We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden Lovely garden seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden
Lovely garden seating
Open country views
Velvet sofas, low lighting and a log stove. Very cosy!
Dining area
A perfect bathroom with luxury toiletries
Lots of interesting designer touches
Luxury bed under the 17th century beams
Hand built kitchen with high quality equipment
Vintage china, crystal glasses, bone handled knives and silver plate cutlery
Red Arrows flying during Kemble airshow
The cottage viewed from the wild garden in the orchard
The thyme & lavender footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
David G
Freshwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

ASPHODEL COTTAGE
is located in a tiny hamlet 10 minutes drive from Cirencester and within easy reach of many cotswold locations although a car is essential. The cottage is warm and comfortable and the perfect place to relax with the added convenience of wifi to help research the local area before heading out to explore. There is a local pub a short drive away (or walk during warmer drier weather) which served good food with a welcoming atmosphere or stay in and enjoy the warmth of the wood burning stove and appreciate the cottage on a cold winters night.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Great that you loved your stay. We look forward to to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“True Gem”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Asphodel Cottage is exactly as it is described and appears - a true gem of a 17th century cottage in the middle of a tiny picturesque Cotswolds village. It gave us peace, tranquility, the most amazing baths and fires. We were travelling without a car and found it easy to get to, with a great pub within walking distance. Got a fantastic discount for booking late too. Couldn't recommend more and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
So pleased that you has a great stay - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a beautiful cottage very well taken care. It provided us with a magical weekend. A mix of old/traditional setting with a few modern commodities just make it spot on.

We saw the cottage from outside and just got amazed, wanting to take many photos and at the same time looking forward and see the inside. A nice parking space on the side of the house and a nice garden are a couple of very welcomed features. We didn't make use of the garden as it was a bit cold but we still went there to take a few pictures.

As soon as we got into the house we were amazed about its beauty. The very comfortable sofas and the fireplace where some of the favourite features for us to use. The nice dinner table was a great setting for our meals.

We got upstairs via the beautiful (although care must be taken) stairs and loved the room as soon as we saw it. Tall ceiling and more than enough room for us with a beautiful decor.

The bathroom was a nice mix of modern and old making it just perfect.

We are more than happy to recommend this place as it is a great base for all the beautiful places you can see in the Cotswolds.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything. Fireplace was very special.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage as much as we do. We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth P
Markhamville, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like visiting Bilbo”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I felt as a if I were in Bilbo Baggins's cottage, with low ceilings, stone floors, a twisty staircase and a huge fireplace. Out the small paned windows, we glimpsed passing horseback riders and cyclists; a lovely little bird sang to us every evening; Orion hung just over the hedge. Best of all, we could walk over the fields to the Tunnel Inn, a marvellous atmospheric pub with cask ale. Perfect get away for two!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved the walk to the pub (new maps being supplied!). We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairytale Hideaway with Magical Garden”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A perfect little gem of a cottage that could have come from any fairytale or picture postcard. Lovely furnishings.. Great to be met by soothing music and a tea tray with biscuit goodies. We stayed here for a our wedding weekend and it was the perfect bolt hole. The garden is absolutely gorgeous - with the smell of lavender filling the air! Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvatonLy...
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Like a Fairy Tale come true!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we entered Ashphodel Cottage, we were completely enchanted. There was soft light classical music playing on the radio (BBC Radio 4), the tea service ready on the kitchen table, with biscuits (chocolate chip cookies, maybe especially for Americans?), and a pretty Moroccan lamp glowing in the corner. This place is the perfect combination of old fashioned charm, with all the "mod cons" you could ask for. The kitchen is well equipped for the times you choose to stay in for a meal. The location is perfect for sightseeing in the south part of the Cotswolds. There are great places to walk, and a good local pub not far away. The bedroom and bath are nicely decorated. The bed is comfortable and cozy.
Only words of warning -- tall people beware of low ceilings and doorways, and the spiral stairway is steep and narrow if you have large suitcases or are not too fit.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness and small size
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahkay7...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Anniversary break”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and my husband had the pleasure of staying at this charming picturesque cottage to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage is stunning, but it is not just aesthetically pleasing but comfortable and with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Including a very thoughtful welcome pack of tea, biscuits and a lovely bottle of prosecco. There is also a fantastic information folder with recommended restaurants and places to visit, which we found very useful.
The garden is perfect for breakfast in the sunshine and the hamlet is lovely for walking off a big lunch. It's the perfect location to explore the Cotswolds and there are fantastic pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area if you'd rather eat out.
We will definitely be coming again. Hopefully for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and overall look and feel of cottage and garden
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing