We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Like a Fairy Tale come true!”
other travellers have booked this property
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden Lovely garden seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden
Lovely garden seating
Open country views
Velvet sofas, low lighting and a log stove. Very cosy!
Dining area
A perfect bathroom with luxury toiletries
Lots of interesting designer touches
Luxury bed under the 17th century beams
Hand built kitchen with high quality equipment
Vintage china, crystal glasses, bone handled knives and silver plate cutlery
Red Arrows flying during Kemble airshow
The cottage viewed from the wild garden in the orchard
The thyme & lavender footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
AlvatonLy...
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Like a Fairy Tale come true!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we entered Ashphodel Cottage, we were completely enchanted. There was soft light classical music playing on the radio (BBC Radio 4), the tea service ready on the kitchen table, with biscuits (chocolate chip cookies, maybe especially for Americans?), and a pretty Moroccan lamp glowing in the corner. This place is the perfect combination of old fashioned charm, with all the "mod cons" you could ask for. The kitchen is well equipped for the times you choose to stay in for a meal. The location is perfect for sightseeing in the south part of the Cotswolds. There are great places to walk, and a good local pub not far away. The bedroom and bath are nicely decorated. The bed is comfortable and cozy.
Only words of warning -- tall people beware of low ceilings and doorways, and the spiral stairway is steep and narrow if you have large suitcases or are not too fit.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness and small size
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahkay7...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Anniversary break”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and my husband had the pleasure of staying at this charming picturesque cottage to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage is stunning, but it is not just aesthetically pleasing but comfortable and with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Including a very thoughtful welcome pack of tea, biscuits and a lovely bottle of prosecco. There is also a fantastic information folder with recommended restaurants and places to visit, which we found very useful.
The garden is perfect for breakfast in the sunshine and the hamlet is lovely for walking off a big lunch. It's the perfect location to explore the Cotswolds and there are fantastic pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area if you'd rather eat out.
We will definitely be coming again. Hopefully for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and overall look and feel of cottage and garden
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enchanting cottage, perfect couples retreat”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a perfect birthday celebration at Asphodel Cottage. After a long journey we arrived at what can only be described as a picturesque location. The cottage was welcoming and homely with a bottle of chilled prosecco in the fridge, thank you! There was an unexpected festival in the local pub, The Tunnel House Inn, the next day with some well known bands playing - the weather was beautiful too! An added bonus due to the plentiful sunshine was being able to sit in the garden and appreciate the beautiful views. Will definitely return and would certainly recommend for a couple looking for a romantic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An enchanting historic cottage, very atmospheric.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
405hayley...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a four night stay in the Asphodel Cottage and it definitely lived up to the excellent reviews previously posted. The location is perfect being in a sleepy hamlet, yet within easy reach of Cirencester. It is an excellent base to explore the Cotswolds. The cottage itself is full of character and comfortable. I would imagine that it is lovely in the winter with the wood burner going. The highlight for us was the amazing garden with the beautiful views out into the surrounding countryside, which was perfect for relaxing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection - couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Having arrived on Monday night at midnight due to our wedding the previous day we were just happy to have located the cottage (thanks to Martin's excellent directions)!

In the morning we could not believe how beautiful the cottage was and how thought out everything was. The little extras such as Prosecco and Milk left in the fridge and cookies in the jar on the table just made it even more special

We had a relaxing couple of days on our mini-moon relaxing in the cottage and its beautiful garden and could not have asked for anything better.

The location is excellent and we had great fun visiting Cirencester, Oxford and Bourton-on-the water.

I highly recommend this place and would love to go back at any time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is stunning and so comfortable
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich_Wade...
1 review
“Countryside Perfection”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you're looking for a cute, homely cottage in the middle of the Cotswolds for a countryside getaway - then look no further. This is perfect.

The cottage as a whole is steeped in history and to say it has character would be a huge understatement. The only disappointment was that it wasn't wuite warm enough for us to enjoy the beautiful garden at the back! There was tea and biscuits to greet us on arrival, which was a lovely touch - we took advantage of this almost immediately. When you sat back at night, with the fire on, and a cup of tea - you knew you were living he dream.

The most relaxing holiday I've had - it's a shame we couldn't go for longer! But I can safely say we will be going back!

p.s - a car is necessary unless you're a keen walker!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica_S...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Birthday treat”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a birthday getaway for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time relaxing and escaping the daily grind of London living!

We had everything we needed in the cottage to stay inside for the entire stay, but we visited nearby sites such as Bourton on the Water, and Cheltenham during the festival which were both great days out. But at the end of the day it was always nice to get back to the cottage to enjoy the log fire and the quietness of the area.

We would definitely recommend a stay at Asphodel Cottage to anyone, especially those that live and work in London and just want a good break! Would definitely come back!!

Dan & Jess

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general cosy feeling of the place, lovely bath!!
Liked least: Although in keeping with the cottage, the staircase can be tricky with a cup of tea in both hands!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing