We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house and fantastic location!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Suhail A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house and fantastic location!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week with 5 children. This is our third stay in Lower Mill Estate, first time at trout lodge. We really enjoyed our stay here.

The house has 5 bedrooms over 3 floors.
Ground floor: 3 bedrooms, bathroom, and utility room. Main bedroom also has en-suite.
First floor: open plan kitchen diner and a bedroom ( bunk bed)
Second floor: Double bedroom with en-suite ( this room was quite hot, but the weather was about 25-30 degrees)

Bike storage round the corner, ample space for 4 bikes!

The kitchen is well stocked, good wifi and TV. There is a very useful information folder with everything one needs to know about the house, appliances and the area.

We had full access to the Artspa, the kids loved the pools.

The owners were great!

The local area has lots to do great for walking, cycling and water sports.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Glad to hear that everything was to your liking and that you had a great holiday on Lower Mill Estate- there is certainly plenty to see and do both on the estate and out and about locally in the Cotswold water Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeaitke...
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fathers 70th Birthday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We could not recommend this property highly enough, we had three families travelling from all across the UK for a weekend together and the hosts Tim and Suzanne could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. The booking process and the information provided was first class. On arrival we were met with a bottle of wine and some chocolates which was a nice touch and then when we looked around the house we were impressed how clean and tidy it was, this place is spotless!
The kitchen has every possible utensil you could possibly want and again everything was of good quality and spotlessly clean.
The surrounding area was lovely and really well catered around family needs, it was safe, friendly and easy to get around.
We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for a great review and we're delighted that you chose to stay at Trout Lodge for your Father's 70th celebrations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
em1711
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very thorough and professional service from Tim and Suzanne. The house was fantastic(in fact the pictures don't do it justice!).
We loved lower mill estate and would certainly return. All facilities were loved by our family- especially the spa and it's lovely warm pools.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for your compliments- we're glad to hear you enjoyed staying at Trout Lodge and using the lovely facilities on Lower Mill Estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watcress
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge, in a lovely place.”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented Trout Lodge for granddad`s 70th, so there were ten of us in all, four being children. The Lodge was ideal for us, very well equipped and convenient for the on-site shop and the spa pool (where the children spent most of their time). The new café/restaurant on site is very good and reasonably priced. We tried walk one from the Gateway, which was enjoyable if very muddy in one place. The annual duck race took place whilst we were there - so much excitement over plastic ducks! The only down side is the parking arrangements (not the responsibility of the owners) - there really aren`t enough places for the number of cars around. The Lodge owners sent comprehensive and helpful literature, and were easy to deal with. All our party enjoyed the stay and we would very happily recommend the Lodge.

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Very pleased that your celbrations were a success.
Parking on the estate over bank holiday weekends has always been busy. Each house on the estate has one reserved parking space with all other cars using overflow car parks. The estate management are actively looking at other schemes to improve this situation. Parking is not usually a problem at other times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamejane
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect for weekend with family. We celebrated a 65th and 10th birthday. Beautiful house with everything we needed. 5 adults and 4 children (aged between 10 and 3). Spa, restaurant, play areas and walks all super, we didn't leave the complex. We will return. Owners extremely helpful before, during and after stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed celebrating those special birthdays in Trout Lodge. We can understand why you didn't leave the site as there's so much to do on it. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back sometime, when you may want to explore the wider surrounding area of the Cotswold Water Park, which offers even more possibilities for recreational activities for all ages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
805kate21
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our w/e at Trout Lodge, very clean and modern. Great to have adequate kitchen equipment for 10 people.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you- we're pleased that you found Trout Lodge to your liking. We aim to make it as easy as possible for large groups to cook and eat together comfortably.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobbyCade
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect place for a weekend away with friends. Beautiful location, great amenities, really well equipped. I was also very impressed with the detailed information about the propert provided by the owners in advance.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you- we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Trout Lodge recently.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.