We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxed meal”

Restaurant at The Bathurst Arms
Ranked #72 of 126 Restaurants in Cirencester
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving locally-sourced, high-quality meals in both our traditional local pub and the Stables - our cosy restaurant - all days of the week.
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Met with friends here for a 'girlies' evening. Food was really good, wine list extensive and great atmosphere. Was a little busy when we arrived with people standing outside the entrance and refusing to move which meant parking took a while but overall a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glovebox91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    21
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Happened upon this place by Chance”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stopped at this place for lunch when travelling in the Cotswolds purely by chance as we just happened to be passing. It is a very friendly little place and the food was freshly prepared and very good. We both had Gloucestershire Old Spot sausages and mustard mash which was very tasty indeed and served with lovely fresh vegetables. I had a very nice chocolate brownie and ice cream and my husband had a selection of local cheeses which he said were delicious. Two glasses of wine a soda water and lime and a pot of tea and the bill was under £55. Excellent value! An optional 10% service charge was added which we were more than happy to pay for the friendly and efficient service. There was a fixed price menu too, but we did not choose from that and I think possibly we made the right choice judging by some of the reviews I have read

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowAmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great interior, service excellent, food not up to the rest”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

haven't been here for a while and it's the same inside as it always was. lovely wine room (although unusable due to a large bunch of folks sat chatting), wonderful interior and decent service.

however, the food was moderate imo and the steak I had was extremely poorly done. Rib-eye is likely to be a little fattier as a cut and I understand + accept that. what isn't acceptable is the steak not being evenly done.

medium rare I ordered and half was very medium-well done and half was rather rare. while edible it wasn't what it should have been. should really have sent it back but that'd mean having to eat meals separately so didn't bother. partner's pulled pork looked pretty good and she didn't complain.

we had some ok desserts and then a glass of very ordinary port.

the one bright spark through the evening was the service. we were extremely well looked after.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dibble-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - Avoid”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sunday Roast fixed price menu. £16 for 2 Course. Slice of beef ok but tepid. Roast potatoes so long overcooked as to be unedible. Greens washed out. Dessert nice but delivered with server holding plate with thumb in the cream. Service absolutely appalling. Cleared away our own plates and placed on empty adjacent table. Young staff with no idea of service. Incredibly long delays from ordering to delivery. Gave up waiting to place order at the table and went to the bar to do it. had to do the same for the dessert order. Had reserved a table over the phone for 4 but only a table for 2 was set aside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zakzak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a family lunch and arrived early to enjoy a drink sat in the sunshine outside this lovely Cotswold pub. The staff are friendly and welcoming.The lunch menu is excellent value @ £16 for two courses, our party of eight chose the starter and main course, we all enjoyed the excellent service and quality food. I would recommend you try this for food or a drink, great ambience and lovely setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillyPoole_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Bathurst Arms also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Restaurant at The Bathurst Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing