We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Terry T
Oxford, United Kingdom

A convenient location and well priced

Review of Riverside House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2017via mobile
Stayed here with a friend for the weekend and pleased with what we got for the money. We had 2 single rooms and they were spacious and clean. Breakfast was fine and the woman in charge at breakfast was very friendly and helpful - useful when you take into account that the place is unmanned for the rest of the weekend. Security is good and again staff on duty also very pleasant. Think saying it is 10 minutes to town is pushing it a bit. We walk quite quickly and it was still 15 minutes to the centre but it is an easy walk (providing the weather is kind). In summary a good place for a short stay but fon't expect all the frills
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£123
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £123
  • Expedia.com
    £123
  • Tripadvisor
    £123
4.3 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely bedroom, amazing bed and thick fluffy duvet. Amazing value!!
Hotels.com
£109
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Vio.com
    £109
  • Tripadvisor
    £109
13.6 miles from Riverside House
B&B アイビーで覆われた 外観 綺麗な内装の部屋 すっごく美味しかった朝食
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Riverside House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.8 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
3.5 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The sunny garden at The Golden Cross Inn, Cirencester
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Vio.com
0.8 miles from Riverside House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cirencester
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
11
19
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
19
8
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Really pleased with our stay at Riverside House. The rooms were clean, comfortable and functional and it was great for us as a group of friends to use as the base for a reunion weekend. Just 10 minutes walk and we were in the centre of Cirencester. Staff on the security gate were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good quality. Would thoroughly recommend for this type of trip.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GillW693
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Third time here always great very friendly is on the Mitsubishi head office site surrounding area is great on the Cotswolds food is great rooms are comfortable and have all been refurbished always a great stay

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank H7080SDmarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed one Friday night in February. Did not arrive until after 9pm, so was given keys and direction by Security staff at control barrier. Room was good value for the money - recently refurbished and very comfortable. Lots of free parking. As stated previously, no reception on staff on duty at night. bu I had no problems. Went for breakfast (included) when it opened at 8-30am on Saturday. I was first in and chef was just putting out breakfast buffet. I was impressed by the standard, as scrambled eggs were actually soft and mushrooms actually tasted of something! Overall a very good stay, and will certainly use again if in Cirencester.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidC680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Whilst the hotel had clearly been refurbished recently, the service was distinctly lacking. On arrival we were forced to wait 30 minutes for the Receptionist to be called from another building to check in; One of my friends Shower did not work and with no one on site on phoning the hotel phone number this routed to the on site security who were less than helpful; Furthermore none of our rooms were cleaned after the first day; As for the breakfast this was of very poor quality and large parts were cold. I would not recommend this place.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank ajaygajree2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2016

As mentioned by other reviewers the Riverside is a Mitsubishi training & conference centre with access for stays by the general public. Don't be put off by this description as it provide a good base for exploring Cirencester.
Sat-Nav. will get you to within 50 yards of the entry to the estate, proceed to the end of Watermoor Road and immediately on passing through the barrier turn hard left and park. You have arrived.
Enter the hotel and you will be meet by Mary or Jacquie in reception providing a friendly welcome.
The rooms were refurbished within the last year and are very modern and well fitted out, comfortable bed & plenty of hot water. Full marks here but be aware that heating is by concealed ceiling electric heating panels which can take upto 3 hours to warm the room from stone cold.
Dining whether for breakfast, ( self service buffet ) lunch, afternoon tea or evening meals provides a good selection all well cooked. again full marks all overseen by a very pleasant Irish lady to whom an apology is owing for forgetting her name. The dining area has only just been refurbished with the downside that its "clinical" in appearance. Like the rooms decoration is all grey in colour, some splashes of vivid colours needed !
From the hotel its a straight walk to the Abbey / town centre which takes some 20 minutes ( have to disagree with other reviewers in stating 10 minutes - not so they must be running !)
In conclusion the Riverside is an excellent place to stay for a couple of nights offering very good value, its immediate surroundings may not be the best but do try to ignore that.

Room tip: Consider taking some ear plugs as other guest have a predominance for letting their room doors slam whist we were there.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews