
The Luxury Spa Heated Indoor Pool, at the Lower Mill Estate
Swim with the frogs ! – The private eco-pool, what a blast, just has to be experienced !
The fantastic Luxury Spa facility, at night time, complete with an amazing heated outdoor pool
The Luxury Spa Heated HEATED Outdoor Pool, at the Lower Mill Estate
A swim with a view – all round panoramic glazing and double height aspect. Simply stunning!
The new onsite children's play area, Millstone Park - Just a few minutes walk from your villa
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restaurant and Club House, now fully open to all guests
Fully licensed bar at the recently opened Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant - Cheers !
Hand crafted locally brewed craft beers and ciders, now being served at the new Balihoos Clubhouse
The scrumptious Bali Burger - Now being served in the new Clubhouse and  Restaurant
Delicious selection of locally made cakes and pastries, great with a freshly brewed coffee
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tbird491
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family of 9, 1 pensioner, 2 sons and daughters-in-law and 4 grandchildren (aged 8 & 10) stayed at Copse Mere Lodge and had a wonderful 3 days there. The accommodation is superb for our wide age range and the house is tastefully furnished and well equipped in the kitchen and television entertainment. There is so much to do on the Estate - we all love the swimming pools and used the tennis courts, enclosed astro-turf pitch (good for cricket too!) play area and cafe. We all enjoyed the nature trail, beautiful scenery, and the children enjoyed riding their bikes in safety. We have visited several times before and shall be going back again! A very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita J
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, wonderful walks and fantastic accommodation.”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our friends recommended this cottage for a relaxing getaway. The house was fantastic, contemporary and has everything we needed. We were a one minute stroll to the spa which was first class. There is a lot to do on the estate and some amazing eco houses to look at - some with grass roofs! We saw lots of wildlife and went on lovely l#nature walks. We couldn't recommend the cottage and location enough and we will definately be going back this summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and atmosphere.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954lesley
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent house, but ....”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house was excellent - plenty of space and well provided with all equipment, apart from cleaning stuff (hard to clean the grill without some sort of scourer). Housekeeping were very quick and helpful when one of the children was ill, and a handy man was summoned quickly to repair a toilet.
The spa was also excellent, and the estate is well kept and attractive. However, although the company make a big thing about the wildlife on the estate, as the houses are built round the edges of the lakes, it's very difficult to view the birds etc. A walk through the estate is like a walk through a housing estate with some rather splendid houses! Finally, there are no footpaths or cycle ways through the estate; it was not possible to let the children wander freely as we kept having to call them to the side of the road because of passing cars. This didn't feel very safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: No pathways where the children could walk or ride scooters away from cars
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the house, the spa and the estate. I am also pleased the housekeeper and plumber came out quickly to help you. 

Regarding your disappointment with the wildlife, the estate is 550 acres and is an award-winning, secure private nature reserve. Most of the estate has been left to nature. and only a small part of it is permitted for development.  From your description, it sounds like you only explored the built-up area where the holiday homes are located.

The built-up area forms a tiny part of the whole estate. It sounds like you missed the 5km nature trail that is exclusive to the estate. If you walk this trail you will find a wonderful wildflower meadow, untouched fields, numerous lakes and wooded walks.

One of the lakes has a family of protected beavers and there are also deer, otters and badgers (and rare cattle certain times of the year).  It is one of the best places in the country for bird watching evidenced by the number of bird watchers that visit. One of the fields has been designated an SSI (Site if Scientific Interest) due to the rare flowers growing there and there are wild orchids growing around several of the lakes.

There is a children's nature trail where you will find bird hides, bat boxes, a climbing wall, picnic tables with lake views, cycle paths, a BMW track in the woods, rivers to splash in and a wonderful tree house. I could go on and I am only sorry you missed it.

The Lower Mill Estate is without doubt one of the few places you can have the swallows and amazons holiday experience. I hope you visit us again and if you do make sure you sure find the start of the trail which is not far from the sales barn which in itself is less than a 2-minute walk from the house. If you are not sure, there are maps around the estate - If you continue this path then you will find all of this wonderful countryside and wildlife on your doorstep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M4586AUjg
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I do not normally submit tripadvisor reviews but on this occasion I felt I needed too as people should know what they are getting. First of all I will start with the plus point of Copsemere Lodge "it's on the lovely and well presented Lower Mill Estate" and now for the negatives. The website portrays this house as something it is not... The house is not on a lake as the pictures suggest, it is over looking a very small pond. The house does not have 4 bathrooms as advertised it only has three, this being 1 bathroom and 2 ensuites, the upstairs ensuite has a bath only and no shower. The house is not large enough to fit 8 adults in, there are three double beds and then 2 sets of bunks, Both the sets of bunks cannot accommodate an adult. There is only seating for 7 people in the lounge so the eighth person will need to either sit on the hard floor or stand to watch television. We are a family of 4, we had planned for our 4 adult friends to join us for a few days over New Year but they could not come because of space, this has spoilt our planned New Year celebrations, along with the fact that £2000 charged for the property was now entirely paid by me. There are no curtians or blinds on the Living area windows, so anyone walking down the road can have a good look at what you are up too. The equipment in the house needs an overhaul, some of the points raised earlier by other people have still not been addressed and this is 6 months later. The handle broke on the steamer and my wife mildly burnt her hand. The bed linen smelt of smoking, which was not very nice if you are a non smoker. That's about it, we are still here, if anything changes for the rest of Our stay either positive or negative I will advise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you for your feedback.

We are confused about your review as at least two of your comments do not seem to relate to the Copse Mere Lodge. We were wondering whether you were looking at a different property on the website (for example you were expecting four bathrooms and for the house to be overlooking a lake).

The house is on Copse Mere Waters and the photo on the lodge website landing page is an accurate representation of the size of the water - it is not on a lake but a large pond. 

The website clearly states there are 3 bathrooms in the house - more than enough for the stated house occupancy. Specifically there are 3 baths, 2 showers and 3 loos. 

We realise space is a subjective concept but we have been renting the house for more than 10 years years for a maximum of 8 adults plus 2 children. To accommodate this there are 3 x double beds, 1 x adult bunks and 1 x child bunks. Again, the website makes this configuration clear both in the description and the photo which shows and describes the room as a children's bunk room. Similarly, there are 3 sofas in the living area plus 2 x huge fatboy bean bags which easily seat 8 adults plus 2 children. In any case we do not understand why this is an issue since your booking was made for 6 people so there would have been more than enough space - even if additional friends had arrived. 

With regards to the blinds/curtains - all bedrooms have blinds or curtains. The only room that does not have curtains or blinds is the main living area. This is a question of personal taste but most people appreciate (and comment on) the light and vista of this space. The house is an upside down house to take advantage of the views and aspect. Again, it is clear from the photos that there are no curtains or blinds in this room. 

With regards to the equipment, the house is fully equipped so we are not sure what is meant here. We understand your wife broke the handle of one of the steamers. If we had known we would have replaced it immediately (and in any case there are two steamers in the kitchen). Guests do occasionally damage or break items and we simply request that you let us know so we can fix it or replace it.  In terms of equipment provided, all equipment in the house is excellent quality and many items have been replaced recently. 

With regards to the bed linen it is the first such comment we have had. We will speak to the cleaner and investigate. 

We do not feel this review is balanced. It does not mention the positives - how we let you arrive at the house early as someone in your party had confused the booking date, how we provided gratis Champagne and Belgium chocolates and how we had decorated a Christmas tree (which we were then asked to remove). After the initial meetings/conversations with us we tried to contact you on several occasions during your stay to ensure everything was OK (in person and by phone) but heard nothing back. 

However in response to your comments, we have reviewed the Trip Advisor website and have made the sleeping configuration clearer. This year we plan on replacing one of the sofas with a larger sofa and we will also replace the broken steamer. 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely mid-week escape from London”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A great location for a trip to the countryside from London with your own space but all the amenities of the spa and nature trails on your doorstep.

Great local pubs for evenings out when you don't feel like cooking. But the house also made for a lovely cosy night in too.

My husband and I had a great break away, but there was loads on offer for children and teenagers too, so we plan to go back as a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and nature trails on our own doorstep
Liked least: nothing of note
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra_sn...
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“super location on the estate”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My daughter organised a weekend stay at 43 Copse Mere as a birthday celebration for myself and family. Firstly I would like to say that we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and thought the place well equipped. As requested we completed a snagging list of things that needed attention in the villa, some things would have made our stay more pleasant like the broken racking in dushwasher and broken door on ice compartment and shelf inside on of fridge doors. As previous reviewer, we felt the furniture very tired. The mattress on upstairs bedroom was very stained and I had to turn it over, plus I am glad I took my memory foam mattress topper. I know that sometimes guests do not always bring things to owners attention, being an owner of a holiday property myself, but for the cost of the weekend, standards could have been better.
This is an honest opinion, it did not detract from our enjoyment. I will put that I recommend in the hope some of the repairs are addressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not as luxurious as made out.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHARMOND
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday on a beautiful estate”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week on the Lower Mill Estate, Copse Mere Lodge 43 with my family and friends. There were 7 adults and 3 children and we fitted comfortably in the lodge. The lodge itself was pleasant but not as luxurious as hoped (The decor is tired, beds are hard, linen is cheap, few ants at the front door). The pictures are definitely better. It was well equipped and everything you needed was on hand. There were children’s toys and books which kept our children occupied throughout our stay. The pool was fabulous until the bank holiday arrived and then it was very busy with families. Whilst we could cope with this as a family with young children I expect it would be unpleasant for couples. We particularly liked cycling and running the 5km trail - although be warned the 5km trail finished at least 1km before you got back to the start of the trail. We were able to spot a family of badgers and saw plenty of wildlife down at the ponds. The children loved the treasure trail which was made easier on the bike. The walk would have been difficult for our small children. We made use of the free onsite tennis courts, parks and trampolines. The estate felt safe although can get a little busy traffic wise when the holiday season starts. All in all, a nice holiday and we would return to the estate but maybe choose an alternative lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The estate
Liked least: The traffic onsite during the holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a lovely week and that your family enjoyed the fantastic facilities and wildlife on the estate. I'm also glad you found the lodge well-equipped and that the children made good use of all the toys and books.

On the other hand, I am sorry that you felt the lodge was not as luxurious as you expected. In May 2014 we had the entire house re-painted, re-carpeted and all the wooden floors and skirting boards replaced. The lodge is very popular with families so the paintwork sometimes takes a bashing and the hallway walls get scuffed from guests carrying bags through the house and up the stairs. In response to your comments we will go through the house this week and re-paint/re-touch where this has happened.

With regards to the mattresses, all the beds in the lodge have medium support mattresses which we think is the best option for our guests who have a range of preferences.

The bed linen, duvets, pillow and towels were all replaced in July 2014. In keeping with the ethos of the estate we buy bed linen made from 100% organic sustainable cotton. Organic cotton is grown using less water, fertilisers and pesticides, the fabric is not bleached and the farmers are paid a fair wage. However, the downside is the cotton is not as bright white (and feels slightly different) to non-organic cotton.

Regarding the ants at the front door, the lodge is on a nature resort so we do occasionally get unwelcome guests. We have put down some ant bait around the front door so this should stop any ants coming into the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing