We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ajaygajree2015
London, United Kingdom

Weekend visit to Cirencester with Friends

Review of Riverside House
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jan 2017via mobile
Whilst the hotel had clearly been refurbished recently, the service was distinctly lacking. On arrival we were forced to wait 30 minutes for the Receptionist to be called from another building to check in; One of my friends Shower did not work and with no one on site on phoning the hotel phone number this routed to the on site security who were less than helpful; Furthermore none of our rooms were cleaned after the first day; As for the breakfast this was of very poor quality and large parts were cold. I would not recommend this place.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£112
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £112
4.3 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
B&B アイビーで覆われた 外観 綺麗な内装の部屋 すっごく美味しかった朝食
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Riverside House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £160
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    £125
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cirencester
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
11
19
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
19
8
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

As mentioned by other reviewers the Riverside is a Mitsubishi training & conference centre with access for stays by the general public. Don't be put off by this description as it provide a good base for exploring Cirencester.
Sat-Nav. will get you to within 50 yards of the entry to the estate, proceed to the end of Watermoor Road and immediately on passing through the barrier turn hard left and park. You have arrived.
Enter the hotel and you will be meet by Mary or Jacquie in reception providing a friendly welcome.
The rooms were refurbished within the last year and are very modern and well fitted out, comfortable bed & plenty of hot water. Full marks here but be aware that heating is by concealed ceiling electric heating panels which can take upto 3 hours to warm the room from stone cold.
Dining whether for breakfast, ( self service buffet ) lunch, afternoon tea or evening meals provides a good selection all well cooked. again full marks all overseen by a very pleasant Irish lady to whom an apology is owing for forgetting her name. The dining area has only just been refurbished with the downside that its "clinical" in appearance. Like the rooms decoration is all grey in colour, some splashes of vivid colours needed !
From the hotel its a straight walk to the Abbey / town centre which takes some 20 minutes ( have to disagree with other reviewers in stating 10 minutes - not so they must be running !)
In conclusion the Riverside is an excellent place to stay for a couple of nights offering very good value, its immediate surroundings may not be the best but do try to ignore that.

Room tip: Consider taking some ear plugs as other guest have a predominance for letting their room doors slam whist we were there.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on business and I would describe it as a business hotel on the lines of travel lodge & Premier Inn. Staff very friendly, hotel modern & clean & very good value. Secure parking and 15 min walk into town centre

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank geoffg153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Brilliant stay, reception staff professional and helpful, fab full English breakfast, clean comfortable bed, nice spacious rooms. Only 10mins walk into town Center with lots of places to eat and drink, out in the countryside so great for walks. Had a great stay with my family would definatly stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank minxy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

One night stay in double room. I read reviews before so was not expecting a quaint or characterful hotel. This business style hotel is part of Mitsubishi training centre and has a loading bay for lorries at back - BUT is only about a 15 minute walk from the town centre - so great if you don't mind this - lots of free secure parking (a bonus). The staff were all great - helpful, friendly and welcoming and the rooms very clean. Good breakfast. Only minor grumble was the shower in room 107 which was either very hot or temperamental but sure if I had told them they would have fixed it quickly. Good price; excellent staff.

Room tip: Might be noisy if you have windows open as close to road. Rooms 107 and 108 were spotless and faced the road rather than the loading depot.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Great private parking which is free and secured. The hotel is clean and the rooms recently refurbed and well equiped.excellent location only ten minutes walk from cirencesters main street full of resteraunts and bars and great value for the price we paid well worth a visit

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chrishallam195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews