We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rickybear
Bristol, United Kingdom

Excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2023
This is our favourite hotel in the Cotswolds, having been a number of times. A short level walk to the market town centre and extensive Abbey grounds.
This is a lovely family owned and run hotel, in a historic merchant’s house, where nothing is too much bother. Service is exceptional as is the food, wether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a sandwich in the bar, or on the terrace.
Well worth staying in or booking a table for dinner.
We will be returning.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £145
  • ZenHotels.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £145
0.3 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£54
  • Skyscanner.com
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £54
  • eDreams
    £54
0.3 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
£140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £140
  • Skyscanner.com
    £130
  • Expedia.com
    £140
0.5 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
£132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £132
  • Priceline
    £132
  • Hotels.com
    £132
0.3 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £86
  • Trip.com
    £96
0.8 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
£200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £200
  • Hotels.com
    £161
  • Vio.com
    £200
0.5 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£50
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.0 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free parking
The sunny garden at The Golden Cross Inn, Cirencester
£110
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £96
  • Vio.com
    £96
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£139
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
    £130
  • Trip.com
    £133
0.5 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
£75
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £75
  • Tripadvisor
    £75
  • Lol.travel
3.4 miles from Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cirencester
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
241
179
53
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
179
53
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building town centre steep stairs character and charm four poster bed beer garden large car park quiet street a ground floor room low beams first floor lovely hotel single room stayed for one night few minutes walk sunday lunch no lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent location, staff, cleanliness, comfort and food. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Cirencester and the beautiful Bathurst estate.
The downside was a dog barking continuously having been left in a room by its caring owners. The caring owners then fed the dog on a table in the breakfast area and it was free to roam and annoy residents further.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rawSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023

This is a beautiful hotel, with staff that are extremely friendly and helpful. The room was perfectly adequate in size and everything spotlessly clean. The dining arrangements are excellent, with flexibility to choose from the menu for bar or restaurant in either venue. The hake meal was delicious - and the breakfast spectacularly good. We cannot recomment this hotel too highly - just perfect.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dr Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

This is in a good, quiet location and walkable about 5 minutes into the centre. It is spotless clean, with a lovely garden and ample parking. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room. I believe there are 15 bedrooms. Our room was lovely, bed comfortable and again very peaceful of a nighttime. The shower was powerful and complimentary soap and shower gel. The room was cleaned each day, with the towels. There is coffee, tea and biscuits with 2 bottles of water each day is replenished.
The breakfast is gorgeous with such a good choice and was served by a lovely lady I think her name was Julie. We ate once in the restaurant and the food is home made and was excellent.
The bar area is small and quirky and a few locals go in there. Honestly, such a beautiful place and thank you to all the staff that make it picture perfect. We loved it so much.

Room tip: If you have problems with stairs ask for a lower floor room.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Misstwinklestoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

Visited this Hotel/Restaurant for lunch which was very pleasant, the staff were very attentive and the food was very nice, I wouldn’t hesitate to return if I was back in Cirencester. The restaurant seems to be the local meeting place for local residents who meet for the odd libation and and social interaction.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

Great garden, nice restaurant, friendly staff, great location and large car park. I’d highly recommend this hotel with one proviso. The bathrooms are rather small, but that’s what you get in a building erected in 1595 when Shakespeare was his most prolific. The upper rooms have steep stairs and if you have a lot of luggage book ahead ask for one of the two ground-floor rooms, 1 or 2, though the staff are willing to carry your cases if necessary. Cirencester is a wonderful town built from Cotswold stone. A special mention to Julie and Alex, the two managers. And Irish Margaret from Galway.

The Roman museum is well worth a visit. The best curated display I’ve ever seen.

Room tip: Book early for rooms 1 or 2 on the ground floor if you’re older or with lots of luggage.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews