We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped home”
other travellers have booked this property
Spring at Songthrush - the back of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring at Songthrush - the back of the house
Lounge with wood burning stove Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Spring at Songthrush - the back of the house
Lounge with wood burning stove
Kitchen and dining area
Master Bedroom, 2nd floor
Bedroom with balcony & ensuite, 1st floor
Ensuite bathroom 1st floor
Front of house
Lounge, from dining area
View from the deck
Stream at the back of the house
Part of the children's play area
View from the decking
The Artspa
Sunbeds at the spa
Twin bedroom
Skylights in the Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 with balcony, 1st floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann H
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well equipped home”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I rented this property for my children and their families. The property was well equipped clean spacious with lots of nice added touches to add to the enjoyment of our stay. Well situated next to the spa

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna M
Botesdale
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant house right next to the spa!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Songthrush is a very comfortable house that was ideal for a great grandad, grandparents, parents and children! We filled it with 9 but still had space to move around and sit in the evenings. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of plates, cups and glasses. We found the appliances easy to use although the washing machine/dryer was slightly awkward and took a very long time to dry the few items in it!
We arranged for Tesco to deliver upon our arrival and there was ample cupboard space to store everything.

We were greeted by the site managers wife as we were unloading the cars and she gave us a brief run down of where everything was- although there really was enough information in tne folder inside!

The house is ideally located in the estate just meters from the Spa, it was so convenient that we all nipped over in our swim wear and showered back at the house. The pool was brilliant, it is 1.2m throughout which meant no nerves if the children swam away! It was always warm and so was theoutside pool (the only cold area was the 'natural pool and plunge area' which we avoided!! It was a very short walk round to the Balihoo bar and play ground, although we didnt eat here the food served looked reasonable and there was a fantastic selection of Gin and malts.

The tennis courts are free and bookable per hour. However, by the time our children reached the signing in sheets most of the times slots had been booked- thankfully the rules state that if the court is not in use within 10 minutes of the booked time slot it can be used! Crisis avoided!

As a family we enjoyed days out at Blenheim palace, Cirencester and Avebury. We visited Snowshill National Trust property and spent a good few hours looking through the collections and tea shop!

We very much enjoyed our stay at Songthrush, communications between Liz as well as the Pete, the site manager were flawless and we felt most welcomed. This is somewhere we would definitely return to when visiting the Cotswolds.

The bottle of Prosecco in the fridge when we arrived was a very welcomed treat, Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you for your comprehensive review Anna! We're so pleased you enjoyed Songthrush. You also demonstrated how easy it is to get out and about in the area, with very many interesting places to visit. Good tip to book the tennis courts early - its less than 200m from the house so easy to pop round when you first arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
careypars...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have stayed at this property several times over the last few years and it never fails to offer us everything we need. A well equipped, clean, modern house with all the benefits of the Spa opposite and country walks right on the doorstep. The house offers a great opportunity for groups of family and friends to get together and sample all the great twons, activities and pubs around the Cotswolds Water Parks. Booking and arrival at the property are all very well organised. Definitely be back soon - thank you again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
We love welcoming you back. So pleased that you continue to enjoy the facilities at Songthrush, around the Estate and also in the beautiful Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonJac...
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent property in a perfect location”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We celebrated a family 50th birthday here. The tips given by the owner were excellent and the overall property was clean and comfortable. The on site facilities were perfect for adults and children and the local pubs and towns provided an opportunity for the more adventurous to look around the area whilst some of us were happy to put another log on the fire and pour another glass of wine....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It was dark on arrival so tricky to find once on the complex
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisabT128...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have all had a fantastic stay. Extremely easy to correspond with owner. We had a few technical problems but site manager was able to deal with promptly. It is our second visit to Lower Mill Esate and will definitely return. the estate is under further construction although did not cause any discomfort to us. the house is lovely and very well equipped .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Canoeing , swimming
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitch2220...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Property is fab we loved our stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Location and property is great. Property itself is well appointed, clean, tidy, kitchen well stocked with all the utensils you require. Lots to do - went swimming, played tennis, walked and cycled. Couldn't fault it and will definitely be a place to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall facilities
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
53edwardw
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern and comfortable family house close to all amenities.”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here with three couples and three small children in complete comfort. Three bathrooms and four toilets, a fully equipped modern kitchen and a large lounge-diner with lots of seating and room for the children to play. The house was equipped as someone's modern, comfortable home, and we felt at home in it.
Heated indoor and outdoor pools were 2 minutes walk away, the bar/ restaurant was 4 minutes walk away and the larger childrens' play area and tennis courts just 5 minutes walk.
For the more adventurous there are miles of paths to walk or cycle around dozens of lakes and streams. We even saw some beavers at work in the evenings. Cycles can be hired on-site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated pools and country walks
Liked least: Very crowded on Bank Holiday weekend
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We use the house ourselves and so we want to have nice things around us - as well as all the necessary kitchen utensils! Glad you felt at home. Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing