We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #17 of 123 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located just outside the historic market town of Cirencester and close to The Water Parks, it is a traditional village pub with a cosy atmosphere and lots of character. Our large open fires are a welcoming sight in our charming pub. Our home-cooked food, exciting specials board which include market fish dishes, a wide range of real ales and a pleasurable choice of fine wines makes The Greyhound an excellent venue for warmth and hospitality. There's a large car park and function area which makes the Greyhound an ideal place for meetings and special occasions.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had sausages with dry mashed potato and gloopy gravy and gammon with chips and egg. Latter was better. Plenty of car parking and room to sit. Staff didn't ask if the meal was ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    83
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had supper here a couple of years ago and weren't impressed however we heard through the grapevine that it had changed hands and standards had improved so decided to give it another go last Friday lunchtime as a birthday treat for my Wife. It is without doubt a very charming Cotswold pub and restaurant, both inside and out, and as the sun was out decided to eat in the garden. The menu is what might be described as upmarket pub grub with the usual array of chicken breast, sausages, ham, egg and chips, battered fish etc. but somewhat 'grown up'. My Wife had the haddock & smoked applewood fishcakes served on balsamic dressed leaves with sweet potato fries (do you see what they did there?) and I had the duck breast served on a bed of creamy mash. Both very tasty, well presented and generous portions. The staff were very attentive and friendly without being overbearing so all in all, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We found this pub online, read the reviews and gave it a go. The menu is good and it was busy, which for a Sunday evening is always a good sign.
Our only criticism is that we ordered, and about 20 minutes later we're told they had run out of the pie I'd ordered. This is a pet hate of mine. I hate choosing then being told I can't have it, and the fact it took 20 minutes to tell us made it worse.
What we had was very nice, prices were ok and overall we had a nice evening. We would go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GirlGuideHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Proper, home cooked food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this pub quite by accident one Sunday afternoon.....and what a find!

A lovely pub that serves what I deem to be proper, home cooked food....no processed rubbish here.

We were a party of 2 and arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon, plenty of people sat outside and children playing in the small garden. We found a table inside the bar area (there is seating area in the restaurant area too) and got ourselves a drink and menu from the bar. The choice of food was great, and the prices were very reasonable too. I opted for the fish cakes, and was quite disappointed (but not suprised) that they had run out. So, I opted for the Sunday roast, and I wasn't disappointed. A generous portion of beef, with Yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes and a side serving of vegetables. My companion ordered the beer battered fish and chips and she wasn't disappointed either. Again, a generous portion of both fish and chips.

The staff were polite, friendly and happy to help.

Well worth the visit, and I will be going back to try the fish cakes! :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty fish cakes for lunch”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Often go to the Greyhound. Service is good. Food good too, staff very helpful, could now do with a slight change of lunch menu but that's just me being fussy. Fish cakes are lovely, sweet potato chips and lots of fresh salad. 9/10!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Barnsley, Cirencester
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing